NEW FEATURES MORE

Search

Cassaandra J.

Calumet City, IL

$45/hour

Math and Algebra I Tutor

In-person lessons
1750+ Hours
4.9 average from 268 ratings
Very patient and knowledgeable tutor.
— Marcel, Glenwood, IL on 7/27/16

$45/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Cassaandra will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Cassaandra

University of UIllinois
Sociology

Education

University of UIllinois (Sociology)

About Cassaandra

My name is Cassandra and I have 20 years of experience tutoring. My specialty is Algebra I . I am very comfortable working with students from Pre-K to the 12th grade. I attended the University of Illinois in Chicago and graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Sociology. I have 3 years experience working with a hearing impaired student. My name is Cassandra and I have 20 years of experience tutoring. My specialty is Algebra I . I am very comfortable working with students from Pre-K to the 12th grade. I attended the University of Illinois in Chicago and graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Sociology. I have 3 years experience working with a hearing impaired student. Read more

Policies
Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Calumet City, IL 60409
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Very patient and knowledgeable tutor."

- Marcel, Glenwood, IL on 7/27/16

"Great tutor"

- Nikki, South Holland, IL on 2/22/15

"Very patient"

- Crystal, Chicago, IL on 2/24/14

"Overall Success"

- Dorian, Calumet City, IL on 6/27/13

"Great tutor and very patient!"

- Pearl, Tinley Park, IL on 12/23/12

"Excellent tutor."

- Ayoola, Flossmoor, IL on 9/3/12

"Great tutor backed by patience and kindness"

- Ed, Munster, IN on 7/6/12

"Extremely patient and very knowledgeable"

- Nina, Chicago, IL on 6/5/12

"Reliable and Patient"

- Laura, Whiting, IN on 5/5/12

"BEST TUTOR EVER"

- Kelli, Chicago, IL on 1/20/12

"great tutor very reliable"

- LASHAWN, South Holland, IL on 8/12/11
Math:
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2, Elementary Math,
Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
Grammar, Reading
Test Preparation:
GRE
History:
American History, Geography
Special Needs:
Autism
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading
Business:
GRE
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

I tutor all aspects of algebra including, one,two, and multiple step equations. Finding the slope from equations, points and graphs. Solving systems of equations using elimination and substitution. Graphing, using equations.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have 8 years of experience with the kindergarten through the eighth grade curriculum including math, social studies, English, earth science and music. My math experience includes adding, subtraction, multiplication, division and pre-algebra. My social studies experience include local government to the seven continents. My English experience includes sentence structure and the parts of speech. My science experience includes general knowledge of the world we live in.

Elementary Math

I understand all aspect of elementary math including addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. I understand the concept of turning word problems into numerical problems and the importance of making the connection of elementary math to algebra.

GRE

My experience with the GRE is hands on because I took and passed this exam. I also used different test taking strategies when preparing for this exam which I would love to share with a person in need. The test covers basic educational skills in math, grammar, and reading.

Prealgebra

I am proficient in introducing students to positive and negative numbers, greater than and less than, addition, subtraction, multiplication and division of negative and positive numbers, all rules pertaining to solving these same problems. Bridging the gap in understanding that pre-algebra is the first math that students learn when they start school.

Reading

I have over ten years experience tutoring students in reading including working with an hearing impaired student. I teach students how to break words into syllables which makes them more manageable and easier to read. I also work on comprehension skills.

University of UIllinois
Sociology

Education

University of UIllinois (Sociology)

Very patient and knowledgeable tutor.

Cassaandra has tutored my son the entire summer. She has done an amazing job with assisting him in math and reading. She has a true calling to work with children. She is very passionate and well prepared. What I love most is his ability to encourage students to reach their full potential.

— Marcel, Glenwood, IL on 7/27/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Cassaandra will travel within 10 miles of Calumet City, IL 60409.