Over 200 tutoring hours

Abigail E.

Fort Wayne, IN


Spanish, Fine Arts, and English Tutor

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 5/12/14
5.0 average from 64 ratings
Fantastic Results
— Chris, Fort Wayne, IN on 10/11/13

Message Abigail

Send Abigail a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Abigail or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 8 hours
Replies in 8 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Concordia University Chicago


Concordia University Chicago (Spanish)

About Abigail


I am a right brained individual with a Bachelors Degree in Spanish and an Art minor. I'm hoping to work with anyone who would like help with the following subjects: Spanish, English, writing essays and papers, Study habits, Art (drawing, painting, ceramics), Violin and Vocal technique!
I love all of the above areas of study and would be delighted to expand your love for them as well!

Hope to see you soon!

I am a right brained individual with a Bachelors Degree in Spanish and an Art minor. I'm hoping to work with anyone who would like help with the following subjects: Spanish, Read more

3 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Fort Wayne, IN 46845
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Fantastic Results"

- Chris, Fort Wayne, IN on 10/11/13

"Very Helpful!"

- Amy, Fort Wayne, IN on 6/5/14

"Fantastic tutor"

- Nicole, Huntertown, IN on 2/25/14

"Abigail is the best!"

- Carmen, Uniondale, IN on 1/30/14
Elementary Math
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Vocabulary, Writing
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
ESL/ESOL, Spanish
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading,
Study Skills,
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading,
Study Skills,
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I was an art minor in undergrad and continue taking university art classes for fun now that I've graduated. I have taught drawing to kids 8-14 during the summers at a camp. If you have concerns I would be more than happy to show you some of my portfolio.


As with drawing, I took classes in painting during my undergrad to fulfill an art minor. Painting is a hobby of mine and I deal in acrylics, watercolor, and oils. As always, if there is further concern I would be more than happy to show you some of my portfolio.

Public Speaking

I enjoy public speaking, partly because of my love for drama. I received excellent marks on all of my required speeches for classes over the years including during my undergrad studies. I also received an award in high school for a speech I composed and delivered. Speeches and public speaking can be invigorating and a wonderful way to communicate if the deliverer is well acquainted with the art. I hope to help students achieve that goal.


As part of my B.A. in Spanish I took a linguistics class which deals heavily in phonetics-the basis of reading. I have always enjoyed reading and so am passionate about empowering children to love the world of literature as well. It is wonderful to teach young children anything because they are still discovering things we take for granted in life and find such enjoyment in it.


I hold a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish and am a Spanish/English medical interpreter. As part of my undergraduate studies I spent five months studying at the University of Granada, Spain, completing 19 credits of Spanish course work during that time. I am fluent in Spanish and am a native English speaker.

Study Skills

My study habits have been in place since my freshman year of high school when my schedule was booked with 13 hours of school and extra-curricular activities. I earned a 3.85 GPA in high school and graduated from undergrad Suma Cum Laude. When I studied at the University of Granada, Spain I was in the top 5% of my class. These accomplishments would be impossible with out my strong study habits and organizational skills.


I began private violin lessons in fourth grade at 9 years of age. Those lessons have continued for the past 13 years through high school and undergraduate studies. I received high marks for all my end-of-semester juries during undergrad and frequently play for services at St. Paul's Church. Violin can be difficult but with patience, and enthusiasm it can also be a wonderful niche for creative expression.

Voice (Music)

I love singing and have been involved in choir since I was 6 years old. My mother went to St Olaf college for music education and was a strong influence and source of knowledge during my adolescent years. During my undergraduate studies I was a member of the university's top touring choir for which I performed solos during concerts. I took private vocal lessons at the university during the majority of my undergrad studies.

Concordia University Chicago


Concordia University Chicago (Spanish)

Fantastic Results — My son started working with Abigail after the third week of his freshman year in College Spanish 1. He has always struggled with language and did not take Spanish in high school. We knew if he didn't get help he would likely fail the class (and potentially have to change majors due to the foreign language requirement). Having worked with Abigail for four weeks, his grade has improved to an A- ...

— Chris, Fort Wayne, IN on 10/11/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $55.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Abigail will travel within 10 miles of Fort Wayne, IN 46845.

Background Check Status for Abigail E.

Abigail E. passed a background check on 5/12/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Abigail, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.