Over 100 tutoring hours

Anna G.

Brooklyn, NY


Tutor for Math, English, Spanish, and most school subjects

Background check passed as of 12/13/13
4.5 average from 69 ratings
Great tutor
— Sheina, Ridgewood, NY on 9/24/12

Message Anna

Send Anna a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Anna or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 18 hours
Replies in 18 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Rutgers University
CUNY Brooklyn College


Rutgers University

CUNY Brooklyn College (Enrolled)

About Anna

I have tutored English and Math to K-12 students for three years. I have also taught English to speakers of other languages. Besides English, I speak fluent Spanish and Russian, have advanced knowledge of Hebrew and intermediate knowledge of French. I can teach all of these languages. I adjust my teaching methods to each individual student, first figuring out their way of thinking and of understanding the material. I use a lot of visual methods, such as diagrams and manipulatives (e.g., blocks, cut disks for fractions, place value kit), especially in math. I have tutored English and Math to K-12 students for three years. I have also taught English to speakers of other languages. Besides English, I speak fluent Spanish and Read more

6 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of Brooklyn, NY 11229
Background Check: Passed

"Great tutor"

- Sheina, Ridgewood, NY on 9/24/12

"I found Anna to be calm and patient with my son."

- Jihan, New York, NY on 11/9/15

"Great Tutor"

- Malvina, Brooklyn, NY on 1/7/13

"Nice but not a good fit"

- Ellen, Brooklyn, NY on 10/23/12
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary Math, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, IELTS, Reading,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
General Computer, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer)
ESL/ESOL, Hebrew,
IELTS, Spanish, Speech, TOEFL
Social Studies
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics,
Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Special Needs
GRE, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading,
SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, GED, GRE, IELTS, Praxis, PSAT, Regents,
SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, General Computer, Grammar, Hebrew,
Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer), Spanish, Statistics

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I took 2 courses on Autism Spectrum Disorders as part of my Master's program in Speech-Language Pathology, specifically:

1. Introduction to Autism Spectrum Disorders
2. Speech, Language, and Communication Development of Children on the Autistic Spectrum

In addition, I volunteered at a school for children and adolescents on the Autism spectrum for 6 months.

Elementary (K-6th)

I was a Teacher Assistant in a Kindergarten class in a daycare center for a year, and tutored K-12 students in mathematics and ELA for 2 years.


I have studied Hebrew in school for 2 and a half years, finishing the first semester of Advanced Hebrew. I have continued my study of Hebrew independently, and now I have advanced knowledge of Hebrew in speaking, reading, and writing. I have also been attending Hebrew Meetup events in NYC to enhance my conversational skills in Hebrew.


I've been tutoring reading to beginning readers using phonics (e.g., words that begin with blends) for 4 years. I also worked as a Teacher Assistant in kindergarten for a year, where I also taught phonics. I also studied speech-language pathology, where I learned various methods of teaching literacy; I also learned about the different stages of phonological development and phonological awareness.


I study speevh language pathology, so I have knowledge of and experience with many research-based methods of teaching reading. I have also been tutoring reading using many of the methods for 4+ years.


I am currently a Master's student in Speech-Language Pathology. I attended Stuyvesant High School, and received a 94 or above on all my Regents Exams. I have prepared middle- and high-school students for their Regents exams in Math (various levels) and ELA for about 1.5 years.

Special Needs

I studied speech-language pathology and have worked with children with language disorders. I also completed the coursework for a certificate in applied behavior analysis (ABA). In addition, I worked and volunteered with children with autism and other developmental disabilities for two years. I also have tutored students that had IEPs or were enrolled in special education classes.

Rutgers University
CUNY Brooklyn College


Rutgers University

CUNY Brooklyn College (Enrolled)

Great tutor — Anna works very well with my daughter. She is very patient and has a unique way of drawing and keeping my daughters interest in learning. We are very pleased with her. Anna is very reliable, flexible, punctual and has a great personality. I highly recommend her. ...

— Sheina, Ridgewood, NY on 9/24/12

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Anna will travel within 5 miles of Brooklyn, NY 11229.

Background Check Status for Anna G.

Anna G. passed a background check on 12/13/13. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Anna, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.