Heather D.

Interlochen, MI


Your source for German, ESL, reading and other tutoring needs!

In-person lessons
Replies in 10 hours
5.0 Avg. Rating
3 Ratings
10hrs Response Time

Message Heather

Send Heather a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Heather or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Northern Illinois University
German Language


Northern Illinois University (German Language)

About Heather

My education includes an A.A.S. in Travel and Tourism from the College of DuPage and a B.A. in German Language and Literature from Northern Illinois University. I spent a year as an exchange student in Luebeck, Germany, during my senior year in high school, and I have traveled throughout Germany and several other European countries a number of times. I can definitely appreciate going to another country and trying to learn 'the language of the land'! I've also been trained to tutor ESL and basic reading from the Grand Traverse Literacy Council.

My professional background involves working with adults with special needs, both developmentally and mentally. I have had training through the community and state agencies to advocate and assist adults with mental health and developmental issues in the community. I feel confident in my ability to help others, both adults and adolescents, gain confidence in themselves to become as independent as possible and to advocate for themselves within the community as well as with basic life skills such as budgeting, basic cooking, shopping, etc.

Please contact me if you have any questions.
My education includes an A.A.S. in Travel and Tourism from the College of DuPage and a B.A. in German Language and Literature from Northern Illinois University. I spent Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Interlochen, MI 49643
In-person lessons
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
General Computer
General Music
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Reading, Study Skills,
Special Needs:
Special Needs
Elementary (K-6th), ESL/ESOL,
Reading, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
General Computer,
German, Grammar

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have training through the Grand Traverse Literacy Council to tutor students in ESL and improving their basic reading skills. I have also done volunteer tutoring through the Grand Traverse Literacy Council with actual foreigners in the Grand Traverse region in ESL.

General Computer

I've worked for two years in a computer lab as a computer lab attendant in the residence halls at Northern Illinois University, where I was named Lab Attendant of the Month twice. I have intermediate knowledge in many of the programs (MS Word, internet and email, as well as other Windows based programs). I am comfortable enough that if I don't know the answer to a student's question, I can demonstrate how to search for an answer and once the answer is found, it is definitely something I can add to my own knowledge base as well!

General Music

With several years of playing flute and bassoon in orchestra, band, marching band, pit orchestra, etc., as well as having taken courses in secondary school that expanded my knowledge and understanding of music in general, I feel I have a solid understanding of general classical music. I have also attended music camp in the summer and toured Europe with a band.

Special Needs

I have worked in an adult foster care home as well as at the local community mental health, where I assisted adults with special needs (developmentally disabled and mentally ill) in their daily living skills/needs and advocacy in the community. I have also tutored some adults with developmental disabilities with improving their reading skills. Although my experience with special needs children is limited (I have done some babysitting for a young boy with autism), I would enjoy the opportunity to transfer my experiences with special needs adults and help children with special needs! I have training through CMH and other community organizations in helping others with special needs.

Study Skills

The ability to survive high school and college requires discipline and great, efficient study skills. From great note taking during lecture time, research and questions to ask, as well as word association and making the topic interesting are a few of the ways to help one comprehend and remember material learned.

People learn in different ways, through observing, reading, trial and error, etc. It is important to taylor one's own study time to how they learn best! I would love to be able to assist students and adults in making their study time more efficient!

Northern Illinois University
German Language


Northern Illinois University (German Language)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $25.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Heather will travel within 30 miles of Interlochen, MI 49643.

Background Check Status for Heather D.

Heather D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Heather, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.