Over 10 tutoring hours

Diane G.

Plymouth, MA


Academic Excellence

In-person lessons
4.8 average from 4 ratings

Message Diane

Send Diane a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Diane or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 2 days
Replies in 2 days

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

West Chester University
elementary education
Temple University


West Chester University (elementary education)

Temple University (Master's)

About Diane

I have owned my own tutoring company since I retired after 25 years of teaching. My background and experience covers a wide range of subject areas and I've had almost 100% success helping the students I work with.

I began my teaching career in 1974, after receiving a B.S. in Elementary Education with a minor in Special Education (K-12). In 1976, I completed my Master's degree in Special Education (moderate learning disabilities). In 1984,became a certified Consulting Teacher of Reading. In addition, for the past 25 years, I have been taking college courses and workshops that have enabled me to stay informed in current educational research and developments.

During my 25 year career, I have worn many hats. I have been an L.D. specialist and resource room teacher, a reading specialist, an enrichment teacher, a classroom consultant, a mentor to new teachers, and have been in classrooms as both a teacher and a consultant in grades 1-8. I have taught MCAS preparation to 3rd, 4th, 7th grades, and 1oth grade remediaton. I have worked with entire classes, small groups, and individual students in many venues.

After retiring 5 years ago, I began tutoring students ranging in age from 7 to 17. During that time, I have worked with students whose issues have been wide ranged, from those with dyslexia or any other deficit for which they have an IEP, to high school students that have failed the MCAS.

When working with a student on an I.E.P.,I interpret testing reports, read current and past I.E.P.'s, and in such cases, incorporate all input to develop an instructional plan supported by parental and current and past teachers' feedback.

I have also worked with students who have study and organizational skill deficits, and based on their history, develop a plan to keep them on track. If I detect an underlying problem, I will make recommendations to the parents concerning things like testing, suggestions for working with the student at home,and consistent communication with the school.

Many parents come to me concerned about their child's progress but are not sure how to address it. I will gather all pertinent information, do a preliminary screening, a few diagnostic sessions, and then make suggestions as how I feel to best address the situation.

I love teaching and tutoring allows me to continue to get the satisfaction of helping students but with a MUCH higher success ratio. I have a great rapport with my students because I truly love what I do. I see the good in all children, and believe in building on the student's strengths. I also try to get them to understand their weaknesses and give them the skills and strategies to overcome them.

I maintain constant contact with the student's parents and teachers. Each lesson is individually planned and evaluated based on the information I get from week to week, in addition to building on previous lessons.

Each student and family is unique in their own way. Allow me to ease some of the stress that led you to contact me.
I have owned my own tutoring company since I retired after 25 years of teaching. My background and experience covers a wide range of subject areas and I've had almost 100% success helping the students I work with.

I began my teaching career in 1974, after receiving a B.S. in Read more

6 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Plymouth, MA 02360
In-person lessons
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary Math
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling,
Study Skills,
Special Needs:
Special Needs
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GRE, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I received my Master's degree in Special Education in 1974. Since then, I've worked with many children who had ADD/ADHD, both diagnosed and undiagnosed. Either way, their educational needs mirror each other, and both require adjustments to address their weaknesses and reinforce their strengths.


Master's in Moderate Special Needs, Elementary Ed. minor Special Education.

Elementary (K-6th)

In addition to having a B.S. in Elementary Education, I also have 25 years of experience in the field. I have taught in self-contained classrooms, have been a reading consultant at the elementary level, as well as a Title I teacher, taught in resource rooms for learning disabled students, worked as an L.D. specialist,and served as a consultant for new teachers. During my teaching career, I set up enrichment programs for all levels in grades 1-5 that crossed all subject areas.

My various positions have required expertise in all subject areas. I have extensive knowledge of the content and teaching of the skills required to pass the MCAS (MA), and have been trained to grade the writing sections. I also have advanced training in Everyday Math, and Guided Reading (Lesley College, Cambridge, MA).

Special Needs

I have a Master's in Special Education. I've taught in resource rooms, inclusion classrooms, team taught to develop instructional modifications to accommodate special learning styles and needs,and have helped write curriculum for special needs.

In addition, I've worked with students with ADD, ADHD and dyslexia. I am very experienced with reading and interpreting IEP's, can help navigate the process of requesting testing by the school system, and will make informal assessments to provide further information to the team. I will attend parent conferences and IEP meetings if needed. If you are unsure if your child has a learning problem, I will provide you with information, and recommendations if he/she is performing poorly in school and will work with classroom teachers and specialists to coordinate my tutoring with what the child is doing in school.


Avid reader thus a great speller, spelling rules for Elementary and compensation for older students.

Study Skills

My credentials include a B.S in Elementary Education, a Master's in Special Education, and certification as a teacher of Reading. I have taught students ranging in age from first grade to high school that have IEP's or simply have difficulty with study skills and organization. The students I've worked who attend both public school and private schools.

For some students, organization and study skills do not come naturally. They may need help with learning how to study, or organizing their school work, using proven techniques to help them master those skills. I will work with both parents and teachers to provide them with the support and structure that are essential to succeeding in school.

West Chester University
elementary education
Temple University


West Chester University (elementary education)

Temple University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Diane will travel within 15 miles of Plymouth, MA 02360.

Background Check Status for Diane G.

Diane G. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Diane, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.