Search

Christiane E.

Canton, MI

$45/hour

German and English tutoring made fun for Children and Adults.

In-person lessons
10+ Hours
Background check passed as of 10/8/14
5.0 average from 13 ratings
Informative tutor
— Shelley, Walled Lake, MI on 10/20/16

$45/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Christiane will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Christiane

Georgia State University
University of Michigan
Master's

Education

Georgia State University

University of Michigan (Master's)

About Christiane

I am a Social Worker, born and raised in Berlin, Germany. I attended school in Germany from Kindergarten through High School (Gymnasium). I also completed a Business Administration degree and can teach German Business language.

With my masters in Social Work, I am particularly sensitive to work with a diverse group of individuals. I have had extensive training in cultural diversity and humility. I assess each individual according to their knowledge and strengths and then shape a learning plan. Each individual has a different learning style and in identifying the various styles, maximizes the potential of achieving learning goals.

In the past, I have assisted international students and students with learning disabilities. I am looking forward to tutoring to a wide audience.
I am a Social Worker, born and raised in Berlin, Germany. I attended school in Germany from Kindergarten through High School (Gymnasium). I also completed a Business Administration degree and can teach German Business language.

With my masters in Social Work, I am particularly sensitive to work with a diverse group of individuals. I
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
4 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Canton, MI 48187
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Informative tutor"

- Shelley, Walled Lake, MI on 10/20/16

"Excellent first lesson"

- Robbie, Ann Arbor, MI on 10/12/16

"Great start!"

- Kathy, Birmingham, MI on 1/14/12
Christiane replied on 2/29/2012

As a tutor, I am humbled and at the same time excited to see my 9 year old student absorbing the German language like a sponge and improving his vocabulary and sentence usage with each lesson that we work on.

As he will be moving to Germany shortly, I have no doubt that he will become proficient within just a few months. He is an outgoing and pleasant student, in turn, he will find German speaking friends quickly.

Math:
Elementary Math
English:
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Reading,
Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
German
Special Needs:
Special Needs
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading,
Spelling, Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am a Social Worker, who has experience in working with children/youth. I am primarily able to provide a good comprehensive assessment in determining the strengths and needs of any individual student.

Education is the stepping stone to success and my interactive learning exercises, combined with role play and engagement in lesson planning, will give your child the tools for success that are often not taught in conventional classroom learning.

Every child/youth has the ability to learn but the key component is to find out what his/her learning style is and at what pace the child/youth is able to learn.

ESL/ESOL

I can assist and tutor children/youth who learn English as a second language, particularly from Germany and Spanish speaking countries. I have basic Spanish and French language skills and I am proficient in German, as German is my mother tongue.

It is easier for Children/Youth to learn a second language anyway and I attempt to make the learning experience fun and interactive by including games, events, such as holiday, birthday and sports celebrations, every day situations and events (example: at the grocery store, at the airport, in school, at the zoo, etc).

The use of correct grammar, spelling and vocabulary usage will be given the week before and practiced during the first 30 minutes of the following tutoring session. The last 30 - 45 minutes are used for role play and interactive games.

Children/Youth learn best when the rigidity is replaced with interactive learning, where the individual is included in the lesson planning.

When Children/Youth are included in the lesson planning, they develop critical and strategic thinking, goal setting, planning skills, accomplish tasks, along language acquisition, not including the actual tutoring time.

German

I can teach German to a wide variety of students. I am a native German Speaker and went to school in Germany from Kindergarten to High School (Gymnasium). I also possess a Business Administration degree from an accredited German School.

I am therefore able to teach German Business communication.

Depending on learning style, I generally provide tutoring in a hands-on, interactive learning environment. Especially for children, I use a lot of play and songs with learning.

For youth and adults, I combine every day events with Grammar, writing and speaking. Weather and time permitting, I also provide hands-on learning by going to an actual site. (e.g. airport, grocery store, cafe or restaurant, etc.)It makes the experience real and fun, plus teaches the student useful interactions in every day life.

I also prepare students for Advanced Placement tests in German.

Reading

Before beginning to tutor a child/adult with reading problems, I provide an in depth assessment if a learning disability, such as Dyslexia, exists or whether the student only needs some specific tools in reading better.

Specific themes that could impede a student from reading up to speed are: students whose native language is not English, students who may not have had a lot of exposure to books, extensive use of vocabulary during early childhood or a deficiency in audio/visual learning.

If a child displays a challenge with Reading, it is usually detected during the first couple of years in elementary school.

Bringing the student up to par also depends largely on a learning friendly environment, the tools provided for reading and learning during family and play time and the family's ability to provide a learning conducive home.

In combination of tutoring the student, I oftentimes assist the parent/s with tools that he/she or they can use throughout the week in helping their child/youth succeed with reading. (e.g. ask the child to put a grocery list together, include the child in grocery shopping by pointing to the items that are on the list and have the child try to read those, play a game on the way to school by naming all the streets that start with a certain letter, etc.) Games, such as these increase family interaction, inclusion and foster a fun learning environment without the stress of performance.

Special Needs

As a social worker, I am especially trained to work with children/adults with special needs. Many of my clients have been diagnosed with ADD/ADHD, Dyslexia and other forms of physical or mental conditions that make learning in a conventional classroom very difficult.

I first provide a thorough needs assessment to determine the individual's strengths and challenges with learning.

I develop an IEP with the student and depending on the parent's approval, I suggest working closely with the student's support system and teachers.

Tools that I use for learning are in the form of audio/visual, phonics, art-based, music-based, board games, memory games, hands and eye coordination games, etc.

I include my students in the lesson planning process to engage them as an active part of their learning experiences. It encourages them to take ownership and interest in their learning outcomes.

Georgia State University
University of Michigan
Master's

Education

Georgia State University

University of Michigan (Master's)

Informative tutor

She was very detailed with what our learning plan would be and how to approach how we do the lessons. She took the time to ask detailed questions on where I was on my current understanding and work around that. Would recommend her to anyone starting out.

— Shelley, Walled Lake, MI on 10/20/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Christiane will travel within 20 miles of Canton, MI 48187.