Over 20 tutoring hours

Steve P.

Elgin, IL


Building confidence is one of the keys to learning.

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 4/30/11
4.9 average from 12 ratings
Excellent ESL Tutor
— Joy, Deerfield, IL on 1/25/13


Send a message explaining your needs and Steve will reply soon.

Response time: 10 minutes

Contact Steve

North Park University, Chicago, IL
Music Business
Tiffin University of Ohio


North Park University, Chicago, IL (Music Business)

Tiffin University of Ohio (Master's)

About Steve


I'm an experienced private tutor and could help with a variety of subjects such as history, philosophy, psychology, music, and humanities. My specialty is conversational English for shy, introverted people of all ages who need special attention with pronunciation, vocabulary, and proper grammar. I have coached Japanese businessmen in conversational English to build confidence with proper pronunciation. I’m a proven proofreader in the corporate world with a 99.9% accuracy rating. I am able to help proofread and suggest changes to written papers in order to make them more concise for the reader.

As a undergraduate student, I studied music theory and aural skills. I have relative perfect pitch and can listen to a piece of music and make suggestions on dynamics and phrasing. I can coach a music student by listening to their playing and make suggestions on how to improve their stage presence, especially in a competitive environment.

I also have a minor degree in physical education and can coach students in health and fitness. I’m a seasoned tennis player who can assist anyone that would like to learn to play tennis and better their game. I have also played competitive baseball and can teach anyone to hit live pitching,fielding,and speed training.

In closing, I believe most learning is 80% attitude and 20% aptitude. I can tutor and coach on both. I can help build the confidence of the student by continually monitoring their progress, affirming their successes, and motivate them to be their very best.

I'm an experienced private tutor and could help with a variety of subjects such as history, philosophy, psychology,
Read more

1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 12 miles of Elgin, IL 60124
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Excellent ESL Tutor"

- Joy, Deerfield, IL on 1/25/13

"You will be pleased with his knowledge and teaching skills"

- Svitlana, Wheeling, IL on 10/5/12

"Great Help with Organizational Needs"

- Mark, Chicago, IL on 5/6/12
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary
Test Preparation:
Career Development,
SAT Writing
General Computer, Microsoft PowerPoint
Government & Politics, Social Studies
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Career Development,
Microsoft PowerPoint

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


My baseball experience begins in high school where I made the starting roster out of 200 young men trying out. I worked at becoming the fastest runner on the team, which I had to work very hard in doing. I ran around the bases in 18.2 seconds and from home to first base in 4.9 seconds. Currently, I play 12" softball in an ASA league and continue to use baseball fundamentals.


I'm a Certified Personal Trainer with the American Council on Exercise. I can teach Functional Training and Traditional Strength Training in a gym or at a home gym.
I've won the Get Fit 90-Day Challenge at X-Sport Fitness and understand what non-fitness types go through to establish a fitness plan.

Career Development

Career planning is a process of understanding oneself, exploring career options, making wise decisions and moving forward. What complicates it is that people, careers and organizations are constantly changing. I would be able to assist with career planning for students who are contemplating choosing a career path. This can be done through several online surveys that I have used and recommend and also share through my personal experience through research.


I've been a private chef specializing in Mediterranean cuisine with an added emphasis in heart-healthy cooking. I can meal plan based on dietary needs and preferences. I have experience using delicate phyllo dough in the preparation of pastries and hor dourves for parties. I can help train anyone who would like to add this expertise in their foreign repertoire.


Being born of immigrant parents, I understand the challenges of foreign speakers learning English. As a native English speaker, I've often coached and corrected broken English in the home at a very early age. After college, I've tutored Japanese businessmen in conversational English until the 2011 earthquake hit off the port of Oarai,Ibaraki where I lost all contact with my students. I would like to continue tutoring in ESL/ESOL privately, especially one-on-one with particularly shy or introverted students who rather avoid the sometimes embarrassing classroom setting or would like to supplement their learning with a tutor. I have excellent material that I use from full-time ESL/ESOL teachers. I can assist with idioms, urban vernacular, as well, as corporate jargon.


I've formally studied classical guitar using the Aaron Shearer instructional book series. This method instructs students how to sight-read music. I can teach beginners simple chord progressions, major/minor scales, arpeggios, legato. I have also studied flamenco guitar at the American Conservatory of Music in Chicago under Tom O'Callahan. My recordings can be heard on mp3 by request.

Social Studies

Social studies is the "integrated study of the social sciences and humanities to promote civic competence," as defined by the American National Council for the Social Studies. As a Graduate degree candidate of the Humanities, I have subject matter expertise in the area of social studies. By contrast with sociology, social studies courses often consist of a general and opinion-led discussion of topics without reference to academic theorists or research.
This is also holds true for the interdisciplinary courses for the Humanities student. I can help a student think critically about society using the tools of reasoning and debate.

Study Skills

Learning depends on the cognitive processes that drive organization, planning and rule acquisition. When students struggle with organization and study skills, they are often disorganized, have difficulty planning ahead, don’t follow through on expected tasks, and/or give up on tasks easily. I have my own methods that work and allowed me to manage my time, and maintain a 4.0 GPA in graduate school while working full-time.


I was a captain of the varsity swim team and also a manager of the women's varsity swim team. I have placed in the top ten city-wide championships in Chicago. I have received my life-saving certification and have been a professional lifeguard at the University summer program. The swim strokes I can teach are free-style, butterfly, back stroke, and breast stroke. I can teach swimming fundamentals for anyone who would like to learn to swim.


I'm a formally trained, highly experienced, award-winning tennis champion ready to work as a tennis instructor for adults and children. I can communicate well with students at all levels, and I'm able to teach basic skills, supervise, and organize summer tournaments.

North Park University, Chicago, IL
Music Business
Tiffin University of Ohio


North Park University, Chicago, IL (Music Business)

Tiffin University of Ohio (Master's)

Excellent ESL Tutor — Steve did an excellent job in tutoring our employee from Vietnam. His lessons were well thought out and well presented and our employee's English improved markedly. Steve is both conscientious and reliable and I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of an English as a Second Language tutor. ...

— Joy, Deerfield, IL on 1/25/13

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $49.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Steve will travel within 12 miles of Elgin, IL 60124.