Search

Jarrett M.

Rocky Mount, NC

$40/hour

Tutoring in Spanish, Ecology, Catalan, basic biology

In-person lessons

$40/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Jarrett will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Jarrett

UNC Chapel Hill
Biology and Linguist

Education

UNC Chapel Hill (Biology and Linguist)

About Jarrett

Hey everyone!

I studied Hispanic Linguistics and Biology (with a focus on ecology, botany, and paleobotany). I studied the Spanish language intensely and have learned the phonetics and parts of the history of the language. I am fluent in Spanish and have studied abroad in Argentina helping out in a paleontology museum. I can help tutor Spanish word pronunciations, conversation, grammar, and help one increase their Spanish vocabulary. I can also do the reverse and help tutor Spanish speakers in learning English. I also speak Catalan and can help tutor in that as well. Overall, I love the Spanish language. It offers a wonderful amount of flexibility that is hard to mirror in English.

My biology background is predominantly in ecology, botany, and paleobotany. I researched a fossil plant for a year and a half in a laboratory at UNC doing extensive chemical work. I can help with the fundamentals of ecology and helping one to understand the more complex concepts of ecology. I love ecology; it is like the perfect intersection of economics and biology. In botany, I can help describe some processes, identify some species, and discuss in general how plants grow, defend, move, and their evolution throughout history. I can also help with introductory genetics and organism development (ex: describing the signaling pathways that help to establish the body plans for the organism).

Overall I love to help people understand biology and Spanish. Both fields are two of my favorite things to talk about. I have experience as a tutor and I am good with it because I love to tailor lessons to the needs of my students.
Hey everyone!

I studied Hispanic Linguistics and Biology (with a focus on ecology, botany, and paleobotany). I studied the Spanish language intensely and have learned the phonetics and parts of the history of the language. I am fluent in Spanish and have studied abroad in Argentina helping out in a paleontology museum. I can help tutor
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Rocky Mount, NC 27804
In-person lessons
Math:
Elementary Math
Science:
Botany, Chemistry,
Ecology,
Genetics
English:
ESL/ESOL, Reading
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish
Special Needs:
Phonics
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Phonics,
Reading
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Chemistry

Introductory chemistry concepts: acids and bases, titrations, thermochemistry, kinetics, and combustion analyses

Ecology

I studied population demographics and how they fluctuate depending on environment. I studied conservation, its history in the United States, and the important factors to consider with conservation: biodiversity, size of conservation, population dynamics, financial restrictions, and how this influences the human population. I studied plant biogeography to describe the movement of plants and ecosystems throughout time and how certain species arrived at their current habitat. I studied birds and their respective biology. I learned the multiple ways in which one can measure a population and assess its biodiversity.

Phonics

I received a BA from UNC-Chapel Hill in Hispanic Linguistics with a GPA of 3.39. I studied the phonetics and phonology of Spanish and English. I studied the articulation pathways of sounds in both languages. I learned about secondary language acquisition and the peculiarity of what it means to be bilingual in any two languages. I learned the main school of thoughts on a bilingual, monolingual, and trilingual person. I learned about the history of the Spanish language and its influences on English and on African languages and their influences upon Spanish. In addition, I learned the phonemes that correspond to the graphemes of English. In addition, I have helped many foreigners learn to better their pronunciation of English words.

UNC Chapel Hill
Biology and Linguist

Education

UNC Chapel Hill (Biology and Linguist)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jarrett will travel within 20 miles of Rocky Mount, NC 27804.