Search

Allison H.

Wyoming, MI

$35/hour

Working with Words and Engaging in English

In-person lessons
100+ Hours
Background check passed as of 1/20/14
5.0 average from 47 ratings
Great with my 6 year old daughter.
— Janine, Sherman Oaks, CA on 11/20/13

$35/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Allison will reply soon.

Response time: 3 hours

Contact Allison

University of Michigan
English and Film

Education

University of Michigan (English and Film)

About Allison

Hello!

My name's Allison, and I'm a recent graduate of the University of Michigan. I originally went to college to study English and creative writing, but after taking a film class, I knew that I had to double major. I moved to LA to pursue screenwriting, and I love everything about the written word. Grammar fascinates me, and I'm always trying to expand my vocabulary (even if I don't always use it). I read a lot, and I'm a strong advocate for literacy. I like to think that every kid actually likes to read, but that some just haven't found the right book. I think that getting kids or adults excited about reading is the first step to making them more confident readers and inspires a willingness to learn.

Academically, I was required to write at least three papers a semester per class, meaning that I was writing about nine or ten academic papers per semester. I decided to write a thesis my senior year as well, and so academic writing is just as familiar to me as creative writing.

I actually enjoy proofreading and editing as well, but I will not write anyone's paper for them. I also don't particularly like the "red pen" method of proofreading, because I think that it showcases the problem without suggesting ways to solve it. Instead, I like to write comments electronically or on the sides of papers in a simple black or blue pen. This allows me to make suggestions and ask questions. When I tutor, I find that asking questions is more helpful than simply telling someone what I believe is right. In something that does have a correct answer, such as basic grammar or spelling, I like to explain why it's right, because I think that having that understanding is key to remembering how to do something in the future.

I'm patient and willing to adapt to any learning style, and I think most importantly I'm passionate about my craft. I want to share that passion with anyone that I tutor to help them succeed.
Hello!

My name's Allison, and I'm a recent graduate of the University of Michigan. I originally went to college to study English and creative writing, but after taking a film class, I knew that I had to double major. I moved to LA to pursue screenwriting, and I love everything about the written word. Grammar fascinates me, and I'm
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
3 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Wyoming, MI 49509
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Great with my 6 year old daughter."

- Janine, Sherman Oaks, CA on 11/20/13
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2
English:
ACT English,
ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Reading,
SAT Reading,
SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English,
ACT Reading, SAT Reading,
SAT Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Windows,
Microsoft Word
Language:
Reading,
Writing
History:
Writing
Special Needs:
Reading,
Study Skills
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading,
Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary, Writing
Business:
Microsoft Word, Public Speaking,
Writing

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT English

I took the SAT and ACT numerous times before taking it for college entrance. I am familiar with both tests, and can offer test taking strategies for the English and Writing portions as well as a look at the material.

Microsoft Windows

I worked as an instructional media assistant at the University of Michigan for four years. This position required that I have knowledge of Microsoft Windows, and required that I be able to explain, whether on the phone or in person, how to perform some basic functions of the operating system as well as some more advanced functions. These functions included all operations contained within the control panel, basic organizing tips, locating files, and explaining file types. I often had to meet with faculty at the University of Michigan and walk them through basic computer processes to help them succeed in using technology in their classroom. I have done the same for parents, relatives, and friends.

I use a PC currently, and have been working with Microsoft Windows since I was nine or ten. I'm currently using Windows 7, but have experience using Windows 8, XP, and Vista as well. I like working on the computer, and have purposefully taught myself how to fix most any software-related issue. I know how the operating system works and can teach anyone how to navigate the Windows OS and how to do some basic troubleshooting.

Public Speaking

I practiced debate for a few years in high school before deciding to pursue drama instead. I was academically required to make multiple presentations in a variety of subjects including Ancient Comedy and Pre-1800s Literature. Aside from my academic work, I was the business manager for my a cappella group and the company promoter for the University of Michigan Gilbert and Sullivan Society. These two jobs required that I speak about marketing techniques and promotion ideas on a regular basis.

Reading

I have experience working with children from preschool to eighth grade. I babysit often, and that job includes helping children with homework on a regular basis. I have gone on numerous mission trips, where I have worked with kids on their reading and literacy skills.

My academic background required reading and writing assignments, some of which were geared toward children. Specifically, I took a few classes on children's literature, where I studied the way in which kids engage with what they are reading.

SAT Reading

I took the SAT numerous times, starting in middle school, before taking it "for real." I'm familiar with the test and with the way that it's structured, and can help with test strategies as well as the material being tested.

Study Skills

I was very active in both high school and college, juggling work, academics, and extra-curricular activities. Because of my schedule, I had to find ways to study and ensure academic success while still being able to perform to the best of my ability in both my career and outside hobbies, and thus had to develop good study skills and habits.

I found that setting time goals, making lists, and visual learning are most valuable for me in studying, but I have helped people with different learning strengths develop study plans in order to ensure academic success.

I tutored students in Latin and English, and part of that tutoring process was making study plans and generating good study habits. To do this, I would often discover how the student best learned (whether through visual, audio, or kinetic means) and building a study plan based on that knowledge. For instance, I might recommend flash cards for a visual learner or repeated writing for a kinetic learner. Regardless, I found that working with a student's individual schedule and attention span dictated the way in which that student would most benefit in terms of study habits.

Writing

I majored in Film and English at the University of Michigan, and had to write numerous academic papers every semester (usually around nine or ten). I also recently completed a senior research thesis, for which I received honors.

University of Michigan
English and Film

Education

University of Michigan (English and Film)

Great with my 6 year old daughter.

We had our first tutoring session with Allison today, and it was awesome. My daughter absolutely loved her fun, patient teaching style, and we have already planned for her to come back in two days for another session. She was on time, excited and dedicated to my daughter for the full hour. Highly recommend!!!

— Janine, Sherman Oaks, CA on 11/20/13

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Allison will travel within 10 miles of Wyoming, MI 49509.