Search

Patricia I.

Lapeer, MI

$35/hour

We will "get" each other and learn to read and write better!

In-person lessons
50+ Hours
4.1 average from 18 ratings
Flexible and kind
— Bethany S, Mount Morris, MI on 9/9/15

$35/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Patricia will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Patricia

B.A. U of M-Flint
English

Education

B.A. U of M-Flint (English)

About Patricia

I would like to introduce myself and give a rough outline of the skills and experiences I've acquired that will benefit any student that I may be tutoring. Most of my career has been spent as a graphic designer, but I decided to go back to college in 2001 to obtain my BA. I also want to indicate here the method I would use to help students develop skills and knowledge that will benefit them in school.

Since I got my BA in English in 2005 with a minor in art, I have fairly recent experience as a student in a classroom setting. I graduated with a 3.75 GPA. I also raised two children, one of each sex and helped them with their studies regularly all through their primary and secondary educations. In 2003 I worked for a while as a substitute teacher for the Lapeer Intermediate School District for first graders, third graders and seventh graders. When my grandson visited for a month last summer he brought schoolwork with him to prepare him for fourth grade and we did several workbook pages each night for an hour that concerned all the subjects fourth graders are exposed to. When my daughter was in elementary school I spent several weeks going to her school to tutor students from her class who were having difficulties with reading. This was done one on one away from the classroom through the use of computer software. I also lead a class of fifth grade gifted students at the Lapeer County Writing Festival in 1995 by presenting Caldecott and Newbery book award winners from the last several decades and by giving the attendees a handout of several pages I had designed for them explaining how to make their own books.

After learning the needs of my tutoring student, I will prepare each session by gathering pertinent books, exercises and other materials. I would also perform internet research about the subject and grade level. The student should bring any textbooks used for the class they are interested in having me tutor them in. I will have on hand paper and writing instruments in case the student came unprepared. I would expect to be informed ahead of time specifically which areas the student needs to concentrate on in order to get the most out of the tutoring sessions. The tutoring would of course be one on one and I'd be willing to meet at any location decided on by the student or his/her parents or teacher which is a reasonable distance from my home in Lapeer.

Reading and writing have always come easy for me. English grammar, reading and writing can be broken down in a logical way. I will help the student to understand this idea by presenting exercises similar to diagramming sentences. I will try to impress upon students of English the value of a good story. Book reports are a valuable way to practice all of the basics mentioned (grammar, reading and writing). Textbooks, on the other hand, require certain study skills (note-taking, highlighting key paragraphs and sentences, and performing the review exercises at the ends of sections). These skills can be learned through repeated practice as well.

The other special subject I can tutor is visual arts. I can teach a student to improve their drawing and painting skills. I will try to help a student learn to really "look" at the subject. I can teach a student about the color wheel and how colors work together and how to mix paint, use of brushes and types of paint and types of surfaces (papers, canvas, etc.). Another instructive part of an art education is art history where comparisons of different artists, parts of the world and time periods can be explored. I can also teach a student how to understand what good graphic design should be and provide an introduction to Photoshop. In addition, an introduction to desktop publishing software such as InDesign goes hand in hand with Photoshop to create printed designs.

I hope this message describes what kind of tutoring I plan to provide while also listing the experience I have that I feel relates to teaching and tutoring.
I would like to introduce myself and give a rough outline of the skills and experiences I've acquired that will benefit any student that I may be tutoring. Most of my career has been spent as a graphic designer, but I decided to go back to college in 2001 to obtain my BA. I also want to indicate here the method I would use to help students develop Read more

Policies
Cancellation
12 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Lapeer, MI 48446
In-person lessons

"Flexible and kind"

- Bethany S, Mount Morris, MI on 9/9/15
Math:
Elementary Math
Art:
Adobe Photoshop, Art History, Drawing,
Film,
Graphic Design,
Painting
English:
English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading,
Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Adobe Photoshop, Graphic Design
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Handwriting,
Reading,
Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Drawing

I have taken 8-10 courses in drawing at the college level throughout my life. The drawing media I have experience in ranges from pencil and ink to colored pencil and pastels. I understand perspective and can draw anything from still life to portraiture. I am currently illustrating a children's book with twenty colored-pencil drawings in it. Early in my career, I worked for a Fisher Body job shop doing technical illustration, and a little later, worked for a geological research center in Golden, Colorado, as an illustrator for their publications.

Film

Since film is an art form on a level with literature, music and fine art, the historical context and all facets of producing a film are integral and are studied. I have taken courses in this subject at the college level and have written several papers that analyzed the various aspects of film. This requires repeated viewing, research and note taking. I remain an avid film viewer and search out films from all genres, eras and countries. The writing, directing, cinematography, acting, editing, art direction and other specialties are all elements crucial to a well-made film. I could work with a student to help them see these individual elements and understand the importance and differences that make certain films stand out from others and help them form opinions and write about it.

Graphic Design

I studied graphic design at two colleges. Along with that, my work experience spanned over forty years. In the '70s, I worked for magazine publishers, prior to this field becoming digital, which gives me knowledge of offset printing processes that aren't commonly understood today but that I feel should be. When computers came to be used, I grew into that right along with the trends and have a computer in my home with the latest professional software installed and continue to produce work for myself and for others on a freelance basis today. My background is mostly in print, but I also understand the basics of converting an image that can be used on the Internet as well.

Handwriting

I feel well qualified to tutor cursive because I learned it myself. I am also an artist which makes me qualified to understand visuals.

Painting

I have had several painting courses throughout my life and have worked in oils, acrylics and, to some extent, watercolors. I understand composition, painting surfaces and brush techniques. Learning how to mix the colors is key, and I feel I have mastered that and can explain it to a student through the use of the color wheel. Like when drawing, I have learned to really "look" at the subject. I have also done some abstract painting, which relies more on what I have learned in my graphic design experience.

Reading

I have a BA in English which I received just 10 years ago. Also, I am an avid reader who raised two children and have recently worked with my 10-year-old grandson on his 4th grade readiness over the summer last year.

Writing

I graduated with a BA in English and a 3.8 GPA from UM-Flint in 2005.

B.A. U of M-Flint
English

Education

B.A. U of M-Flint (English)

Flexible and kind

She taught about still life drawing and what future lessons are about. She was flexible and kind while pointing out weak points or strong ones too.

— Bethany S, Mount Morris, MI on 9/9/15

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Patricia will travel within 20 miles of Lapeer, MI 48446.