Over 10 tutoring hours

Megan L.

Flint, MI


I can do a bit of everything, AP classes in HS and BS degree.

Background check passed as of 7/29/12
5.0 average from 11 ratings

Message Megan

Send Megan a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Megan or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 day
Replies in 1 day

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Freed-Hardeman University
Criminal Justice


Freed-Hardeman University (Criminal Justice)

About Megan

I've been an honor student my entire life. I just graduated with my BS degree in Criminal Justice with a minor in Spanish. I have a younger sister who I help teach and read with almost nightly, and I've been sought out often to help with things like science homework, proofreading and editing of papers, and math work. I would love to use my knowledge to help you and your child! I love to learn. Let me help you. I'd love the opportunity. I've been an honor student my entire life. I just graduated with my BS degree in Criminal Justice with a minor in Spanish. I have a younger sister who I help teach and read with almost nightly, and I've been sought Read more

4 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Flint, MI 48532
Background Check: Passed
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Elementary Math,
Linear Algebra, Prealgebra, Trigonometry
ACT Reading,
Bible Studies,
Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
ACT Science,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint,
Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science,
Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint,
Microsoft Word
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Elementary (K-6th),
Prealgebra, Reading, Spanish,
Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT Reading,
ACT Science,
Corporate Training:
Criminal Justice,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word,
Proofreading, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT Reading

I took the ACT twice, earning high marks (high 20's) each time. This particular subject has always come easily to me. I'd love to pass on my knowledge!

ACT Science

I scored a 35 on the Science portion of the ACT test.

Algebra 1

I took Algebra in 8th grade and, though it was difficult at first, but once I understood the few simple rules of algebra and the use of letters in math equations, it became much easier and I've even come to enjoy it.

Algebra 2

I am quite efficient with Algebra, 1 and 2. I took many math advanced math classes in high school, earning high marks in each one. I've helped to tutor people in this subject before, all through high school and college.

American History

I took Advanced American History my sophomore year of high school and AP US History my senior of high school and received an "A" in the subject. I also went on an EF Tours trip to Washington D.C. and learned a ton about our country's history!


Although I am a not very proficient when it comes to the electronics portion of the ASVAB, I can help with the other subjects. Overall I scored a 91 as a sophomore in high school.


I played basketball for 6 years on an organized team, and it is still one of my favorite pastimes.

Bible Studies

I have been attending church since before I could walk. I've attended three times a week for the last 20 years and been very active in the church. I attended a private Christian College where it was required to take a Bible class every semester.


I played the clarinet for 5 years, with the honor of being in the high band and in the first chair position for the last few years I played. I still remember it, the fingerings, the breathing techniques, and the music, like it was yesterday.

Criminal Justice

I graduated Magna Cum Laude with my Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice.

Elementary (K-6th)

I just graduated with my BS degree in Criminal Justice with a minor in Spanish. I am very comfortable working with younger, elementary aged children. I have a sister in elementary right now and I help her often with any of her subjects of homework. I earned almost all A's all through elementary, and I would love to work for you and your child!

Elementary Math

I was an 'A' student all through elementary school, and math was always one of my best subjects. I took through pre-Calculus in high school and I am always being asked for help in this subject. I often tutor my little sister in math.

Elementary Science

My younger sister is in elementary school right now, and I help her with her schoolwork, including Science homework. I've taken many advanced science classes, and I'd be happy to share my knowledge with you and/or your child!


English is one of the most difficult languages to learn, and it takes constant vigilance to stay on top of the ever-changing linguistics of it all. I am always correcting my family. It is important, especially in searching for a job, to be professional-looking and professional-sounding. Being an avid reader has helped me in this area, and associating with people who (usually) speak properly has encouraged the buffering and re-buffering of this knowledge.

General Music

I learned to read music beginning in elementary school and my knowledge of it only grew from there. Reading music in church and playing in the band for 5 years and singing in the school choir for another 5 years has kept my musical abilities intact.


I took Advanced Geometry in high school and, since I did so well in it, I've helped my friends in their classes, also. I am confident that I could be of use in this area.

Government & Politics

Being a Criminal Justice major, I've taken many classes having to do with government and politics. It has always been interesting to me to learn about the relationships of people in office, especially because it is often such a secretive community.


Being so well-read, using proper grammar is second nature to me. We studied proper grammar through much of school in our classes. I had an excellent teacher my sophomore year of high school who was very particular and would not allow anything less in his class. I've learned much thanks to him.


I played lacrosse on my high school team for 4 years and I still have a couple sticks that I like to go out and practice with, especially while teaching my little sister how to do it also.


Being a Criminal Justice major, I've taken many law classes and have studied in-depth many of the cases and rights that have been established in America by the Constitution.


I took AP English Literature my senior year of high school which afforded me the opportunity to score well on the AP test and get college credit for it. I love to read and write, also.

Microsoft PowerPoint

I've been using PowerPoint for schoolwork since middle school, and it isn't too difficult to pick up so I'd love to be of an assistance in this area!

Microsoft Word

I have been familiar with Microsoft Word and using it for homework for the last 12 years at least. I've taken at least 4 classes in school concerning how to utilize it best, and I've used it for the majority of my note-taking and homework assignments throughout college. I've even given my grandma lessons on how to use it.


I played soccer for 7 years and have recently begun coaching my little sister's AYSO team. I understand the concepts and would love to spread my knowledge in this area.


I took Spanish all 4 years of high school and earned my minor in it, also.

Freed-Hardeman University
Criminal Justice


Freed-Hardeman University (Criminal Justice)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Megan will travel within 20 miles of Flint, MI 48532.

Background Check Status for Megan L.

Megan L. passed a background check on 7/29/12. The check was ordered by Megan through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Megan, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.