NEW FEATURES MORE

Search
Over 200 tutoring hours

Shawn B.

Monroe, NC

$30/hour

Experienced Mentor and Tutor for over 25 years

In-person lessons
4.8 average from 112 ratings
Help With Algebra 2
— Karen, Matthews, NC on 11/15/16

$30/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Shawn will reply soon.

Response time: 4 hours

Contact Shawn

UNC Charlotte

Education

UNC Charlotte

About Shawn

Shawn has worked with, mentored and tutored students for over 25 years in many areas. His specialties includes the arts, math, geography, science, history and English. My background has been threefold where I work with competitive high school marching bands in designing shows, working with colorguards and winterguards, percussion sections, marching and music rehearsals. Second, within my church, I work in a youth services coordinator role where I help locally and throughout the state with children ages 5 to 17. Sometimes this is tutoring, other times it is bringing out there best while facilitating the spiritual message of the day. Thirdly, I have tutored many students in the past of the hundreds of parents I have known over the years and they were all thankful for the style, love, patience and care I displayed in assisting their child. I look forward to continuing those same skills with many more students and parents. I sometimes offer unique approaches since learning should be fun. I volunteer a lot at local high schools where I have tutored, sit on senior exit panels, give students guidance on their senior exit assignments and assisting my wife with her students' short essays. Shawn has worked with, mentored and tutored students for over 25 years in many areas. His specialties includes the arts, math, geography, science, history and English. My background has been threefold where I work with competitive high school marching bands in designing shows, working with colorguards and winterguards, percussion sections, Read more

Policies
Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Monroe, NC 28110
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Help With Algebra 2"

- Karen, Matthews, NC on 11/15/16

"Great Tutor in several subjects."

- Rhonda, Charlotte, NC on 7/6/16

"Very knowledgeable and well rounded tutor!"

- Chardra, Charlotte, NC on 4/5/16

"Great Tutor"

- Ruben, Matthews, NC on 3/30/16

"Great tutor"

- Shante', Charlotte, NC on 12/15/15

"Dedicated and Dependable"

- Carol, Charlotte, NC on 3/20/15

"Great tutor!"

- Lisa, Charlotte, NC on 10/2/14
Science:
Anatomy,
Nursing,
Physiology,
Sociology
Music:
General Music
English:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading,
Public Speaking, Reading,
Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
GED
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
Speech
History:
American History, Geography, Religion,
Social Studies
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Grammar, Reading,
Spelling,
Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Business:
Business, Public Speaking
Sports/Recreation:
Chess

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

Algebra 1 and pre-algebra are the building blocks for all higher math, the sciences and computers. This is my favorite subject and wish to impart my fun for math to students that want to learn.

Anatomy

I just finished an associate's degree in medical coding and billing and had an A average, especially in Anatomy and the billing courses and computer programs. I am more than qualified to assist anyone with Anatomy.

Chess

I have been playing chess since I was a teenager and now in my early 50's. I am more than qualified to teach this and especially to young children. I have played for a long time and played in two school related tournaments and made it to the final 2 both times. Chess is a game of strategy and focus and one of my parents has said they want their child to learn chess to assist with focus instead of being all over the place.

Elementary (K-6th)

The elementary topics I am most comfortable with are reading comprehension, grammar/English, math, history and geography, spelling, music, phonics, vocabulary and writing. My learning style is fun while also getting across the required area of learning.

Elementary Math

Elementary math is all about taking the building blocks of numbers, putting them in a fun and exciting way for students to work with, and letting them get the confidence to see their own growth. I love math and it has always been fun for me. I also loved teaching it to my children and letting them learn beyond what their teacher had asked of them.

ESL/ESOL

English as a second language tutoring would be very wonderful to assist anyone wanting to improve their English, conversational English or understanding of our language. I take pride in having worked with a diverse group of people throughout my life. I was also blessed to work with a former friend at the International House to assist with ESL. I am comfortable with speaking in large or small groups and can assist with other public speaking skills that could be utilized for ESL/ESOL.

GED

All core subjects are my specialty in passing the GED. My learning strategies have helped others in the past prepare and pass the exam. For many, this milestone allows them to live a more productive life and that is why I choose to help them complete and pass the test.

Nursing

I am not a nursing student but got straight A's in anatomy and the majority of the medical coding and billing core classes. I love this field and have taken the ICD-10 transition training. I have been interning (and soon to be working) at a private ownership medical coding and billing practice in Charlotte since February 2012.

Physiology

Physiology/Medical Anatomy was a favorite class of mine when I completed my associate's degree in medical coding and billing. I received an A average throughout my classes. This is a topic I'm very strong in and would like to tutor anyone that needs assistance.

Prealgebra

Pre-algebra, and math in general, is my favorite subject and I look forward to assisting any students in making it fun. These courses are the foundation for the sciences, computers and higher mathematics. Let me assist you in whatever goals you want to achieve.

Proofreading

Writing and proofreading reports, papers, essays and technical documents are currently and have been my background. I know how to take a paper writing assignment and turn it into an 'A' product for professors and teachers. I had an 'A' average in my writing classes recently, while attaining my medical coding and billing associate's degree. This was also what I did in my career as an environmental engineer when I had to write reports. I look forward to reviewing, proofreading and turning mediocre assignments of our college aged children into papers that allow them to pass with a 'B' or higher. This is one of my many specialty areas along with math related subjects.

Reading

I am a very avid reader primarily in the areas of personal development, spiritual matters and career/business. I have read over 200 books the past 14 years. I learned a long time ago that leaders are readers. The reading has helped me to connect and work with people of all ages.

Religion

I have studied the majority of the religions and spiritual teachings of the world for the past 30 years. I am very knowledgeable in Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, Sufism, Judaism, Wiccan, Eckankar, Catholicism, Taoism, and all manner of spiritual discussions. I believe in critical thinking while respecting the beliefs of all teachings.

Spelling

Spelling is definitely my strong suit, as I am a wordsmith and have done office spelling bees in the past. I was very good in spelling throughout my years of school. I look forward to hopefully providing the same love of words to the students I tutor. Words and their meanings are the doorway to being a success in society.

Study Skills

I am all about time management and effective study skills since I had to do this while in college in the 1980's as well as recently when I received an 'A' average completing my medical coding and billing associate's degree from July 2010 to October 2011. In my professional life, I do everything with respect to personal development, time management and effective goal setting. I look forward to passing on my information to all ages of people. I also do this daily with my students in the high school fine arts curriculum.

Writing

My style of writing is conversational while also using the appropriate grammatical syntax. Writing has been one of the reasons for my success in the business and engineerng world, providing my high school students recommendations for college or trade schools, and most importantly, throughout my college career.

UNC Charlotte

Education

UNC Charlotte

Help With Algebra 2

Shawn has been great with our 13 year old! He has been tutoring him in math and it is a great help. He is kind and patient and a great teacher!

— Karen, Matthews, NC on 11/15/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $30.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Shawn will travel within 30 miles of Monroe, NC 28110.