Over 10 tutoring hours

Michael C.

Chicago, IL


Global Studies, Psychology, Statistics, Writing, Biology, Exam Prep

In-person lessons
Replies in 53 minutes
Background check passed as of 4/25/13
5.0 Avg. Rating
2 Ratings
53mins Response Time
Great tutor!
— Sarah, Hinsdale, IL on 5/13/14

Message Michael

Send Michael a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Michael or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

DePaul University
In the China


DePaul University

In the China (Master's)

About Michael

Dear potential student,

I have experience tutoring friends and colleagues, as well as tutoring students and at-risk youth both in the United States and abroad (e.g., Rio de Janeiro, Brazil). I take a tutoring approach that helps mold the student's thought processes in a fashion that will allow them to think most effectively and efficiently about a subject matter and attack relevant challenges. I take a principle-based a approach that enables students to try out a couple of different methods and select the method of study/approach for a subject/problem that best suits their learning style. Once a student understands principles, they have the freedom of selecting the method/approach that works best for them. I have training in psychology, biology and research and have a strong academic background. I am familiar with applied mathematics and have a long history of being a useful resource for friends and colleagues.

As far as academic credentials, I have a Bachelor's of Science in psychology and Minor in biology from DePaul University of Chicago and a Master's of Arts in psychology from the Chicago School of Professional Psychology, where I earned a 4.0 GPA. I love statistics and science and am familiar with college admissions processes and earned a 5.5/6 on the writing section of the GRE. Thus, I am good at deconstructing subjects and topics into their constituent parts and delivering information in an effective and digestible way. Furthermore, I am familiar with working with students of all age groups and academic and intellectual levels. I am at ease when teaching.

I have a significant history of working in the medical field (i.e., an environment that requires extreme attention to detail). Thus, I am prepared to instill the importance of attention to detail and need for precision communication in my students. I also have relevant business experience and feel comfortable advising students on any matters related to career choices.

I invite you to message me if you have any additional questions.

I look forward to helping you help yourself. Education is key.


Dear potential student,

I have experience tutoring friends and colleagues, as well as tutoring students and at-risk youth both in the United States and abroad (e.g., Rio de Janeiro, Brazil). I take a tutoring approach that helps mold the student's thought processes in a fashion that will allow them to think most effectively and…
Read more

4 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of Chicago, IL 60661
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Great tutor!"

- Sarah, Hinsdale, IL on 5/13/14

"Not Recommended"

- Huma, Naperville, IL on 5/3/14
Michael replied on 5/5/2014

This review was written by the mother of the student, not the student herself.

Contrary to the erroneous claims made by this mother, I effectively coached this student and provided her with top-notch tricks, practice and quizzes, receiving verbal confirmation from this student on numerous occasions regarding how helpful I was to her learning process. It was a pleasure tutoring this student.

This student's mother has failed to understand that tutors on WyzAnt are allowed to request a rate increase. This student was my first student ever through WyzAnt and I quickly realized (after beginning to tutor this student) that $40 an hour (considering WyzAnt's commission and the fact that I had to pay as much as $6 to park to tutor this student and drive 63.4 miles round-trip to tutor her) was far too little. It was actually costing me money to tutor this student.

This student's mother was consistently inflexible throughout my time spent tutoring this student. The mother only responded or voiced concern when she wanted to complain. I merely requested a rate change so that I could cover the expenses of tutoring this student and make a little bit of money in the process, just like every other tutor on WyzAnt.

Furthermore, during the final two weeks of this student's course, my best friend and grandfather passed away. My grandfather was ending his year-long battle with leukemia, so I had to be with him during the last week and a half of his life. He was my priority during this time.

I wish this student the best and realize that miscommunication occurs. It would have been nice for the mother to communicate with me professionally regarding her concerns and matters that require clarification instead of assuming the worst and taking so much time to write a review with the intent to dissuade future students from seeking my expert tutoring.

Geometry, Probability, SPSS, Statistics
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Biology, Physical Science, Physics, Physiology, Psychology
Adobe Photoshop, Macintosh,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, SPSS
Italian, Portuguese
Adobe Photoshop
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Biology, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Physics, Reading, SAT Reading, Statistics, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GRE, PSAT, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Italian, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Portuguese, Proofreading, Public Speaking, SPSS, Statistics

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I am an advanced Mac User. I have taken classes in Photoshop and digital media, as well as completed by Master's degree online with my Mac. I have much experience with computers and am fluent in the use of Macs and PC's. I have even trained medical doctors on how to use a Mac and how to use it for special functions.

DePaul University
In the China


DePaul University

In the China (Master's)

Great tutor! — Michael provided excellent tutoring services to our student. He was very helpful and a pleasure to work with. I would definitely recommend Michael to prospective students! ...

— Sarah, Hinsdale, IL on 5/13/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $58.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Michael will travel within 5 miles of Chicago, IL 60661.

Background Check Status for Michael C.

Michael C. passed a background check on 4/25/13. The check was ordered by Michael through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Michael, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.