NEW FEATURES MORE

Over 20 tutoring hours

Melissa K.

Toms River, NJ

$55/hour

Patient, qualified, passionate English tutor for all ages.

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 9/30/13
4.7 average from 6 ratings
Great tutor!
— Eliza, Cooperstown, NY on 11/23/14

Message Melissa

Send Melissa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Melissa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Georgian Court University
English

Education

Georgian Court University (English)

About Melissa

I am an English teacher, recently resigned from my full time position to be a full-time Mom. As a new mom and still a teacher at heart, I am looking to help all ages with English and Writing. I have extensive experience working with Special Needs students, I worked at a private school for ten years in various positions from Career Education, to Culinary Arts, to Kindergarten teacher. Additionally, I most recently taught Middle School Language Arts for both 6th and 7th grades for the Cranford Public Schools. Currently I am tutoring many high school students in English and History, which I enjoy very much. I am an effective communicator, teacher, and I love to help children learn each and every day. I hope to help you in whatever you may need. Please contact me at your convenience so that we can work towards success. I am an English teacher, recently resigned from my full time position to be a full-time Mom. As a new mom and still a teacher at heart, I am looking to help all ages with English and Writing. I have extensive experience working with Read more

Policies
Cancellation
6 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Toms River, NJ 08753
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Great tutor!"

- Eliza, Cooperstown, NY on 11/23/14
English:
English,
Grammar,
Literature,
Proofreading,
Public Speaking, Reading,
SAT Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
Career Development,
College Counseling,
SAT Reading
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar,
Reading,
Vocabulary
Business:
Career Development,
Public Speaking
Sports/Recreation:
Swimming

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Career Development

As an English teacher and Career Education Coordinator I am familiar with all areas of career development and planning. I have worked one on one with students to develop various skills from embroidery machinery use to restaurant work protocols. I am also very confident in the development of resumes due to my English background.

College Counseling

I am an 0experienced reading and writing teacher and SAT prep tutor and teacher. I am well versed in the practices involved with college applications and have much success helping students identify and improve their essays because of my experience as a Career Education Teacher working with students with special needs. As a Career Education teacher I am familiar with the tutoring, counseling, and process required with college applications.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am a certified English K-12 grade teacher. In addition, I have experience working with children in the special needs setting, having taught as a summer school kindergarten through fifth grade teacher and spent 7 years in the private school sector teaching a realm of areas including but not limited to culinary arts, vocational studies, and career education.

English

As an English teacher, I have experience with children ages 5-21, in all settings. Additionally, I am well versed in all genres of literature and enjoy all elements of writing. I am committed to the learning and love of English no matter the age or level.

Grammar

As a Language Arts teacher, with a focus on grades 6-8, I have experience teaching Grammar, daily. I understand that students need time and practice to grasp the rules that normally confuse students. I also work to teach Grammar with Writing, I find that students respond and understand more once they use and apply the rules in a practical sense.

Literature

As an English teacher, Literature is the backbone of my passion. In college I spent extensive time studying Classic Literature, and have a grasp on the best ways to teach it to students. I use various methods of note-taking to and comprehend and apply the readings. Additionally, I incorporate activities so that the knowledge is applied, to reinforce the material.

Proofreading

As an English teacher I understand that proofreading skills are paramount when completing a piece of work. I find that proofreading is not a singular step, but a process that often works best when sharing and working together on the piece. Proofreading skills are built over time, but they flourish when there is a level of trust with peers and the teacher, understanding that it is okay to continually work to improve writing.

Reading

As an English teacher I have experience utilizing various methods to help with comprehension and track understanding. Students normally enjoy the methods that include summarizing skills, and quick and easy note-taking during the reading process. Additionally, I believe that reading should take place in various forms, independently, as a small group, one-on-one, and in book talks so that children develop a passion for reading and continue once they are home, for pleasure purposes.

Swimming

I am a certified Open Water Life Guard, with certifications in CPR/AED and First Aid. I have worked on the beach as the Captain of Seacrest Beach Club for 7 years, and worked on the beach as a head life guard prior to that. I have a total of 15 years ocean front experience. Additionally, I have 15 years of experience teaching swim lessons and a junior lifeguard program, both in a pool and in the open water setting.

Writing

As a Language Arts teacher, I have experience providing students with exposure to all genres of writing. I expose my students to all types of writing, including various writing methods for composing their own piece. As a Language Arts teacher I promote the necessity of proper writing, grammar and vocabulary, and instill the understanding that writing is a process along with expressing my love for writing.

Georgian Court University
English

Education

Georgian Court University (English)

Great tutor! — Melissa K. met with my daughter promptly and helped her work through a long English paper. My daughter read it to me and it was clear she had fine instruction. Plus my daughter enjoyed working with her. My daughter stopped talking about dropping out of college and started making academic plans! Very good results! ...

— Eliza, Cooperstown, NY on 11/23/14

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $55.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Melissa will travel within 10 miles of Toms River, NJ 08753.