Search

Mamie S.

Sussex, NJ

$60/hour

English literacy, grammar, TESOL, TOEC, TOEFL, reading, Spanish

50+ Hours
5.0 average from 43 ratings
Insightful and engaging.
— Kathy, Boonton, NJ on 2/8/16

$60/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Mamie will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Mamie

Bennington College
Spanish
The New School
Master's

Education

Bennington College (Spanish)

The New School (Master's)

About Mamie

I feel very lucky to get to say that teaching has given me many memorable and inspiring moments. From volunteering with young people while I was studying in college to teaching as a language instructor abroad, I have gotten to know students of all ages and learning styles. My Master's in TESOL and practicum work has familiarized me with many learner modalities and curriculum styles. This has helped me understand various ways of working with individuals so that they feel knowledgable and confident in their chosen subject.

I specialize in language-related instruction, from speech therapy or academic writing skills, to helping non-native speakers improve their English across the skills of listening, speaking, writing and reading. I also majored in Spanish so I am available to tutor Spanish. From my experience, mastering Spanish was a difficult process, so I understand the struggles most language learners face. As a strong advocate for computer literacy skills, I like to use the internet as a teaching resource, so I may assign on-line homework or pre-session prep and also make myself available for Skype check-ins or emergency sessions, if it is convenient or necessary for my students.

One of my core beliefs is in setting clear and achievable goals for each session. If session objectives are not met, I will not close a session until my student feels satisfied with their work and knows what they must do next for their personal growth. If I feel that a student is not being challenged during a session, I will work with them to set higher goals. Depending on student preference, I will also provide feedback and notes via email so that the student may continue to look back on important parts of the lesson and learning areas that could use more practice before the next session. I also hope to get feedback about our classes together so that I can stay at the top of my teaching performance.

It will be my pleasure to help you in the development of your current language skills for whatever dream you may have!
I feel very lucky to get to say that teaching has given me many memorable and inspiring moments. From volunteering with young people while I was studying in college to teaching as a language instructor abroad, I have gotten to know students of all ages and learning styles. My Master's in TESOL and practicum work has familiarized me with many Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Sussex, NJ 07461

"Insightful and engaging."

- Kathy, Boonton, NJ on 2/8/16

"Mamie is very knowledgable"

- Daniel, Ellenville, NY on 2/17/16

"Knowledgeable and patient tutor"

- Lissette, Ringwood, NJ on 5/29/15
Math:
GED
Science:
Anthropology, PSAT
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, IELTS,
Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GED, IELTS,
PSAT, Regents, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
IELTS,
Reading,
Spanish,
Speech, TOEFL, Writing
History:
Anthropology, Social Studies, Writing
Special Needs:
ADHD, Phonics,
Reading,
Study Skills
Elementary Education:
ADHD, Grammar, Handwriting,
Phonics,
Reading,
Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary, Writing
Business:
ESL/ESOL,
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking, Writing

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ESL/ESOL

I have my Master's degree in TESOL as well as undergraduate studies in second language acquisition. I myself have acquired Spanish as my second language so I can relate to the experiences of many students. I have instructed as a language teacher in 2 different early childhood positions as well as language institutions for all ages. I currently teach ESOL from my home online. Teaching English is an activity that I have grown to be very passionate about. I seek to find challenging and new situations so that I can continue to improve and make discoveries in the English teaching field.

Handwriting

When I lived in NYC getting my Master's, I mentored several middle-school students over a 1-year period mainly in study skills and executive functions. In addition to supporting students at their homes after school with homework, I worked with them to improve their handwriting and personal organization. I have also instructed adults to write and read English for the first time, coming from cultures with different scripts and alphabets. In China, I instructed a handwriting-reading class in which students learned to recognize English letters in a variety of typographical formats. I have explicitly taught handwriting to kindergarten students in both USA and China.

IELTS

I am qualified to tutor IELTS because I have my MA degree in TESOL which covers all of the subject matter assessed by IELTS. While teaching in China, I instructed various courses geared to help individuals pass IELTS and in order to instruct these classes I underwent training by the educational institution WEB International English to become familiarized with the test material.

Phonics

I have taken MA level courses in children's literacy, and language analysis, both of which cover the topic of phonics and the English sound system extensively. In addition, I have recorded pronunciation books used in university courses for English learners as well as instructed English to non-literate adults. In my experience as a kindergarten teacher I have used various phonics- supported methods to instruct reading to children as young as 3 years old.

Reading

Reading and literacy acquisition have to be my most exciting subjects to teach. In my English teaching experience, I have instructed children from age 2.5 - 14 of various learning modalities as well as adults coming from different language and cultural backgrounds. In addition, I have instructed reading in conjunction with other skills such as acting, singing, story development, and computer literacy courses involving social networking and online etiquette.

Spanish

My undergraduate degree was a double Major in Spanish and Comparative Literatures from Bennington College. I am a researcher in the second language acquisition field of applied linguistics. Every student I work with in any language of instruction will be considered as an individual with their own learning preferences, strengths and challenges.

Study Skills

I have instructed study skills using a self-made diagnostic to determine the most suitable study zone and time for the particular student, identifying any distractors and teaching coping methods. In working on study skills, distractors are not necessarily eliminated, rather, compensation strategies are practiced instead. I make sure students can successfully work in spite of distractors in the future. Depending on the learning context or student needs, I know a variety of methods that can be put to use for best studying practices. Whether we use the pomodoro method or an app or computer program to game-ify studying, the right study method for students can and will be found and put to use. My philosophy, when working with students needing organizational help, is to create routines that help to build their confidence so that they can become fully autonomous learners.

Bennington College
Spanish
The New School
Master's

Education

Bennington College (Spanish)

The New School (Master's)

Insightful and engaging.

Mamie has been an excellent tutor for my son. She has the ability to be insightful as to what approach to use and very knowledgeable in the content for school requirements. She is punctual, nice and engaging and best of all my son feels she is helping him organize his thoughts better and therefore providing him the tools to improve the way he represents himself through school work.

— Kathy, Boonton, NJ on 2/8/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $60.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Mamie will travel within 15 miles of Sussex, NJ 07461.