NEW FEATURES MORE

Search

Sophie N.

New York, NY

$50/hour

Experienced and Effective College Graduate

5.0 average from 1 ratings

$50/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Sophie will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Sophie

B.A. Sarah Lawrence College

Education

B.A. Sarah Lawrence College

About Sophie

Hello! My name is Sophie. I'm a recent graduate of Sarah Lawrence College, where I concentrated in developmental psychology, neuroscience, and movement studies. I currently work as a full-time preschool teacher at a Columbia University-affiliated child care center and will be entering graduate school soon to study kinesiology and movement disorders in children.

While enrolled at Sarah Lawrence, I tutored both privately and through the America Reads program at the Yonkers Public Library in Yonkers, NY, where I worked with students of varying ethnic backgrounds and ages, and aided in the completion of their homework and general English-language related studies. The majority of the students I worked with through America Reads were non-native English speakers; it was there that I employed my intermediate level of proficiency in Spanish to reach more effective connection and communication. Beyond working with elementary-aged students, I also have experience tutoring high school students in writing, literature, algebra, biology, and Spanish language.

I pride myself on tutoring in a non-combative, down-to-earth manner, which enables me to connect with students on a more intimate level. I strongly believe that in order for there to be academic progress, the tutor-student hierarchy must be broken down. I work simply, with the high-energy and non-abrasive manner that is my nature, and am committed to allowing students to learn in the way that is best for them. My tutoring style differs between students, as I believe that blanket approaches both in and out of the classroom are usually less effective than personalized teaching. I allow students to take their time and ask questions, and have few qualms about allowing students to ask for visual aid or a different approach, or to request aid on any aspect of their studies, whether it be homework, test preparation, study skills, or general work related to their time in the classroom.

I am a life-long student with a passion for learning, and I value the opportunities to instill that love in the students I work with. I love helping young people see their own power as a student (not just of the classroom, but of the world) and pride myself on helping students arrive at the "lightbulb moment" with their studies. I have excelled in tutoring with my ability to connect with students and my understanding that every student learns differently.

While I do work full-time, I have availability on weekday evenings as well as all day on weekends. I live in Manhattan's Harlem neighborhood but am willing to travel to other NYC locales. Please do not hesitate to ask about my ability to travel to your home or elsewhere. Thank you for stopping by, and I look forward to working with you soon!
Hello! My name is Sophie. I'm a recent graduate of Sarah Lawrence College, where I concentrated in developmental psychology, neuroscience, and movement studies. I currently work as a full-time preschool teacher at a Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of New York, NY 10030
Science:
Biology
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

Current college sophomore (20 years old) with experience with elementary students including: assistant teaching in 4/5s classroom, assistant teaching in 1st and 4th grade classrooms, tutoring one-on-one during school hours with 1st, 2nd, and 4th grade students, private tutoring for elementary school-aged children of all grades. Concentrating in child development and psychology in college, with interests in alternative education models, student-centered approaches to both teaching and learning, and the importance of creative play and visual/tactile learning in a child's development. Tutoring methods vary between students, as I routinely employ my complex understanding of psychology, development, and learning approaches to form the best tutoring model for each individual student. Outside of educational experience, I also have more than 9 years experience as a one-on-one aid for children and adults with a range of mental/physical challenges and volunteer coordinator Pegasus Therapeutic Riding in North Salem, NY.

Elementary Math

I currently tutor elementary math with students in grades K-6 in Yonkers, NY through the America Reads program. I have more than 7 months of experience in helping students excel in ways that best suit their learning style, by using visual aids, conversation to assure complete understanding, and a lot of fun as well!

Writing

SAT Writing Score: 11 (highest possible score: 12) ~~ ACT Combined English/Writing Score: 32 (highest possible score: 36)

B.A. Sarah Lawrence College

Education

B.A. Sarah Lawrence College

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Sophie will travel within 5 miles of New York, NY 10030.