Jake G.

Boston, MA


Tutoring for Life and Career

In-person lessons
Replies in 3 days
Background check passed as of 4/29/14

Message Jake

Send Jake a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jake or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of New Hampshire


University of New Hampshire (English)

About Jake

I have spent most of my life studying the English language and all of its applications. This studying has included earning my BA in English from the University of New Hampshire as well as attending summer sessions at the University of Cambridge, Gonville and Caius College. Currently, I am an administrator at Harvard's Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. I can help you learn to read and evaluate literature, develop response essays, compose cover letters, and many other English-based tasks. Aside from English, I am also well-versed in cooking (having begun to learn at the age of eight), budget management, and any number of life skills needed for successful independent living.

My tutoring experience at the college level was primarily working with other English students as part of my duties as an editor for UNH's Sandpaper Magazine. It was my job to work with an assigned author in order to shape and edit pieces of non-fiction that were being considered for publication so that it would be ready for a wider audience. I did this work for two years. Aside from that, I was also enrolled in several writing workshop courses where I demonstrated the ability to listen to the concerns and questions of an author in order to provide specific feedback before offering my own insights. My writing skills for fiction allowed me to win the Richard M. Ford Writing Award for the 2011 school year.

Working with younger students is something I am completely ready to do. I taught CCD for two years to seventh and eighth grade students in my hometown, and I was also a summer camp counselor for third grade students. My other experience working with youth was as a Troop Leader for my Boy Scout troop. I rose through the ranks to become a leader for the younger members of my troop, teaching them everything from how to survive in cold weather scenarios to how to better serve their communities.

On a more personal note, I was diagnosed with ADD at a very early age, so I have a complete appreciation for students who may suffer from learning disabilities. I can recall my own strategies and methods for overcoming difficulties while utilizing newer insights that I have learned as I have gotten older.

My first lesson for any student is free and can be for up to three hours on weekends or two on weeknights. This first lesson is so that the student and I can map out fully (or as much as possible) the trajectory of the tutoring process while also getting to know each other. I am available for both on-off help as well as long-term arrangements.
I have spent most of my life studying the English language and all of its applications. This studying has included earning my BA in English from the University of New Hampshire as well as attending summer sessions at the University Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Boston, MA 02113
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Public Speaking
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, Study Skills,
Fitness, Poker
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have been learning to cook since I was about eight years old. I have experience cooking with many different ingredients from many ethnic cuisines, and I'm also well-versed in cooking on a budget while staying health conscious. Some of my favorite dishes to prepare are risotto, chicken and dumpling soup, guacamole, and braciole.


I received a minor in Cinema Studies from the University of New Hampshire. I have written several essays on film ranging from race to post-war disillusionment. My main area of focus is noir and neo-noir.

Study Skills

I successfully balanced my school and personal life in both college and high school so that I was able to graduate from both institutions with honors. The most important part of developing study skills is to learn how to prioritize while also keeping in mind personal limitations of stress. Another important part of developing better study skills was to learn how to utilize resources, both individuals and electronic, to better understand material.

University of New Hampshire


University of New Hampshire (English)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $15.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jake will travel within 15 miles of Boston, MA 02113.

Background Check Status for Jake G.

Jake G. passed a background check on 4/29/14. The check was ordered by Jake through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Jake, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.