NEW FEATURES MORE

Sharon R.

Buffalo, NY

$45/hour

Science Major with Writing and Grammar Background

In-person lessons

Message Sharon

Send Sharon a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Sharon or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University at Buffalo
Geology

Education

University at Buffalo (Geology)

About Sharon

Hello! My name is Sharon, but you and your child can call me Shae. I am 21 years old and a member of the US Army National Guard. In the military, I am trained as a paralegal. I am currently enrolled at the University at Buffalo as a double major in Geology, and Geographic Information Systems. I am working towards getting my bachelor of science in both. I have experience working with kids in many different aspects. I am the oldest girl on both sides of my family, so I grew up helping my younger cousins with their homework. My best friend is a third grade teachers, and I always visit her school to teach the children about the history of our country, and the military. Lastly, my mother is a bilingual special education teacher, and while I lived in New York City, I interacted with a lot of her students, and gave one to one care, mostly with learning the alphabet, and spelling.

Since I am a science major, I would love to assist your child with any topic of natural or earth science. I saved all of my textbooks, and I can easily review my reading material and explain the science in a way your child will understand. I am hoping through my excitement of the topic, your child will be equally as excited to learn. I am extremely comfortable with writing, grammar, and literature. My grades in those subjects can reflect how comfortable I am with it, and my military service as a paralegal as given me exceptional attention to detail when it comes to writing. If your child needs any help with proper formatting of essays, book reports, or anything in between, I am confident that I can give your child the tools necessary to get outstanding grades in English.

Mathematics helps prove science discoveries. In high school, I was finished with AP Calculus after my sophomore year, making it easy to transition into higher level mathematics courses in college. I have no problem explaining elementary mathematics to your child, and giving them tips and tricks not to get anxiety during math tests, as I had to deal with that myself.

Science is my passion. I am enrolled in 300+ levels of geology and geography, so I understand the basics very well. I am also currently awaiting word from NASA on an internship acceptance.

The military as sharpened my knowledge of proper grammar and formatting which is extremely important in high school, and for writing college essays. I am confident that I can help your child with formatting, test preparation, grammar, and all writing skills.

I am completely free for the summer now that I finished my summer courses for UB. I can continue working with your child through the fall and spring, as my school schedule is very open. I want your child to know me, and trust me so they will feel more encouraged to learn. I want to give them the tough love from an older sibling to push them to strive to do better than they previously thought. I will make learning fun for them, and make sure I teach them in a way that is best for your child as an individual to learn. Please feel free to contact me to meet you and your child, and do not hesitate to ask any questions. I look forward to hearing from you.
Hello! My name is Sharon, but you and your child can call me Shae. I am 21 years old and a member of the US Army National Guard. In the military, I am trained as a paralegal. I am currently enrolled at the University at Buffalo as a double major in Geology, and Geographic Information Read more

Policies
Cancellation
5 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Buffalo, NY 14228
In-person lessons
Science:
Geology,
Physical Science
English:
English,
Grammar, Proofreading,
Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science,
Grammar

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary Math

I have completed AP calculus in high school, and all required math courses for my bachelor of science, all the way up to Calculus II for Engineers. Elementary Math is no problem for me.

Elementary Science

I completed AP Courses of physics and chemistry in high school, as well as all dual introductory classes for geology, physics, and chemistry in college. I am now enrolled in specific geology courses that all require backgrounds basic earth science, physics, and chemistry. I am confident in my ability to each elementary level science.

English

I have a lot of experience in writing, especially because of my job as a paralegal in the army. I reviewed exceptional grades in my required English classes in college as well.

Geology

I am a Geology major, with one year left of geology courses, specializing in volcanology. This field includes studying both the solar system, and the deep-sea. Some of the courses I am taking are specifically geared towards just minerals, or just plate tectonics, so I am more than comfortable with basic earth science and geology, as well as going in depth with any topic your child may have questions about.

Proofreading

Through job, college, and internship applications, as well as my experience in the military, I know tricks for proofreading that have never failed me. I will teach your child about reading out loud, in their heads, and reading backwards to catch any mistakes. I will review with them all proper uses of punctuation, and how to use certain writing techniques to get a certain tone across.

University at Buffalo
Geology

Education

University at Buffalo (Geology)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

Travel policy

Sharon will travel within 15 miles of Buffalo, NY 14228.