Over 20 tutoring hours

Megan F.

Aurora, IL


"Our Greatest Natural Resource is the Minds of our Children."

In-person lessons
Replies in 3 hours
Background check passed as of 5/27/14
5.0 Avg. Rating
16 Ratings
3hrs Response Time

Message Megan

Send Megan a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Megan or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Aurora University
Elementary Education


Aurora University (Elementary Education)

About Megan


My name is Megan, and I am a recent graduate of Aurora University. I received my bachelor's degree in elementary education, as well as a minor in music. Since graduation, I have worked at a daycare/preschool, but am currently substitute teaching for an area school. However, as that is very part-time, I am really hoping to break into the world of tutoring to not only have some additional income, but to keep my teaching skills are sharp as they can be.

My first love is the primary grades (Kindergarten through 2nd grade.) However, I am able and more than willing to work with any elementary-school-aged students. If your student has any English, reading, or phonics-related needs, I am your girl! Those have always been my strongest subjects, as well as the ones about which I am passionate. Music is another strong suit; I have sung for years, play a bit of piano, and have taken several music theory courses to complete my music minor. Additionally, I could tutor history, elementary math, or elementary science.

I have lots of experience working with children in a tutoring/teaching capacity. During my college years, I completed many clinical observations/labs as part of my degree. These were with children as young as first grade, through eighth graders. I worked with them in reading, math, and science. This was generally small-group instruction, with either myself or myself and another teacher candidate providing the lesson materials and instruction.

I also tutored students in reading for several summers through a library program called Book Buddies. One night per week, I would read with either one or two students, working to either teach them letter sounds so they could start reading, or else helping them to improve existing reading skills.

Lastly, I tutored a neighbor's two young daughters in reading when they were about 5 years old. The parents spoke English as a second language, and were told that their daughters needed to learn more English before they could enter a parochial school. I went to their home three times per week for about 6 months, and by the time my tutoring was over, they had a firm grasp of phonics and reading. The best part was, they were able to enroll in that school!

My current availability is very open. I tutor a child on Saturday mornings, but other than that, I am available most days/times. Whatever works for you!

Hope to hear from you soon!

Hope to hear from you soon!

My name is Megan, and I am a recent graduate of Aurora University. I received my bachelor's degree in elementary education, as well as a minor in music. Since graduation, I have worked at a
Read more

2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Aurora, IL 60506
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
Special Needs:
Corporate Training:

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

American History

When I was in school, history was one of my stronger subjects. I truly enjoy learning and teaching about how our country came to be, and the effects that history has on present-day life in America.

Bible Studies

I have been an assistant Sunday School teacher at 2 different churches, starting about 10 years ago. I do this on a weekly basis. I also was homeschooled for 2 years, and our curriculum taught theology as one of the core subjects.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a bachelor's degree in Elementary Education (without certification). I decided while student teaching that I am not suited to teaching a large group of students, but am great at working individually or with small groups. I do still have the coursework in education and background knowledge to be an effective tutor.

Elementary Math

I have my bachelor's degree in Elementary Education. I have had to teach from 1st to 8th grade math during my university coursework, but feel the most comfortable with K-5 math.


English is, by far, my favorite subject. I have always had a knack for reading, writing, grammar, proofreading, and anything else that has to do with our language. I have also had quite a bit of experience teaching English concepts to students during my time at AU.

General Music

I have a music minor from Aurora University. I took vocal, piano, and music theory courses over my time of study there. I also have sung chorally for 8 years now.


I am one of those people who goes nuts when I see errors in people's grammar! To me, grammar has always come easily, and I would be glad to help students understand grammar in whatever ways it takes to make sense to them.


I have always been a reader; I have gone to the library almost weekly since I was a small child. My love of books continues to the present day; after a long day of work, I enjoy unwinding with a novel. I have read quite a few of the "classics," and would be more than willing to read other novels to help students in their study of them.


I student taught in a split 1st/2nd grade classroom, and worked with students on reading skills in that capacity.


I'm one of those weird people who enjoys correcting papers! I enjoy not only finding grammatical, spelling, and other types of "technical" errors, but I also like helping students find unique, creative ways to word their ideas.


I have the most experience in this area. I have tutored 2 neighbor girls, whose parents spoke English as a second language. I have also worked with students in the primary grades through a program called Book Buddies at the library. Lastly, I took 2 courses through AU that specifically taught future teachers how to get certain reading concepts across to students in ways that were developmentally appropriate for their age groups.


I have been a Sunday School assistant for approximately 10 years.


I have always excelled at spelling. I think sometimes, students find spelling to be a rather boring subject (learn the word, write it a few times, and then you're done.) I strive to find real-life ways to make spelling fun, as well as to make the child remember the word for a lifetime.


As stated previously, English is my favorite subject. Learning vocabulary is, to me, the first step to take with a child before reading new material. After all, if you don't know the words, how will the story make sense? I will work with your child on everything from vocabulary in their story, to words they may need to know for standardized testing.

Voice (Music)

I have sang chorally for almost a decade, and during that time took voice lessons for 3 years. I know quite a few vocal warmups, as well as other techniques that helped me personally to become a better singer. I can help your child expand his or her range, gain confidence, improve tone, and just be a better all-around singer.

Aurora University
Elementary Education


Aurora University (Elementary Education)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Megan will travel within 10 miles of Aurora, IL 60506.

Background Check Status for Megan F.

Megan F. passed a background check on 5/27/14. The check was ordered by Megan through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Megan, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.