NEW FEATURES MORE

Search
Over 20 tutoring hours

Victoria P.

Glen Rock, NJ

$50/hour

Patient and Upbeat Well-Rounded Tutor

In-person lessons
5.0 average from 6 ratings
Knowledgable and helpful
— Alex, Suffern, NY on 10/25/16

$50/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Victoria will reply soon.

Response time: 3 hours

Contact Victoria

About Victoria

Hello, my name is Tori. I recently graduated from Lafayette College with a bachelors degree in Spanish. I plan on going to medical school, so I am also knowledgeable in the sciences and math. Having graduated from a liberal arts university, I am also capable of helping with writing and English courses. I have experience tutoring at the middle school and high school level, specifically in the subjects of algebra, English, and social studies. I am also a preschool Spanish teacher, so I am used to adapting to the learning styles of various age groups.

At Lafayette College, I received the Frank Kline Baker Spanish and Latin American Civilization award, which is awarded to students who attain the greatest proficiency in the study of Spanish and Latin American Civilization. I graduated from the College with a 3.50 GPA, educated by a liberal arts education. I have also recently taken the MCAT, which requires the understanding of chemistry, physics, math, critical reading, biology, organic chemistry, biochemistry, psychology, and sociology. I have received a competitive score on the exam, and would be willing to share it if necessary.

My teaching methods are based off of a step-by-step approach. I am a believer in breaking down concepts or questions into smaller pieces to make them more manageable. I then use this same step-by-step approach to confirm that my students have learned the material that was taught. While teaching a student, I make the student walk me through each step of a problem to ensure that he or she has learned the information that was taught. I personally like this style of teaching because it adequately confirms whether or not a student has obtained the knowledge that was taught, and it lets me know exactly what part a problem or concept a student is struggling with.

I love tutoring because I enjoy meeting new people. I also enjoy helping students find learning strategies that work for them because I know the value of that first-hand. Throughout my experience as a student, I learned that I did not always learn concepts the same way that my peers did. I was often frustrated by this reality, but I soon learned how to develop study methods that work for me. I understand that it can be frustrating when you do not understand concepts as quickly as your peers do, but I know that I can help students find the studying habits that work for them.
I am typically available Tuesday-Friday from 8am-9pm, Monday from 1:00pm-3:00pm. I am also available on Sundays. I charge $50 a hour for in-person tutoring.

Throughout middle school and high school, I was always in the higher level math class. The highest level of math that I have taken is Calculus II, so I believe that I have a solid background in the math field. I have a brother in high school and I am constantly helping him with his math homework, whether it be geometry, algebra or precalculus, so I am used to tutoring in that subject area. I also have experience tutoring algebra to a high school class.

I look forward to meeting with you. I am excited to help you find the learning style that works best for you. Please do not hesitate to message me. I look forward to hearing from you.
Hello, my name is Tori. I recently graduated from Lafayette College with a bachelors degree in Spanish. I plan on going to medical school, so I am also knowledgeable in the sciences and math. Having graduated from a liberal arts Read more

Policies
Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Glen Rock, NJ 07452
In-person lessons

"Knowledgable and helpful"

- Alex, Suffern, NY on 10/25/16
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary Math, Geometry, Prealgebra
Science:
Biology, Chemistry, Organic Chemistry,
Psychology
English:
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
Spanish
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Organic Chemistry

I have taken both organic chemistry I and II. I have received an A- in organic chemistry I from Lafayette College. I have also received an A in organic chemistry II from Farleigh Dickinson University. I am able to provide proof of these grades if necessary.

Although I have not formally tutored in this subject before, I still feel that I would be able to tutor the subject well because I have experience teaching my fellow classmates organic chemistry material. In my classes, I often learned the material faster than my classmates, so I typically helped others learn the material.

Knowledgable and helpful — She helped understand some important concepts in organic chemistry and recommended a book that helped her when she took this course ...

— Alex, Suffern, NY on 10/25/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $50.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Victoria will travel within 15 miles of Glen Rock, NJ 07452.