Over 50 tutoring hours

Jessica R.

Roswell, GA


Math, Science, English, & Italian: Elementary - High School!

In-person lessons
Replies in 15 hours
Background check passed as of 11/15/13
5.0 Avg. Rating
22 Ratings
15hrs Response Time
Relates to my daughter very well.
— James, Roswell, GA on 12/18/13

Message Jessica

Send Jessica a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jessica or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Wesleyan College
Biology and Psycholo
Emory University
Emory University
Graduate Coursework


Wesleyan College (Biology and Psycholo)

Emory University (Master's)

Emory University (Graduate Coursework)

About Jessica

UPDATE: As of May 2014, I have been tutoring with WyzAnt for one year! My very best skills are in chemistry and math, so while I'm happy to help anyone in any subject I am qualified to teach, I would especially love to help students with math and science! Don't wait too long to start getting help if your child is struggling in school - the sooner we get started, the sooner we will see results and the easier it will be to catch up!

Finding the right tutor for your student who is struggling in school can be an enormous challenge. A tutor isn't just a teacher who presents information all over again after school. A tutor must understand the way a student thinks and present the material in a way that makes learning it easy and straightforward.

My teaching experience:
Close friends and family have always said I have a gift for teaching particularly difficult subjects like mathematics. I tutored elementary and middle school students while I myself was in high school, and also led summer school classes in ballet and music. I also tutored all through college: I tutored elementary school children in reading and college students in basic biology and mathematics. I have been a teaching assistant all through my 4 graduate school years, always receiving the highest praise from my students. Most recently, I taught middle school algebra to a girl in my second language! I love to teach all ages: from elementary school through college and beyond!

My academic experience:
I graduated Blessed Trinity Catholic HS in 2003 with the second-highest GPA of my class. During high school I took several AP classes and scored well in all AP exams: Language, Literature, Psychology, Chemistry, and Studio Art. I graduated summa cum laude from Wesleyan College in 2007 with a B.A. in biology and psychology, minoring in neuroscience. I did stem cell research for 2 years and completed my Honors Thesis on the effects of haloperidol on serial pattern learning in rats in just 4 months. Two years later I earned my Master's in Public Health in epidemiology from Emory University Rollins School of Public Health. I worked with the CDC Office of Public Health Genomics for two years before returning to Emory in 2011 to start my PhD in epidemiology. Genetic epidemiology is the main focus of my research interests and I am a fellow in a new program that helps emerging scientists bridge laboratory science and population-based research methods. I am currently working with the CDC Office of Public Health Genomics.

My learning and teaching philosophy:
I love teaching as much as I love learning. I envision a world in which every student, from age 5 to 105, feels empowered to take control of his or her academic progress. In this vision, every student has the self-confidence needed to tackle any academic challenge, and no student ever says, “I can’t learn,” or “I must be stupid,” or “I’m not good in school.” I envision a world in which every student experiences the immense satisfaction of solving a problem, the drive and desire to always know more - the joy of learning.

When I tutor, I seek to achieve 3 important goals with a student: a strong foundation of knowledge in the subject matter, a sense of confidence in one’s academic abilities, and an improved ability to organize one’s thoughts in order to solve a problem. These tools give students an academic edge to help them succeed!

I look forward to tackling big academic challenges with you and your family!
UPDATE: As of May 2014, I have been tutoring with WyzAnt for one year! My very best skills are in chemistry and math, so while I'm happy to help anyone in any subject I am qualified to teach, I would especially love to help students… Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Roswell, GA 30075
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Relates to my daughter very well. "

- James, Roswell, GA on 12/18/13
Jessica replied on 12/23/2013

Thanks for the kind words! It's been a pleasure to work with your daughter. She's very bright and is definitely not afraid to work hard! She has made a lot of improvements this semester and I look forward to working together after the break. Happy holidays!

Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Calculus, Geometry, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics,
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Anatomy, Biology, Biostatistics,
Microbiology, Physical Science, Physics, Physiology, Psychology
Adobe Lightroom, General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word, Photography, SAS
ESL/ESOL, Italian,
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Phonics
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Biology, Calculus, Chemistry,
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish,
Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
SAT Math, SAT Reading
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, General Computer, Grammar, Italian,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Spanish,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

I have tutored Algebra 1 to students from middle school through high school and I have taught mathematics to students in elementary school through college. I excel at teaching people to effectively think through math problems of any type.

Algebra 2

I have been tutoring students of all abilities, from elementary school-aged through college level, since I myself was in high school. I truly have an immense amount of patience and I explain things in as many ways as it takes until my student understands.


I danced ballet for 15 years. I danced in my high school dance group and with a qualified instructor (Terrell Paulk) twice per week (technique and pointe). I taught ballet to elementary school-aged children every summer for 3 years and during one school year to kindergarten girls. I am well-versed in ballet technique (Cecchetti method), as the Cecchetti manual was like my bible in high school.


My master's degree from Emory University is in epidemiology, which required two biostatistics courses in 2007 and 2008. I did extra graduate work that included an advanced biostatistics course in 2011. While I was in graduate school, I helped my peers in less math-based fields of public health with biostatistics homework. My field requires that I draw upon my biostatistics knowledge almost every day.


I aced Honors and AP Chemistry in high school and took two years of chemistry in college. I currently tutor students in chemistry so my knowledge is current and fresh. I'm experienced at breaking down this seemingly unreachable subject into a manageable (and maybe even fun) subject!


I am a PhD student in genetic epidemiology. I have 3 years' experience working in a genetics subject-area job and 2 years' experience working in a genetics lab (DNA methylation). I am a fellow in the genomics track an Emory University program called Molecules 2 Mankind. Also, while most of my undergraduate-level genetics knowledge is self-taught of learned on the job, I earned an A in my graduate-level genetics (the class is called IBS 746, Graduate Human Genetics, and is taught by Judith Dr. Fridovich-Keil).


I have been speaking fluent Italian for over 10 years. I am fluent in proper Italian and I am a very perceptive and patient teacher. I learned in school and through self-study, so my Italian grammar is actually better than many native Italians' grammar.


I scored a perfect 5 on the AP Psychology test in 2003 and I majored in psychology in college. I also excel at statistics, which is fundamental to the science of psychology.


I was a teaching assistant for a Data Management Using SAS class (taught by Dr. Mike S. at Emory University) for 3 years. Every class I have taken in my MPH and PhD graduate programs uses SAS as the main programming language, so I have a lot of experience from classwork and homework doing SAS modeling. SAS is the main programming language used at Emory University Rollins School of Public Health (where my graduate programs are based) and it is also the programming software I used exclusively while working as an ORISE Fellow at CDC for two years. I have very good working knowledge of SAS and am competent to teach a novice SAS user.


I aced Spanish all through school, including college, up through intermediate Spanish (high school equivalent: Spanish IV or V). I speak Italian fluently and speak Spanish with an authentic accent (without an American or an Italian accent). I am very good with Spanish grammar and at helping to build vocabulary, listening, and comprehension skills.


I am a PhD student in epidemiology (a subject with a statistics foundation) and am proficient in high school/college statistics up through Probability Theory.

Wesleyan College
Biology and Psycholo
Emory University
Emory University
Graduate Coursework


Wesleyan College (Biology and Psycholo)

Emory University (Master's)

Emory University (Graduate Coursework)

Relates to my daughter very well. — Jessica is doing a great job in helping my daughter build confidence in her ability to study and understand her course work. Jessica has been very dependable and easy to work with. ...

— James, Roswell, GA on 12/18/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jessica will travel within 15 miles of Roswell, GA 30075.

Background Check Status for Jessica R.

Jessica R. passed a background check on 11/15/13. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Jessica, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.