Over 10 tutoring hours

Kali K.

Saint Paul, MN

$45/hr

Math/ESL Tutor with Experience Teaching a Diverse Group of Students

In-person lessons
Replies in 21 hours
5.0 Avg. Rating
 
 
3 Ratings
 
 
21hrs Response Time
Great tutor
— Rachel, Forest Lake, MN on 12/19/14

Message Kali

Send Kali a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Kali or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

The University of Wisconsin-Superior

Education

The University of Wisconsin-Superior

About Kali

I am currently a paraprofessional in a Minneapolis school and work with many students to develop study skills, understand core concepts in their math and science courses and interpret material for low-level native Spanish speakers.

I tutor students that are preparing for college entrance exams including the ACT, SAT, IELTS and TOEFL. I also tutor students in a variety of disciplines and would be happy to be contacted regarded subjects that are not listed under my available tutoring subjects to see if I may be able to accommodate your request.

Last year, I taught mathematics and English at an international school in Kunming, China. I was primarily an SAT math teacher, as well as a core-level math instructor (British standardized testing), which included topics in algebra, trigonometry, geometry, pre-calculus, and calculus. I also taught TOEFL and IELTS speaking courses for large and small groups of students and helped students to raise their scores for college admission and communicate more effectively.

I graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Superior in 2013 and majored in Spanish with a Global Studies and Mathematics double minor. I have been a private tutor for about seven years, starting tutoring in high school through the National Honor Society. I have been able to help students with Spanish, math, chemistry, standardized test prep (SAT/ACT) and ESL.

I'm interested in learning how the student learns best, as there are many ways to learn. I like to cater to the student's specific learning style(s) as this is a more effective teaching style. I've also helped students develop study skills so they are able to be more efficient and ultimately successful in and outside of school.

I also have experience with ACT preparation and can help with that as well. My student was able to raise his score and was able to get in to the college to which he was aspiring to attend. I helped with pacing (and helping him to make sure he had enough time to complete each section), multiple choice elimination techniques, etc.

Having received my Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) certificate from Wisconsin English as a Second Language Institute's (WESLI) Midwest Teacher Training Program (MTTP) and spending a year abroad teaching students in China, I would enjoy a chance to help students of all levels to improve their English, whether as a college student looking to increase academic vocabulary to those living in the community who need a working knowledge of practical English for daily use. I offer interactive lessons which are adjusted to what the student would like to learn, which include hands-on activities and other forms of immersion.

I've also studied abroad twice (Scotland and Costa Rica) and would love to share advice on studying abroad to those interested in doing so. While in Costa Rica, I studied at a Spanish immersion school and have enjoyed being able to speak it with others. I have an upper-basic level knowledge of Mandarin Chinese, with a more advanced ability to listen to Mandarin as opposed to speaking.

I would be happy to help with whatever it is that is giving you trouble! Please contact me for more information to see if you think we'd be a good match. I look forward to hearing from you!
I am currently a paraprofessional in a Minneapolis school and work with many students to develop study skills, understand core concepts in their math and science courses… Read more

Policies
Cancellation
5 hours notice required

I will give discounts for groups, which is negotiable upon tutoring needs and number of students. Please contact me for any other situations!

Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Saint Paul, MN 55112
In-person lessons

"Great tutor"

- Rachel, Forest Lake, MN on 12/19/14
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1,
Algebra 2, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Trigonometry
English:
ESL/ESOL, IELTS,
TOEFL
Science:
ACT Science, Chemistry
Language:
ESL/ESOL, IELTS,
Spanish, TOEFL
Music:
Drums
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Study Skills
Homeschool:
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2, Chemistry, ESL/ESOL, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Spanish, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, ACT Science, IELTS,
SAT Math, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

I have taught the following subjects within Algebra: Integer notation; Roots; Fractions; Evaluating Algebraic equations; Combining like terms; Graphing linear, exponential and quadratic equations; Graphing/Solving quadratic equations; Intercepts/point of intersection between two lines; Slope intercept form; Zeros of a function, etc.

IELTS

During the 2013-2014 school year at a Chinese high school, I taught several IELTS courses as well as tutored two students to help improve their IELTS scores. I also helped the school administer practice IELTS questions to help the students prepare for their official tests.

I help students to find their weaknesses and improve upon their grammar, vocabulary, fluency and confidence and help them apply these skills to their IELTS test.

Study Skills

Starting during my second year of college, I tutored a student to raise his ACT score, which included underlying study skills, such as time management and organization. Last year, I tutored a student specifically to help him with his math skills and study skills. We discussed methods to keep his homework and other priorities organized so he could still be active in sports. I helped him to start using a planner, flashcards, bundling, mnemonic devices and other devices that promote long term learning and I showed him how to prioritize his list of tasks he needed to accomplish so he could keep doing well in his classes.

The University of Wisconsin-Superior

Education

The University of Wisconsin-Superior

Great tutor — My son, who is in 12th grade, loves working with Kali. I asked him to rate her and he said she is "excellent." ...

— Rachel, Forest Lake, MN on 12/19/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

I will give discounts for groups, which is negotiable upon tutoring needs and number of students. Please contact me for any other situations!

Travel policy

Kali will travel within 15 miles of Saint Paul, MN 55112.

Background Check Status for Kali K.

Kali K. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Kali, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.