Over 200 tutoring hours

Jessica G.

Trenton, MI

$32/hr

Individual Enrichment through an Experienced Tutor

In-person lessons
Replies in 8 hours
5.0 Avg. Rating
 
 
60 Ratings
 
 
8hrs Response Time

Message Jessica

Send Jessica a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jessica or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Michigan
Queen's University of Belfast
Master's
The University of Michigan
Other

Education

University of Michigan

Queen's University of Belfast (Master's)

The University of Michigan (Other)

About Jessica

With background in a variety of areas, I can teach English, Social Studies, Biology, Behavioral Science, and just about anything else. I specialize in the instruction of English as a Second Language. I am multilingual and know Spanish and French. In addition, I have studied and lived abroad in the UK, on the Mexican border, and in South Korea. I am fluent and knowledgeable about various dialects and structures of the English language. I have served as a professional teacher for about a decade. With background in a variety of areas, I can teach English, Social Studies, Biology, Behavioral Read more

Policies
Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Trenton, MI 48183
In-person lessons
English:
ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading,
SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Anatomy, Anthropology, Archaeology, Biology, Chemistry, Psychology, Sociology, Zoology
Language:
ESL/ESOL
History:
American History, Anthropology, Archaeology, Geography, Religion, Social Studies
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics,
Reading,
Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Phonics,
Special Needs
Business:
Economics, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Biology, Chemistry, Economics, Elementary (K-6th),
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Reading,
Study Skills,
Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT Reading, ASVAB, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
Economics, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have taught kindergarten and sixth grade for several years in Arizona. I also taught reading recovery to students of various grade levels. In addition, I taught multiple primary school levels in South Korea. I have also completed educator coursework.

English

I teach English at a local college and have been doing so for over 6 years. I've also taught middle school reading and have been certified as a reading specialist.

ESL/ESOL

I have been teaching ESL for over 10 years to students of all ages. While I do know several languages, I use an immersion approach to teach English through content. Through various strategies, I help students to develop their listening, speaking, reading, and writing competencies in English. It is my goal to help my students to learn skills which will allow them to help themselves study English. Currently, I teach ESL at a local college. I have also worked with elementary and secondary school districts working with ESL students. Most of my experience has been with Asian and Hispanic students, but I have worked with students from all over the world.

Phonics

I completed a certification course through Arizona State University in which I was trained to teach reading recovery through the Collaborative Literacy Intervention Program (CLIP). Through the training, i formally learned ways to effectively teach the five key areas of reading including phonemic awareness and phonics. I also worked as a reading teacher in Arizona. In addition, I have been teaching phonics as an English as a Second Language teacher for about 10 years.

Reading

I am certified in the Collaborative Literacy Intervention Program (CLIP), which is a form of reading recovery. Through strategies learned in this training I have helped many students to improve their reading skills through building confidence and strategies which make them more independent.

Special Needs

In Arizona, I taught special education for one year. I worked mostly with students who had specific learning disabilities. In addition, I have worked with autistic students and emotionally impaired ones. I also have a degree in psychology which has helped me to understand various cognitive challenges as well.

Study Skills

I have taught a specific "Study Skills" program through another tutoring company. It addressed explicit teaching of test taking skills, time management protocols, study planning, organizational strategies, and more. In addition, having received multiple degrees in less than 4 years' time, I have demonstrated mastery of study skills myself.

University of Michigan
Queen's University of Belfast
Master's
The University of Michigan
Other

Education

University of Michigan

Queen's University of Belfast (Master's)

The University of Michigan (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $32.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jessica will travel within 30 miles of Trenton, MI 48183.

Background Check Status for Jessica G.

Jessica G. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Jessica, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.