NEW FEATURES MORE

Over 5 tutoring hours

Marissa I.

Stone Mountain, GA

$35/hour

Recent college graduate eager to help

In-person lessons
5.0 average from 3 ratings
Knowledgeable and patient
— Jan, Norcross, GA on 6/21/16

Message Marissa

Send Marissa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Marissa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 7 minutes
Replies in 7 minutes

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Spelman College
Economics

Education

Spelman College (Economics)

About Marissa

I am a recent graduate of Spelman College. I graduated Summa Cum Laude, so I did well for myself. I have experience with economics, including , but not limited to microeconomics, macroeconomics, developing economics, theory of macroeconomics, theory of micro economics, money and banking, and econometrics.

I thoroughly enjoy economics, and I have extensive experience teaching others. Feedback that I frequently receive from students, identifies me as an individual who is able to turn difficult information into something more understandable.

I am a very thorough individual, I receive my gratification through the success of those that I tutor. Patience and practice are two of my main approaches when tutoring, and I believe that no question is a dumb question. Making an individual feel comfortable with asking questions, is how this tutoring process succeeds. I want each and every individual that I tutor to feel like they've actually learned something when they walk away from the session, and be able to translate what they've learned into the classroom, whether it be pre-k, high school or college.

I have extensive experience with econometrics, including compiling data ad running linear regressions through statistical software such as STATA and SPSS. I've also tutored many of my college classmates in this subject. Also aiding in the usage of STATA. Economics is a combination of theory and statistics and is used in every course I've taken, so I have a large amount of experience with statistics.

I have taken over 7 literature classes including World Literature. I believe that teaching a group of this age requires patience that I have learned over the years, tutoring my younger brother in his courses. I graduated with a Bachelors Degree in Economics, with a major GPA of 3.97, and have tutored well over 60 percent of my colleagues in economics courses. I am a very laid back individual, and will make this experience educational, but enjoyable as well.
I am a recent graduate of Spelman College. I graduated Summa Cum Laude, so I did well for myself. I have experience with economics, including , but not limited to microeconomics, Read more

Policies
Cancellation
4 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Stone Mountain, GA 30083
In-person lessons

"Knowledgeable and patient"

- Jan, Norcross, GA on 6/21/16
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary Math
English:
Reading
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Reading
Business:
Economics

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Economics

I've been tutoring economics for four years now. I obtained a Bachelors Degree in Economics. I have knowledge in Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Econometrics, Money and Banking, etc.

Spelman College
Economics

Education

Spelman College (Economics)

Knowledgeable and patient — My daughter is learning economics with Marissa. She is patient and goes over something until she understands it. She is very cordial and friendly and super knowledgeable in her subject. She is also flexible with her hours and tries to coordinate with my daughter's work schedule. ...

— Jan, Norcross, GA on 6/21/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Marissa will travel within 20 miles of Stone Mountain, GA 30083.