NEW FEATURES MORE

Search
Over 20 tutoring hours

Jon M.

Ellicott City, MD

$35/hour

Patient and Flexible Math, Guitar, and English/Writing Tutor

In-person lessons
5.0 average from 11 ratings
Lesson Feedback
— Bindiya, Columbia, MD on 10/2/15

$35/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Jon will reply soon.

Response time: 13 hours

Contact Jon

About Jon

Hello my name is Jon and I am an experienced personal tutor and classroom teacher. I have worked three years as a Kumon teacher for children ages 5-18 in both English and mathematics, while tutoring privately on the side. I am qualified to tutor in GRE testing as well as SAT prep in all areas. I have also taught full classrooms in the art of debate, as well as Latin. As the eldest brother of three in my family, in many ways I have been teaching my entire life. This combined wealth of experience has given me a wide range of teaching styles! It is through the practice of teaching another that we verify our own understanding of the material. If you cannot easily explain something, do you truly understand it?

I believe that there are many ways to understand material. Public schooling typically has a narrow, unilateral way of teaching; if the only tool you have is a hammer, then every problem has to be a nail. My specialty as a tutor/teacher is my ability to show students differing methods of solving problems so that they may realize their own unique way of learning, which will allow them to critically think on their own and eventually teach themselves. I believe this is a crucial skill to obtain in life.

I expect a lot from myself and from my students. As such, I will often ask for feedback and will not bill for a lesson unless you are satisfied.

I generally tutor out of the Charles E. Miller Library on Frederick Road, but am available to travel to different locations if it is more suitable.

Looking forward to hearing from you and helping you achieve success in your life!
Hello my name is Jon and I am an experienced personal tutor and classroom teacher. I have worked three years as a Kumon teacher for children ages 5-18 in both English and mathematics, while tutoring privately on the side. I Read more

Policies
Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 12 miles of Ellicott City, MD 21042
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Lesson Feedback"

- Bindiya, Columbia, MD on 10/2/15

"Knowledgeable and patient tutor"

- Roger, Woodstock, MD on 9/22/15
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Elementary Math, Geometry, Prealgebra, SAT Math
Science:
ACT Science
Music:
Composition (Music), General Music, Guitar
Art:
Composition (Music)
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English,
Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Sports/Recreation:
Poker

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

English

I have three years of experience as a Kumon tutor, teaching English to kids ages 5-18, as well as five years of experience tutoring privately. I am an avid writer and reader and I am trained in persuasive writing through my work as a debater.

Guitar

I have 13 years of experience playing guitar, both acoustic and electric. In addition I have given lessons before. I have a reasonable understanding of guitar theory through classes I have taken, but I believe music is about your ear so I play and teach through an attention to the actual sound being emitted from the instrument. I play guitar about an hour every day.

Poker

I have played poker successfully for 10+ years. I have read numerous books on the subject (Super/System, Every Hand Revealed, Mike Caro's book of tells), watched hundreds of hours of professional players, and have thousands of hours of logged personal experience. I understand poker for what it is - a microcosm of life that incorporates many different skills. I have a deep love for this game.

Lesson Feedback — He is very knowledgeable and patient. He comes very prepared and my son feels very comfortable learning from him. I would recommend Jon for sure ...

— Bindiya, Columbia, MD on 10/2/15

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jon will travel within 12 miles of Ellicott City, MD 21042.