Divya D.

Lexington, MA


SAT/ SAT Subject/ General Math & English Tutoring

In-person lessons
Replies after +3 days
5.0 Avg. Rating
1 Ratings
3+ days Response Time

Message Divya

Send Divya a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Divya or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Johns Hopkins University


Johns Hopkins University

About Divya

On with the introduction! My name is Divya, and I have to say that I’m a miscellaneous sort of girl. I’m an artist. I like writing, drawing, designing, decorating, dancing, beading, and drawing mustaches on my friends when they’re caught unaware. I like arguing and debating. I’m a closet philosopher. I like robots and technology. Neurology and psychology fascinate me to no end. I want to work in the field of medicine one day. If you explain physics to me nicely, I’ll get hooked (but I still can’t understand how there are apparently hypothetical 11 dimensional universes…). I can go on for hours talking about all things Harry Potter. I’m a brown belt in tae kwon do. V for Vendetta and Shrek are two of my favorite movies. And no matter how much I gripe, I secretly enjoy math puzzles.

Moreover, I love teaching and inspiring others. I have tutored high school freshmen in the following subjects: Algebra, Geometry, Spanish, Essay Writing, English vocabulary, Earth Science. I have helped out at a local day camp for children as an aide/ assistant counselor in math and art programs. I also have founded and run Medical Club at my high school. I plan to offer my SAT tutoring services in the future.

My official SAT scores are as follows:
2400 SAT I
800 Math II
780 Chemistry
790 Biology
On with the introduction! My name is Divya, and I have to say that I’m a miscellaneous sort of girl. I’m an artist. I like writing, drawing, designing, decorating, dancing, beading, and drawing mustaches on my friends when they’re Read more

10 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Lexington, MA 02421
In-person lessons
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra,
Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math,
ACT English, English, Grammar, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, English, Geometry, Prealgebra,
Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math,
SAT Reading, Spanish, Study Skills,
Test Preparation:
ACT English, PSAT, SAT Math,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have worked in the Russian School of Math as a tutor for children of ages 6-16. There, I helped them with prealgebra problems and solving equations. I have also worked at math programs at a local day camp where I provided similar help to children in grades 6-7.

SAT Math

I have an SAT score of 800 in Math I and 800 in Math II. I found that traditional SAT prep courses did not help me as much as I thought they would, which is why I worked out a strategy of my own. Challenging myself further than what the SAT required proved to be what I needed.

Study Skills

In the past, I have served as a mentor for middle-schoolers. My responsibility mainly consisted of helping them to organize their materials, manage their time, and set/achieve goals. Learning these skills on my own helped to cement them in my own teaching.

Johns Hopkins University


Johns Hopkins University

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $25.00

Cancellation: 10 hours notice required

Travel policy

Divya will travel within 10 miles of Lexington, MA 02421.

Background Check Status for Divya D.

Divya D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Divya, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.