Over 200 tutoring hours

Asha O.

Waldorf, MD

$45/hr

Passionate, Patient, Open-minded, and FUN! (Language/Math Tutor)

In-person lessons
Replies in 8 hours
4.8 Avg. Rating
 
 
44 Ratings
 
 
8hrs Response Time
Flexible and accommodating...
— Danielle, La Plata, MD on 7/28/15

Message Asha

Send Asha a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Asha or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Alabama at Birmingham
Spanish

Education

University of Alabama at Birmingham (Spanish)

About Asha

Hello to all! My name is Asha. I recently relocated to Maryland from Alabama to pursue my dreams and live life with a purpose! I graduated from the University of Alabama in Birmingham (UAB) with a B.A. in Spanish. During my college years, I was actively involved in community service, which led me to explore the field of teaching and tutoring. I’ve taught and tutored people of all ages, from elementary school kids to adults.

On the flip side, I enjoy writing (novels and songs), traveling, and meeting new people. My greatest experience so far was having the opportunity to study abroad in Costa Rica for a month. Not only was I able to immerse myself in another culture, I improved my Spanish-speaking skills to where I became completely fluent. As far as writing, I am set to have my first book published by next year.

If you are seeking someone that's passionate about teaching, genuinely concerned about your progress in the subject you’re trying to learn or improve on, and makes learning enjoyable, I'm that person. Spend a couple of hours a week with me, and you will not be disappointed!
Hello to all! My name is Asha. I recently relocated to Maryland from Alabama to pursue my dreams and live life with a purpose! I graduated from the University of Alabama in Birmingham (UAB) with a B.A. in Spanish. During my college years, I was actively involved in community service, which Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Waldorf, MD 20601
In-person lessons

"Flexible and accommodating..."

- Danielle, La Plata, MD on 7/28/15
Asha replied on 7/29/2015

Thank you so much Danielle! I'm happy that you're happy and I'm glad you chose me as your Spanish tutor!

"Positive Results"

- Dee, Waldorf, MD on 12/22/14

"Excellent!"

- Lajuan, Accokeek, MD on 10/11/14

"So Far, So Good"

- Paul, Waldorf, MD on 7/14/14

"Great Tutor for Any Level!"

- Carolea, Upper Marlboro, MD on 4/26/14
Math:
Algebra 1, Prealgebra
English:
ESL/ESOL
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
Spanish
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th),
ESL/ESOL,
Prealgebra, Spanish
Test Preparation:
GED
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL,
Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

For two years, I volunteered as a tutor an after school program. I assisted third- to sixth-graders with their homework in math, language arts/reading, and science. I also conducted one-on-one reading sessions with the students in order to help them improve their reading skills (phonetics, pronunciation, and vocabulary, and reading comprehension). I also assisted in planning hands-on activities correlated with the instructional material of the day.

I enjoyed working with students at the elementary school level because I shaped and molded them into responsible students who understood the value of a quality education in today’s world. If you are seeking a tutor to work with your young child, I am ready and more than willing to give them the individualized instruction they need to not only succeed at their current and future grade levels!

Elementary Math

As an Adult Basic Education teacher, one of the subjects I teach is math. I have extensive knowledge in concepts such as fractions, decimals, percents, ratios and proportions, and word problems. Math can be a very difficult subject for some, so I break down those concepts to where the student can understand in basic terms. I use worksheets, textbooks, and flashcards as my supplementary learning material, but am open-minded in regards to using other material. It’s all based on what works best for the student!

ESL/ESOL

I have been teaching ESL for the past three years, working with students at all levels (beginner to advanced). I focus mainly on verbal communication (listening and speaking), but I also emphasize oral communication (reading and writing) depending on the student’s needs. I start off with a basic introduction to the English language (alphabet, numbers, and greetings/conversational phrases) and then gradually advance to vocabulary and grammar.

A specific example of a learning method I used with my previous students: I wrote a series of short stories about my ESL experiences at a church I volunteered at. I integrated the stories into my lesson plan, and the objective was to help the students improve their reading skills. However, I observed a major improvement in their listening and speaking (pronunciation) skills as well. As a result, I received nothing but positive feedback!

I love teaching English, and I make sure my students are enthusiastic about learning! If you are looking for someone patient and understanding to guide you through your journey of learning English, I’m that person!

Spanish

If you would like to improve your Spanish-speaking skills in a conversational setting, or are struggling in your Spanish class, I am the perfect person to steer you in the right direction! I graduated with a B.A. in Spanish, and in my last semester of college, I studied abroad in Costa Rica. I am highly fluent, and can read and write in Spanish as well. I’ve provided one-on-one lessons and translation services to friends and co-workers.

I am absolutely passionate about Spanish, and I spread that passion to my students! As the world becomes increasingly globalized, the demand for learning another language is at an all-time high. If a student’s aim is to become bilingual in both English and Spanish, I can help him or her accomplish that objective. If he or she wants to pass that Spanish class, I help him or her create an individualized study plan focusing on all weaknesses, which can range from vocabulary to grammar to pronunciation.

I am very results-oriented, and I encourage my students to list their goals with an end result in mind. Failure is not an option!

University of Alabama at Birmingham
Spanish

Education

University of Alabama at Birmingham (Spanish)

Flexible and accommodating... — Asha is very knowledgeable and helped me to determine my best learning style. I would recommend her to anyone starting from scratch or looking to add to what they already know. ...

— Danielle, La Plata, MD on 7/28/15

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Asha will travel within 20 miles of Waldorf, MD 20601.

Background Check Status for Asha O.

Asha O. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Asha, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.