Ashley W.

Lexington, KY


Ashley Lenora W

In-person lessons


Send a message explaining your needs and Ashley will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Ashley

University of Kentucky
Secondary English Ed


University of Kentucky (Secondary English Ed)

About Ashley

I just graduated from the University of Kentucky with two majors (Secondary English Education and English) and a minor (Classics) as well as graduating from the Honors program. I love language and literature and have since childhood. That love has grown into a love of teaching and working with students.

I enjoy helping students to find themselves and realize that they are capable of much more than they may expect. I worked with one girl for several years and it was a pleasure to watch her gain confidence in herself and her abilities. When I began working with her she was barely passing her classes and felt incapable of succeeding. She was soon able to work confidently on her own, successfully writing a paper and receiving an A on it rather than feeling that she could not succeed. Additionally I had the amazing opportunity to work with several classes of high school students, helping them to improve their research papers on an individual basis. By the time that they finished, not only had their work improved, but they were more confident in their abilities. I also spent a semester observing and working with students in a high school classroom during my time at the University of Kentucky due to my major in Secondary English Education.

I am an avid reader, am familiar with the English and Reading portions of the ACT and GRE. I also took AP Language and Composition and AP Literature and am familiar with the exams. I love grammar. I love working out how everything fits together and the way that this is able to work to improve one's writing. I have proofread the papers of friends and of younger students for years, enjoying the ability to help them succeed.

I absolutely love working with students and hope to have the opportunity to work with you and help you to succeed!
I just graduated from the University of Kentucky with two majors (Secondary English Education and English) and a minor (Classics) as well as graduating from the Honors program. I love Read more

Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Lexington, KY 40502
In-person lessons
Test Preparation:
ACT English,
ACT Reading
Elementary Education:

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT English

I took the ACT English section multiple times and scored in the 30s when I did so. I understand the content because of my English degree. It was my favorite section of the ACT.

ACT Reading

When I took the ACT I scored in the 30s on the reading section. My voracious appetite for books has lead me to be able to read and understand passages easily. This understanding is one that I love helping others to achieve as reading has been such an important part of my life.


I majored in English and the University of Kentucky as well as in Secondary English Education. I have also tutored in the subject before. My love of the language has led me to read a great deal which leads to a deep understanding of the workings of English.


I have always been fascinated by the way that languages work. I love looking at the way that language is put together and the way that one's understanding of the structure can improve one's writing. I have also taken several semesters of Latin, which requires a solid understanding of grammar, as well as several Linguistic courses.


As an avid reader, I have grown up on literature. I read everything from Tolstoy's Anna Karenina (one of my favorite novels) and Mansfield Park to science fiction and fantasy. My degree in English has led to me read a great variety of classic literature and other novels that have shaped human understanding of the world.


I spent a great deal of time working with my high school English teacher as a senior and for several years after graduation, learning to quickly and accurately proofread papers and then helping her to do so. Because of this, I have proofread countless papers and have had a great deal of practice in helping others to improve their writing. I also enjoy proofreading and proofread my friends papers all the way through college.


One of the best ways to learn new words is to read and that is something that I do every change that I get and have done since I was a child. My background in other languages including Spanish and Latin also help my vocabulary. Latin is particularly helpful because, even though English is a Germanic language, many of our words have Latin roots so I am often able to figure out the meaning of a word even if it is one with which I am not familiar.

University of Kentucky
Secondary English Ed


University of Kentucky (Secondary English Ed)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $50.00

Travel policy

Ashley will travel within 20 miles of Lexington, KY 40502.