Over 20 tutoring hours

Michael B.

Brighton, MI


Making a difference now, forever.

In-person lessons
Replies in 5 hours
4.8 Avg. Rating
32 Ratings
5hrs Response Time
Great overall experience!
— Adrianne, Washington, DC on 9/10/12

Message Michael

Send Michael a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Michael or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

National University
Bridgewater State College



National University (Master's)

Bridgewater State College (Other)

About Michael

I am a college writing professor,
high school/middle school history teacher, and Spanish tutor. I have been teaching English and History for 6 years. I have a master's degree in English and bachelor's degree in Elementary education. I have worked with all types of learners including various special needs and gifted and talented students. I have taught at every grade level.

I am a college writing professor,
high school/middle school history teacher, and Spanish tutor. I have been teaching
Read more

2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Brighton, MI 48114
In-person lessons

"Great overall experience!"

- Adrianne, Washington, DC on 9/10/12
ACT Math, Geometry
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies,
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Astronomy, Biology, Geology, Philosophy
Video Production
Italian, Spanish, TOEFL
American History, European History, Government & Politics, Religion,
Social Studies, World History
Film, Theatre, Video Production
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics,
Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Aspergers, Autism,
Dyslexia, Hard Of Hearing, Phonics,
Special Needs
Biology, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL,
Geometry, Reading, SAT Reading, Spanish, Study Skills,
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, Career Development,
GED, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
Career Development,
Grammar, Italian, Proofreading, Public Speaking,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have worked with Autistic students in mainstream classrooms for more than ten years. Most recently I have spent several hours a week working with a few autistic students in an alternative education setting.

Bible Studies

I have been teaching Bible for two years in school and 5 years in church. I have taken Bible as Literature and other Bible classes.

Career Development

I have taught and taken courses in Career Development and other related studies.


I have been studying Mandarin Chinese for about 2 years. I can speak conversational Chinese. I have many resources to draw from as well.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have been an elementary teacher for three years. I have a bachelors degree in elementary education. I have tutored elementary students for nearly ten years. I have worked with students with various learning disabilities, including ADHD, dyslexia, downs syndrome, autism, and child schizophrenia.


I have a masters degree in English. I have taught ESL in Albania. I have tutored ESL students. I have taught English at every grade level k-6th.


I have taught reading using phonics at every grade level. I can effectively use phonics or whole language learning depending on the individual needs of the learner. I have taken college courses in the uses of phonics and language acquisition as well as linguistics courses in teaching reading. I have learned several languages and I have used phonics in my own learning of other languages and I have used it to teach ESL students.

Public Speaking

I have taught public speaking for five years. I have required public speaking in all of my other subjects. I have been invited as a guest speaker to schools. I have taken acting classes and I have had roles in two independent films. I have been a stage actor and choir singer for the past 10 years.


I am a Bible teacher in a private school. I have taken religion courses at the college level. I am familiar with Buddhism, Judaism, Islam, and various Christian denominations. I have taken and taught courses on Church history.

Special Needs

I was a special education teacher for two years. I have substantial background with IEP's and various learning disabilities. I have worked with a number of autistic students.

Study Skills

I have taught study skills courses and test prep courses at the high school and college level. I have a number of resources. I can teach speed reading, comprehension, and other skills that will provide students the tools to become independent learners.

Video Production

I recently directed a feature length film and I am an actor in a number of independent films. I have a TV production class and I have written two screenplays.

National University
Bridgewater State College



National University (Master's)

Bridgewater State College (Other)

Great overall experience! — Mike was extremely responsive to our needs regarding Italian lessons. He was very flexible time wise and did a nice job tailoring the lessons to our specific needs. He was polite, patient and professional; a delight to work with on course content and on a personal level. We would highly recommend him for Italian lessons and will likely collaborate with him again in the future. ...

— Adrianne, Washington, DC on 9/10/12

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Michael will travel within 20 miles of Brighton, MI 48114.

Background Check Status for Michael B.

Michael B. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Michael, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.