Search

Elisa S.

Chinese Mandarin/Spanish Language Tutor

Chinese Mandarin/Spanish Language Tutor

$45/hour

  • Catonsville, MD 21228

About Elisa


Bio

Chinese Mandarin and Spanish are the foreign languages that I am available to tutor in. I have been a language analyst in the Air Force for the last 10 years and am beginning to work towards my Master's Degree in Teaching Chinese Mandarin. While learning Chinese I tutored Spanish to another military student who then was able to pass his required Spanish test. My listening and reading levels of Chinese Mandarin on the ILR (Inter-agency Language Roundtable) scale are a 2+ and 2+. This means...

Chinese Mandarin and Spanish are the foreign languages that I am available to tutor in. I have been a language analyst in the Air Force for the last 10 years and am beginning to work towards my Master's Degree in Teaching Chinese Mandarin. While learning Chinese I tutored Spanish to another military student who then was able to pass his required Spanish test. My listening and reading levels of Chinese Mandarin on the ILR (Inter-agency Language Roundtable) scale are a 2+ and 2+. This means that I have close to a native ability in the Chinese language. For Spanish, my scores were a 2 and 2. I have not taken a speaking test in either language in quite a long time, but I will be taking one within the next year for Chinese Mandarin.

I completed the Spanish program at Northwestern College in 2001. I have a bachelor's degree in Spanish. I was accepted to work for the Border Patrol in 2002, but decided that it wasn't for me and joined the Air Force instead in 2003. I just finished my Air Force career this year.

I have an associate's degree in Chinese Mandarin. Although I only received an Associate's Degree in Chinese, this language ability is the strongest for me. I finished this degree in 2005 which was awarded by the Defense Language Institute. I have continued to take Chinese language classes almost every year since then to keep the language fresh. If I haven't had a class, I have studied the language on my own.

I have an associate's degree in Communications Applications Technology. This degree was awarded from the Community College of the Air Force in 2008 or 2009. I completed the last credits for it in 2008.

I am in the process of getting my master's degree in Secondary Education-Teaching Chinese.

My tutoring methods depend upon the level of the student. I will normally use whatever language materials he or she has been provided with in language class. If the student is starting with no knowledge of the language, we will begin with the alphabet (if applicable) and pronunciation. In the past, I have used flashcards for both Chinese Mandarin and Spanish. The tutoring method also depends upon the learning style of the student.


Education

Northwestern College/Defense Language Institute
Spanish and Chinese

Policies

  • Hourly rate: $45
  • Tutor’s lessons: In-person
  • Travel policy: Within 11 miles of Catonsville, MD 21228
  • Lesson cancellation: 36 hours notice required
  • No background check

  • Your first lesson is backed by our Good Fit Guarantee

Schedule

Elisa hasn’t set a schedule.


Subjects

Corporate Training

Chinese,

Chinese

I have an Associate's Degree in Chinese Mandarin. I have served as a Language Analyst in the Air Force for the last ten years. I am able to transcribe audio, translate written text, write in both traditional and simplified characters, and speak the language. My most recent Defense Language Proficiency Test (DLPT) scores in Chinese Mandarin for listening and reading are a 2+/2+. The test was taken in October 2012.
Spanish

Spanish

I earned my Bachelor's Degree in Spanish from Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minnesota in 2001. In 2004 while studying Chinese, I tutored another student in Spanish. The other student then passed the proficiency test required for the job.

Homeschool

Algebra 1,

Algebra 1

I have tutored math students in elementary school through high school levels. My first tutoring job ever was for an 8th grade student while I was studying Calculus in 12th grade. She was just entering Algebra and needed to be caught up to the rest of the class. I also tutored math students on a volunteer basis from 2003 to 2005. I have also been in charge of my own budget since 1999, and I use math formulas for everyday use.
Spanish,

Spanish

I earned my Bachelor's Degree in Spanish from Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minnesota in 2001. In 2004 while studying Chinese, I tutored another student in Spanish. The other student then passed the proficiency test required for the job.
Prealgebra

Language

Chinese,

Chinese

I have an Associate's Degree in Chinese Mandarin. I have served as a Language Analyst in the Air Force for the last ten years. I am able to transcribe audio, translate written text, write in both traditional and simplified characters, and speak the language. My most recent Defense Language Proficiency Test (DLPT) scores in Chinese Mandarin for listening and reading are a 2+/2+. The test was taken in October 2012.
Spanish

Spanish

I earned my Bachelor's Degree in Spanish from Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minnesota in 2001. In 2004 while studying Chinese, I tutored another student in Spanish. The other student then passed the proficiency test required for the job.

Math

Algebra 1,

Algebra 1

I have tutored math students in elementary school through high school levels. My first tutoring job ever was for an 8th grade student while I was studying Calculus in 12th grade. She was just entering Algebra and needed to be caught up to the rest of the class. I also tutored math students on a volunteer basis from 2003 to 2005. I have also been in charge of my own budget since 1999, and I use math formulas for everyday use.
Prealgebra

Most Popular

Algebra 1,

Algebra 1

I have tutored math students in elementary school through high school levels. My first tutoring job ever was for an 8th grade student while I was studying Calculus in 12th grade. She was just entering Algebra and needed to be caught up to the rest of the class. I also tutored math students on a volunteer basis from 2003 to 2005. I have also been in charge of my own budget since 1999, and I use math formulas for everyday use.
Spanish,

Spanish

I earned my Bachelor's Degree in Spanish from Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minnesota in 2001. In 2004 while studying Chinese, I tutored another student in Spanish. The other student then passed the proficiency test required for the job.
Prealgebra

Summer

Algebra 1,

Algebra 1

I have tutored math students in elementary school through high school levels. My first tutoring job ever was for an 8th grade student while I was studying Calculus in 12th grade. She was just entering Algebra and needed to be caught up to the rest of the class. I also tutored math students on a volunteer basis from 2003 to 2005. I have also been in charge of my own budget since 1999, and I use math formulas for everyday use.
Chinese,

Chinese

I have an Associate's Degree in Chinese Mandarin. I have served as a Language Analyst in the Air Force for the last ten years. I am able to transcribe audio, translate written text, write in both traditional and simplified characters, and speak the language. My most recent Defense Language Proficiency Test (DLPT) scores in Chinese Mandarin for listening and reading are a 2+/2+. The test was taken in October 2012.
Spanish

Spanish

I earned my Bachelor's Degree in Spanish from Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minnesota in 2001. In 2004 while studying Chinese, I tutored another student in Spanish. The other student then passed the proficiency test required for the job.

$45/hour

Elisa S.

$45/hour

  • No subscriptions or upfront payments

  • Only pay for the time you need

  • Find the right fit, or your first hour is free

Contact Elisa