NEW FEATURES MORE

Over 50 tutoring hours

Charles H.

Indianapolis, IN

$40/hour

Math Tutor for All Ages

4.9 average from 24 ratings
Outstanding tutor!
— Jenny, Indianapolis, IN on 11/22/16

Message Charles

Send Charles a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Charles or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 9 minutes
Replies in 9 minutes

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

IUPUI
Mathematics

Education

IUPUI (Mathematics)

About Charles

I have a degree in actuarial sciences and have a strong background in tutoring statistics, algebra, and general mathematics for the last fifteen years. I am also a certified substitute teacher and work with Franklin Township Middle Schools and the High School. Since high school, I have had a fondness for being able to talk to others about math and explain and pass along understanding that the teachers were unable to accomplish. I have experience with kids as young as eight to college students taking college algebra and higher courses.

I have now tutored almost a dozen people through WyzAnt, primarily in Algebra I & II, with a very high success rate. All students who began with F's in math who have worked with me at least five sessions have had their grade raised to at least a B, if not higher. I've found the best way of tutoring is getting to know the individual and then explaining concepts in a manner that is best suited toward them learning. I have a twelve year old daughter, so I know the virtues of being patient and understanding.

I get the most enjoyment from helping people not only understand what they couldn't before, but I also love to plant appreciation for knowledge in the mind. My ultimate goal for any of my students is to not only get them caught up and understand material from class, but to get to where we work ahead of the class schedule so their confidence level while in school increases.

In many cases, I offer a free 15-30 minute meet and greet so that you are able to ask more questions, and we can get a feel if I would be a good fit for the student.
I have a degree in actuarial sciences and have a strong background in tutoring statistics, algebra, and general mathematics for the last fifteen years. I am also Read more

Policies
Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Indianapolis, IN 46239
Background Check: Passed

"Outstanding tutor!"

- Jenny, Indianapolis, IN on 11/22/16

"Excellent Tutor"

- Darrien, Indianapolis, IN on 8/13/16

"Thank You!"

- Kristin, Franklin, IN on 4/25/16

"100% Pleased!"

- Cherie, Indianapolis, IN on 3/14/16
Math:
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Calculus, Elementary Math,
Geometry, Logic,
Prealgebra,
SAT Math
Test Preparation:
SAT Math
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

I was skipped ahead in math classes in elementary school to Algebra I two years ahead of my peers. I helped tutor middle school kids in the class during that time period. More recently, I have worked with two other students from WyzAnt in this subject.

Algebra 2

I am currently tutoring three students in this subject. One of them has raised his homework and test scores from F's to B's in less than a week of working together with me.

Elementary Math

I tutored my own daughter in math from third through fifth grade. Her grades prior to my help were in the C- to C range. Her understanding of material has grown to where she needs help only once or twice a month now and maintains a B or higher average.

Logic

I took multiple classes throughout high school and college centered around Logic as well as an independent study. During those classes, I helped fellow classmates with understanding of logistical processes. Grades for those classes were an A, and every person I assisted went up by at least one letter grade from the midterm.

Prealgebra

I finished every math and Algebra class with a 98% or higher while in school. I have tutored my brother, fellow classmates, my neighbor's grandchildren, and my wife. Of all the courses in school, I have always had a deep fondness for pre-algebra as it sets up a potential love and understanding of math for years to come.

SAT Math

I scored a 710 on my Math SAT in my junior year without having taken the pre-SAT. Since that time, I have taken over a dozen further mathematics courses. I assisted my brother with his preparation for his SATs, and he completed at a 700 without a strong math background.

IUPUI
Mathematics

Education

IUPUI (Mathematics)

Outstanding tutor! — Charles H. has been a blessing for us. Our daughter was in serious trouble in her 7th grade pre-algebra class. We stumbled across Charles and we couldnt be more pleased. He has been on time and like a beam of sunlight for our daughter. She connected with Charles right off the get go and had immediate results in class which has refleced in her grades. We couldnt recommend him more. He is outstandin ...

— Jenny, Indianapolis, IN on 11/22/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Charles will travel within 15 miles of Indianapolis, IN 46239.