Over 50 tutoring hours

Danielle P.

Piscataway, NJ


Columbia Grad Student and Princeton Alum for Latin Tutoring

In-person lessons
Replies in 10 hours
Background check passed as of 5/24/14
4.9 Avg. Rating
27 Ratings
10hrs Response Time
Know her stuff
— Stephanie, Philadelphia, PA on 4/1/14

Message Danielle

Send Danielle a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Danielle or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.



Princeton (Classics)

About Danielle

I love to teach Latin!

When I first arrived at Princeton, I decided to take Latin on a whim and I never looked back! Now, I am a graduating senior in the Classics department looking into pursuing Latin as a career through graduate school or teaching. I recognize that for most students, Latin is a hassle to study and not as exciting as some other subjects but I think if taught properly, Latin can be a fascinating exercise of the mind and a great look back into Western history. It's also a fun chance to learn about mythology and epic, history and politics, and philosophy.

If you only want to study Latin to get a perfect score on the verbal section of the SAT, I can help you do that, but I can't promise I won't make you fall in love with the language in the process. If you want to study Latin for fun, I can certainly help with that and I can promise we'll have a great time!

My hourly rate is negotiable in certain circumstances so don't let money deter you from beginning the exciting journey of studying Latin! (I promise, I'm not one of those nerdy Latin teachers :))

I'm currently a student in the Columbia Classical Studies Masters Program. If you're interested in working with me, here's my availability for the semester (Fall 2014):

M: after 6:30
T: after 4:30
W: after 4:30
Th: after 2:30
F: all day

*Weekends are negotiable
I love to teach Latin!

When I first arrived at Princeton, I decided to take Latin on a whim and I never looked back! Now, I am a graduating senior in the Classics department looking into pursuing Latin as a career through
Read more

Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Piscataway, NJ 08854
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Know her stuff"

- Stephanie, Philadelphia, PA on 4/1/14
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Prealgebra, SAT Math
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary (K-6th),
Prealgebra, SAT Math
Test Preparation:
College Counseling,
SAT Math
Corporate Training:
College Counseling,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I graduated from Princeton with a degree in Classics. I'm currently finishing up a Classical Studies Post Baccalaureate at the University of Pennsylvania. Next fall, I'll be working towards an M.A. in Classics with a focus on Ancient History.

College Counseling

As an experienced SAT tutor, I spend much of my time advising students about college decisions. I have helped students work on college applications and prepare for college work. I have also advised students on college majors and career goals. My time as an SAT tutor has proven a useful tool for college counseling.

Elementary (K-6th)

I served as an elementary school tutor during my first two years of college. Before that, I tutored students in elementary math and science. I also participated in a program where older teens help elementary-aged students with reading and writing.

Elementary Math

I served as a math tutor during my first two years of college. Before that, I tutored students in high school math as well as elementary math. I especially like to make students realize that math is not the enemy and that it is very useful for daily life.


While studying Latin, I've developed a greater understanding of English grammar. I like reading grammar books and I'm a fairly strong writer. I've also tutored students in grammar and language.


I'm a Princeton alum who majored in Classics with 4 years of experience in college level Latin. I've tutored students in Latin for a year and a half. In the beginner/intermediate level of study, I like to get students thinking analytically about the language by having them recognize words that are derived from Latin. At the advanced level, I like pointing out grammatical constructions to students and asking them questions of syntax so that they can begin to understand how the language works.


Study foreign languages has been a great help for increasing my vocabulary. I studied French in high school and I am now studying both Greek and Latin. In addition, I've spent time as an SAT tutor where I taught students vocabulary and tips for memorizing vocabulary.



Princeton (Classics)

Know her stuff — Danielle is very patient with my son. And because she is patient and knows her stuff, my son's average went from a 53% (F) to a 84% (B). Thank God and thank you, Danielle. ...

— Stephanie, Philadelphia, PA on 4/1/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Travel policy

Danielle will travel within 20 miles of Piscataway, NJ 08854.

Background Check Status for Danielle P.

Danielle P. passed a background check on 5/24/14. The check was ordered by Danielle through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Danielle, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.