Over 5 tutoring hours

Crystal K.

Methuen, MA

$50/hr

A Fine Artist-Author of an Ebook, and Tutor of Elementary Subject

In-person lessons
Replies in 10 hours
5.0 Avg. Rating
 
 
5 Ratings
 
 
10hrs Response Time
Amazing Tutor
— Andrea, Chelmsford, MA on 6/26/11

Message Crystal

Send Crystal a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Crystal or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Clark University, Worcester MA

Education

Clark University, Worcester MA

About Crystal

I am a homeschooling Mom of 21 years. Oldest son is a Captain in the Air Force, Second son is working on a masters degree in counseling, third son is a business major, fourth son is a student of cooking and fifth child is a daughter getting ready to study hairdressing.

I have a BFA in Graphic Art and Illustration, a lover of collage/mixed media, painting/drawing and photography. I have tutored children from ages 5 up to high school age in my home in drawing, painting, middle school math and middle school English.

I have written my own autobiography in EBook form soon to be posted on the net.

I am a christian woman that loves working with people and children and love sharing my life and my love of learning with students. The use of various curriculums, manipulatives, visuals and audios are what I have used to teach my own children, using various techniques to match with each student's strengths and weaknesses.

Interview me and I am sure you will be pleased on the help and tutoring you will receive.

I am a homeschooling Mom of 21 years. Oldest son is a Captain in the Air Force, Second son is working on a masters degree in counseling, third son is a business major, fourth son is a student of cooking and fifth child is a Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Methuen, MA 01844
In-person lessons

"Amazing Tutor"

- Andrea, Chelmsford, MA on 6/26/11
English:
Bible Studies,
English, Grammar, Proofreading,
Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics,
Reading, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
English, Reading, Study Skills,
Writing
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Bible Studies

I am a christian woman, wife of a pastor and love the word of God. I read and pray daily and study under my own husband as pastor.
I teach mothers, women, and daughters every other month, sharing the word of God and the topics on being a godly woman and mother.

Clarinet

After third grade, I love the flutophone so much that I just wanted to join the band and play the clarinet. I continued playing right up through high school and two years into college.
Self taught, played in the orchestra in high school, picked up the flute and sax as side instruments, and studied basic theory, guitar and piano to use music therapy with clients.

Drawing

Six years old is when I remember drawing cartoons over and over. As I grew up I absolutely loved everything about art and continued drawing and painting. After college, I married and had five children. While having my family, I did some graphics works, restoration of statues for the catholic church, and tutored children in my home in the specialty of drawing and painting. My own personal style involves mixed media and collage combining drawing, and painting. My favorite type of art is abstract but I continue my own studies via the internet studying realism.

Elementary (K-6th)

It has been twenty one years now that I have homeschooled my five children. Homeschooling is tutoring each child individually, using various curriculum and changing curriculum depending on strengths or weakness of the student and helping them accomplish what is needed for their education.

I have tutored other children in my home ranging from K-middle schooled children in the areas of art, English and math. Teaching children through their difficulties is extremely rewarding and being a mother myself, a tutor needs to be trusted, and I think I am that woman.

General Music

Studied Music Therapy at Emmanuel College in Boston and that is where I had the basics of music theory.

I played the clarinet from fourth grade to college and played classical and jazz along with tapping into the flute and sax a bit. Piano and guitar were minor instruments in college.

I attend concerts with my husband that are Big Band and Brass Band Music.

Classical Music is my favorite and my teens keep me updated with music.

I have been a homeschooling mom for over 21 years and have done music appreciation, studies in the masters of music, and have attended various musicals.

Painting

Abstract painting with acrylics, oils and water colors are my favorite mediums and style, but I myself am continuing my education online with professional teachers to learn realism and become more proficient in realistic techniques. I implement painting into collage and mixed media, and I can teach you too to implement various mediums into your paintings.

I have taught my five children art and have tutored children throughout my life, in my home, the basics and principles of using techniques, mediums and styles from abstract to realism.

Phonics

One Hundred Easy Lessons is the main curriculum I have used with my five children. I have homeschooled all of my children and I was their teacher; their reading teacher. After trying and using various phonic curricula, I was able to use phonics with each child along with a pad of paper, a pencil and readers. That simple! My oldest son is a Captain in the Air Force (he attended the Air Force Academy), my second son is working on his masters in counseling, my third son is studying business, my fourth son is still being homeschooled and is studying cooking to become a chef and my fifth child is being homeschooled.

Check me out as a teacher. I think you will be pleasantly pleased.

Proofreading

I love proofreading and editing. It is a passion for me. I have found many errors in text books, magazines, novels and ebooks. I think editing has played a large role in homeschooling my children, correcting all of their English papers and reports. I also corrected court documents for a typist years ago for the Worcester Court House. Even after writing my own ebook, and having a professional editor correct it, I still found errors.

Study Skills

After attending college myself for 5 1/2 years, graduating with a Bachelor of Fine Arts, homeschooling my five children, working and tutoring children K-middle school, continuing my own education in the arts, and teaching bible studies to women and daughters; I have studied for 3/4 of my life. I feel that if your children can read, write and research/study, they can do anything they put their hearts to.

There are many ways to study, and I can work with your child, learning what their strengths and weaknesses are and work with them individually with their needs which will encourage them to continue and excel!

Clark University, Worcester MA

Education

Clark University, Worcester MA

Amazing Tutor — Crystal is one of the best teachers i have ever had in my whole life, she takes the time to get to know you and associates lessons with things that you like to make it more interesting, she loves art and she inspires me to take art into my own hands such as things she teaches me and graphic design. She is amazing, I suggest her to anyone that wants to learn art. ...

— Andrea, Chelmsford, MA on 6/26/11

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Crystal will travel within 10 miles of Methuen, MA 01844.

Background Check Status for Crystal K.

Crystal K. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Crystal, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.