Suhail T.

Northbrook, IL


Multi-Subject Tutor from England with a great sense of humour

In-person lessons

Message Suhail

Send Suhail a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Suhail or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 2 days
Replies in 2 days

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

King's College of the University of London


King's College of the University of London

About Suhail

I have lived in the United States since 2000. I have a double major in Politics & History, with a minor in philosophy from the University of London. I also have a diploma in Accounting.

A bit about myself. I am 42 years old and prior to moving to the USA I lived in over 20 countries and visited a few more. The regions that I have resided in are Europe, Northern Africa, Mid-East, South Asia, the Far East, and New Zealand (where I was prior to moving to the USA). Within the United States I have lived in New York City, Florida, California, and here in Illinois.

My passions (as it were) are politics, sociology, and history, with geography thrown into the mix. At University the course structure that I did was very popular. For 80 spaces there were over 200 applicants, so there was an interview process. When I was asked why I wanted to study this course, I stated that I wanted to learn how politicians operate - meaning that politics is all action and politicians use history to justify their actions and then use philosophy to make their actions all warm and fuzzy. I guess the interviewing professors really liked the answer as I was chosen to be one of the lucky 80 students.

I want to assure parents that I am a very patient tutor who really enjoys teaching people about world geography, sociology, and history, without making them feel unintelligent. My method is simple. I use a globe or world map to discuss not only geography but history and politics. Another subject I love to teach is my native language, English.

I make my sessions a fun experience, and not a "mom/dad do I REALLY have to do this?" session. I did some tutoring while at a Summer Camp in 1990 (when I was a University student) in upstate New York. History is a wonderful subject - as the saying goes "how do know where you are going if you do not know where you have come from?"
I have lived in the United States since 2000. I have a double major in Politics & History, with a minor in philosophy from the University of London. I also have a diploma in Read more

2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Northbrook, IL 60062
In-person lessons
English, ESL/ESOL,
Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary
American History, European History, Geography, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL,
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have taught ESL to students whilst at University in London (UK). I have the patience and understanding of dealing with different cultures and races. I have also taught English to Japanese adults in Auckland, New Zealand for one year.


I have traveled to over 21 countries throughout the world, and having lived in most of them. From Canada (going east) to Europe, Asia and New Zealand. I have observed Sociology from the ground up. I have interacted with people who have immense wealth to those that are well below the poverty line. I find it fascinating how wealth and family life (or lack of) is handled in the "West" whilst lack of wealth seems to bond family life in the "developing" countries. I studied sociology as part of my politics and philosophy degrees. What I can I offer is my own sociological experiences having lived in one of the two most cosmopolitan cities in the world, London (the other being New York City).

King's College of the University of London


King's College of the University of London

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Suhail will travel within 40 miles of Northbrook, IL 60062.

Background Check Status for Suhail T.

Suhail T. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Suhail, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.