Elijah G.

Wilmington, NC


Friendly and Effective Spanish, English, ESL or Math Tutor

In-person lessons

Message Elijah

Send Elijah a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Elijah or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Virginia Tech
Cape Fear Community College


Virginia Tech

Cape Fear Community College

About Elijah

Hello there, and thank you for looking at my profile. My name is Eli G., and I am available for Spanish (all high school levels and some college), English and basic Math through Algebra tutoring. I am fluent in Spanish, and have been using it almost daily for the last 8 years since moving to Wilmington. I have impressed many of my native Spanish speaking employees with my abilities, and would like to use this skill I have learned in an educational setting. I graduated high school in 1999 and went to Virginia Tech to become a high school Spanish teacher. I left school early to pursue other interests, but continued to use my Spanish in work environments almost daily since then. I have begun to re-explore my interest in teaching, and decided that tutoring would be a good opportunity for me to use my understanding of the language to help students who may be struggling to grasp concepts or just need some extra practice outside of the school setting. I am a very energetic person with an outgoing personality, very friendly and easy to get along with. I have experience working with high school aged students having supervised and trained culinary students in an internship program from a local high school here in Wilmington and received positive feedback from their in-school instructor regarding my instruction and rapport with the students. I am very patient and can adjust my strategy for relating information if I feel that the student isn't quite catching on, as everyone learns differently. While Spanish is my strongest subject, I am also suited for tutoring in English, and math subjects through algebra II level or so. I myself took math up through calculus in high school, so I would be willing to help with math above algebra II if needed.
As far as my teaching method is concerned, I like to get to know the student and relate the information in a way that I feel meets their personality and learning style. Some students are more hands on, some just need the confidence boost to get over certain hurdles. Everybody learns differently, and I don't just want to parrot what their teachers are saying to them in class, but give them a different point of view, a different angle at which to view the information. Of course I would not deviate from their classroom obligations, just offer a different perspective. I am not one to give out answers or do the student's homework for them, so please don't think that I just want to help them get their homework done without them learning how it was they did it. Anyone can rattle off answers, I want them to truly comprehend the "how" and the "why". You can't continue with new material until the previous concepts have been mastered.
My goals for the student are as follows:
-Understanding of the material outside of just filling in the blanks-concept mastery.
-Improved homework grades, test scores and self confidence in the classroom.
-Critical thinking and the ability to "think outside the box"- recalling learned concepts and applying them.

Thank you for taking the time to read my profile! If you feel that I may be able to help with any of the subjects listed, please don't hesitate to contact me to set up a meeting! Good luck, and I look forward to hearing from you!
Hello there, and thank you for looking at my profile. My name is Eli G., and I am available for Spanish (all high school levels and some college), English and basic Math Read more

3 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 25 miles of Wilmington, NC 28412
In-person lessons
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary Math,
Test Preparation:
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary Math

I am very proficient in elementary math, having used it almost every day in my professional career to figure payroll, food costs, labor percentages, and many other applications related to the food service industry. I am familiar with the terms used as well as fractions, variables, etc. Basic math is a skill that never leaves you, and is essential for navigating everyday life.


My focus when tutoring English is mainly concentrated on spelling, grammar, correct word usage and coherent writing skills. I feel that not enough focus is put on correct spelling or good grammar anymore, and it is something to take pride in. I want the student to be comfortable with their writing or speaking endeavors, and knowing the basics is the only way to start. Developing these skills is essential for life after school based education, and I want them to stand out and be prepared when entering the job market. Too often people let these skills slip, and it can lead to them not being taken seriously because they lack the ability to use correct grammar, spelling or syntax.


I am proficient in both English and Spanish, and love to see the look on the faces of students when they begin to grasp a concept, especially when it is not in their first language. I had great teachers when I was learning Spanish who adequately prepared me for using the language on my own, and I want to use my abilities to help someone learn that second language the way they helped me. Building their confidence is of utmost importance when learning a new language, and I strive to make them comfortable speaking to native English speakers, as that can be the most intimidating part of learning and using that new language skill.


I am very knowledgeable in various subjects, and am well equipped to help you realize your goal of receiving your GED. Working together, I believe I can help you to not only learn the information, but to retain it. A high school education is incredibly important, as not having a diploma or GED can prohibit you from getting good jobs, taking higher education classes or qualifying for programs you may be interested in. I can help you get over this hurdle with teamwork. While I may not know the answer to any particular subject immediately, I can certainly help you find the answers, and make sense of them. Learning is an ongoing process, and I can assist you on your journey!


While math was admittedly never my strongest subject in school, I was able to advance though Calculus while in high school due to the help I received from my teachers and peers. My strongest areas pertaining to math are in algebra and trigonometry, with most of those concepts having been retained. My skills in algebra are still strong and can offer a different way of looking at the procedures that may suit the student that isn't quite getting it using their teachers methods. The biggest hurdle some students face while learning math is being able to relate to the material in a way that is meaningful to them. No two people learn the same way, and sometimes it just takes a different perspective for it all to click.


I have always been a strong reader and I have a high level of comprehension. I can take what's written and make it more understandable or relateable to the student. Sometimes it's looking for clues in what your reading, or rewording the statement to provide a different explanation without changing the meaning of what's being said. My focus is on comprehension, and my goal is for the student to be able to read something, whether or not they've read it before, and be able to clearly and accurately relate the information back.


I have extensive experience using Spanish in my day to day life. I learned most of the Spanish I know today while in high school, and was able to retain it because I had such wonderful teachers who set me up for success. Professionally, I have used Spanish every single day for the last eight years. It is a skill I cherish, and one that I take very seriously. It has led to job opportunities, friendships and travel experiences that may not have been available to me had I not learned to speak Spanish. The need for Spanish speakers is increasing every day in this country, and being bilingual will never hold you back. I am passionate about this subject and really enjoy helping students learn this beautiful language.

Virginia Tech
Cape Fear Community College


Virginia Tech

Cape Fear Community College

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Elijah will travel within 25 miles of Wilmington, NC 28412.