Fiona M.

Lafayette, IN


Experienced and Knowledgeable Graduate Student

50+ Hours
Background check passed as of 10/13/14
5.0 average from 22 ratings
Very Patient!
— Lupe, El Paso, TX on 3/4/14


Send a message explaining your needs and Fiona will reply soon.

Response time: 1 hour

Contact Fiona

University of Cincinnati
Intl. Affairs
Ohio University


University of Cincinnati (Intl. Affairs)

Ohio University (Enrolled)

About Fiona

Hi! I'm Fiona. I'm currently a graduate student studying for my M.A. in political science, and in the course of my long (nearly 10 year) career as a tutor, have worked with students of all ages and educational levels. I first began tutoring in college, starting with high school French students, before spending a year in Austin, Texas, teaching ESL for various non-profits. I additionally worked for a small tutoring center, where I tutored everything from biology to SAT prep, for students ranging from elementary school to high schoolers.
After moving to El Paso, Texas (the joys of being a military spouse!), I continued working with students, particularly adults, in the areas of ASVAB, TOEFL, and GED prep, while simultaneously working with both middle and high school level aged students in any and every topic. I was additionally offered a miltiary contract to teach French, and though that opportunity ultimately fell through, I believe that speaks both to my level of professionalism and expertise in tutoring.
I truly enjoy teaching. I believe that all students are capable of achieving the results they seek, and that difficulties often arise when students aren't given adequate time at school or simply need someone who can more easily relate to the difficulties of achieving results in a new language (I grew up in a French/English household, and picked up Spanish when I studied in Santiago, Chile, as a high schooler). I prioritize evaluating each student's needs, finding material relevant to their goals and educational requirements, and following through post-exam/class to ensure my time as a tutor was succesful. I look forward to meeting you and helping you achieve the results you deserve.
Hi! I'm Fiona. I'm currently a graduate student studying for my M.A. in political science, and in the course of my long (nearly 10 year) career as a tutor, have worked with students of all ages and educational levels. I first began tutoring in college, starting with high school French students, before spending a year in Austin, Texas, teaching ESL Read more

8 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Lafayette, IN 47909
Background Check: Passed

"Very Patient!"

- Lupe, El Paso, TX on 3/4/14
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Geometry, Microsoft Excel, Statistics
Archaeology, Biology, Chemistry, Elementary Science, Nutrition, Philosophy
ACT English,
ACT Reading, Bible Studies,
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature,
Proofreading, Reading,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English,
ACT Reading, ASVAB,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, STAAR, TAKS, TOEFL
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Windows
TOEFL, Writing
American History, Archaeology, Geography, Government & Politics, Religion,
Social Studies,
World History, Writing
Special Needs:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Phonics, Reading,
Study Skills
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading,
Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary, Writing
Microsoft Excel, Writing

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT English

I've worked with several students on their ACT prep, both privately and through tutoring agencies. Additionally, I scored rather highly on the ACT myself and am confident in my ability to transfer those skills to my students.


I've worked as an ASVAB tutor for over 2 years and have helped many of my students successfully pass the exam and achieve good results.

Bible Studies

I spent several years regularly attending a Christian church and am very familiar with what the Bible itself says as well as what Christianity teaches. I have read through the Bible in its entirety, and I have taken several comparative religion classes. I have also previously tutored students in Bible Studies and have helped a few write papers regarding different aspects of Christianity.

Elementary (K-6th)

I've tutored elementary level students for about 3 years now, helping them finish their homework in various subjects and providing further explanations where needed. I've also used reading books, singing songs, and playing games to help my students learn different subjects, including reading, math, and foreign language. I also have experience in a more formalized bilingual childcare setting, using art projects and games to help kindergarten-aged children learn colors and letters, as well as using worksheets to help them learn to write their letters and names.

Elementary Math

I have worked with elementary-level schoolchildren on many math levels, from first through middle school, including students with learning differences.


I spent a year living in Austin, teaching ESL to Hispanic mothers through a non-profit called Avance. I designed the curriculum myself, as well as implemented it and followed up with individual student testing at the end of the year. I also taught ESL for a non-profit in Austin called El Buen Samaritano, where I worked with students from all over the world.


I was raised in a bilingual household, and I grew up speaking both English and French. I spent much of my summers as a kid in the Francophone world, allowing me to be quite knowledgeable about the culture, as well as obtaining a vast collection of French novels, which I enjoy on my off time. My grammatical skills were reinforced by my mother, who is a qualified high school French teacher.


I have taught GED in Spanish for a local church group and have a lot of experience helping my students prep for various standardized tests (ACT, GED, ASVAB).


I've taken several English literature courses throughout my undergraduate career (as well as AP English literature in high school, on which I scored a 4 on the final exam). I have additionally helped several students through both high school and college level English literature classes.


I spent about 8 years taking piano lessons from differing teachers. As such, I've been exposed to different curriculum and have learned which works well according to age and proficiency level. I've given many recitals and have been exposed to many different types of piano music as well.


I'm currently in the middle of my M.A. program in Political Science, which involves an enormous amount of reading and writing about highly technical issues. I've scored very highly on the GRE areas of qualitative and essay writing, and am confident in my ability to help my students achieve these same skills.


I have tutored students in Bible studies in the past and helped students write comparative religion essays. I took several classes on these topics in college and the subject continues to fascinate me. As such, I do a lot of personal research on these topics and consider myself well versed. Furthermore, I have read both the Bible and the Koran in their entirety.

Social Studies

I took AP American government in high school and majored in international affairs in college. As such, I had to have a solid foundation of basic philosophical ideas concerning government as well as American government and politics. I have tutored students in these subject areas and continue to follow the daily news of our country.


My Spanish experience began when I lived abroad in Santiago, Chile as a 16 year old for 6 months. I minored in Spanish in college before moving to Austin where I worked in bilingual classrooms with children and mothers. Since moving to El Paso I have tutored several children with predominately Spanish speaking families and have never had any issues communicating with them, as well as briefly teaching a Spanish GED class for a local El Pasoan church.

Study Skills

I've worked with students in the past to better help them get situated and organized. Often, students may need help putting together a planner or a time line of how to accomplish a specific project or study for a final. Giving students a step-by-step way of getting work done is the first step in the process.

University of Cincinnati
Intl. Affairs
Ohio University


University of Cincinnati (Intl. Affairs)

Ohio University (Enrolled)

Very Patient!

I recommend Fiona for tutoring. She is very patient and efficient. She always helps my son finish his work. She also knows 3 languages.

— Lupe, El Paso, TX on 3/4/14

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Travel policy

Fiona will travel within 15 miles of Lafayette, IN 47909.