NEW FEATURES MORE

Over 5 tutoring hours

Gina S.

Ann Arbor, MI

$45/hour

Friendly & Experienced Tutor in a Variety of Subjects

In-person lessons
5.0 average from 4 ratings
Great tutor and helpful with travel info as well!
— Lisa, Emmett, MI on 2/17/13

Message Gina

Send Gina a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Gina or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Loyola University Chicago
St. John's University
Master's

Education

Loyola University Chicago

St. John's University (Master's)

About Gina

Hi, my name is Gina and I have more than 15 years of experience tutoring in most subject matters, but specifically reading, writing, English, literature, ESL, Italian, political science, history, and other social science and humanities subjects.

I have a Master of Arts in Government and Politics (concentration in International Relations) and Certificate in International Law and Diplomacy and a Bachelor of Arts in International Studies and minors in Italian, Marketing, and Rome Studies. I have completed additional coursework in art history, psychology, anthropology, communications and business courses, to name a few. I completed much of my studies at an American university in Rome, Italy, so I am fluent in Italian and extremely knowledgeable of Italian culture and history.

My most recent tutoring experience consisted of working 12+ hours per week as a private English language tutor for children and adolescents in Italy during the past year. In addition to helping with schoolwork, I formulated lesson plans and assignments, set goals, and measured their progress. My tutoring methods vary depending on the student, subject matter, and set goals that the parents and/or student and I establish from the very beginning. For example, when I tutored one very active little boy in Italy, the parents specifically wanted that I help him with his conversation English, and were less concerned about his correct spelling and grammar since he was so young. Therefore, I taught him to speak English through games and music according to his interests, so learning was fun and my teaching was effective!

In addition to my tutoring experience, I am very involved and active in my community. I have worked with kids through years of various volunteer activities, babysitting, and being a nanny. I served as “note-taker” in college for students with disabilities, and student ambassador. I have always held a high GPA and made the Dean’s list for several semesters.

Furthermore, I have 3+ years of professional work experience, in which I worked in the areas of marketing, project and event planning, and public relations. My strengths include outstanding organizational and communication skills, as well as effective interpersonal skills, and I consider myself to be a strong writer. I am an energetic, highly motivated, positive individual. I’m very goal-oriented as I continuously seek out challenges, set the bar higher, and I am motivated by results.

I thoroughly enjoy and have had much experience working and interacting with individuals of all ages and have a lot of patience when it comes to teaching. I have always had a passion for education, learning, and assisting others in that process, as well as a personal enthusiasm in my areas of expertise, international relations and Italian language and culture. My extended tutoring experience and international academic background have thoroughly equipped me with the knowledge and aptitude necessary to instruct several liberal arts subjects. I will provide leadership, direction, and quality service to students, as well as proven results!

Thank you for your consideration and I look forward to meeting you and helping you or your child soon.

Resume and references available upon request.
Hi, my name is Gina and I have more than 15 years of experience tutoring in most subject matters, but specifically reading, writing, English, Read more

Policies
Cancellation
8 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Ann Arbor, MI 48104
In-person lessons

"Great tutor and helpful with travel info as well!"

- Lisa, Emmett, MI on 2/17/13
Science:
Anthropology
Art:
Art History
English:
English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint
Language:
Italian
History:
American History, Anthropology, Classics, Criminal Justice, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Phonics
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Marketing, Microsoft PowerPoint, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Italian

- I have previous experience tutoring Italian to English speakers (as well as English to Italian speakers)
- I have minors in Italian and Rome Studies from Loyola University Chicago
- I have lived, worked, and studied in Rome, Italy for a total of 2 years
- I worked for 3 years at the Italian American Chamber of Commerce in Chicago, in which a majority of the work was conducted in Italian and included business travel to Italy
- I am a member of the Italian American Cultural Center in Clinton Township and am enrolled in advanced level language courses there
- I am member of Volare Via, an Italian conversation group
- I have traveled extensively throughout the country
- I am Italian-American and have relatives in central Italy
- I'm fluent in written and spoken Italian

Loyola University Chicago
St. John's University
Master's

Education

Loyola University Chicago

St. John's University (Master's)

Great tutor and helpful with travel info as well! — My lessons with Gina have been great. She has a been a wonderful resource about Italy as well. Gina also has provided handouts to support the info we have learned. I have really enjoyed our lessons and feel better prepared for my trip to Italy! ...

— Lisa, Emmett, MI on 2/17/13

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Travel policy

Gina will travel within 15 miles of Ann Arbor, MI 48104.