NEW FEATURES MORE

Over 10 tutoring hours

Alexandra H.

Powder Springs, GA

$45/hour

Experienced & Effective Chemistry, Spanish, & Math Tutor

Background check passed as of 8/15/13
3.5 average from 2 ratings

Message Alexandra

Send Alexandra a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Alexandra or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 day
Replies in 1 day

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Georgia State University
chemistry
Georgia State University
Master's

Education

Georgia State University (chemistry)

Georgia State University (Master's)

About Alexandra

I am a certified k-12 Spanish teacher. I love to work with children and teens. I tutored my kids and neighborhood kids from 1992 - 2002. Since then, I have continuously assisted my granddaughters (7 and 14 years old) with math, Spanish and Science subjects. All the teens and children I have tutored have succeeded whether they wanted to pass a subject or make an A and be top student. Teaching has been my passion. I left the corporate world to become a chemistry and Spanish high school teacher. I will take the teacher's certification test within the next few months and start teaching in fall 2014.

I was born in Argentina and speak fluent Spanish. I moved to the USA in 1981. I teach how to write and speak the language plus phonics and pronunciation.

I have a Master's in Chemistry and 2 minors: physics and math. My GPA was 3.76 (scale 0 - 4). In addition, I have over 30 years of industrial experience working in laboratories and production facilities for big companies such as Coca-Cola and Kellogg's. Chemistry is my number one passion and it shows.

How do I tutor? I make sure that I follow class study curriculum and materials, and I help prepare thoroughly for tests and quizzes including how to succeed in multiple choice questions tests. I use my work experience to introduce real life examples, stimulating memory retention. I teach teens and college students the most effective way to study and learn each subject. I provide quick study guides and quizzes. I teach how to take notes during class.
I am a certified k-12 Spanish teacher. I love to work with children and teens. I tutored my kids and neighborhood kids from 1992 - 2002. Since then, I have continuously assisted my granddaughters (7 and 14 years old) with math, Spanish and Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 25 miles of Powder Springs, GA 30127
Background Check: Passed
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary Math,
Prealgebra, Statistics, Trigonometry
Science:
Biochemistry, Biostatistics, Chemistry, Organic Chemistry,
Physical Science, Physics
English:
ESL/ESOL,
Reading
Test Preparation:
Common Core, GED, GRE
Computer:
Microsoft Access, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
Spanish
History:
Geography, Social Studies, World History
Elementary Education:
Common Core, Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Reading
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Sports/Recreation:
Bodybuilding, Fitness, Swimming

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary Math

I love working with children and I try to make a positive impact in their lives.

Qualifications - My Math tutoring experience includes: tutoring children in elementary school, training several production and laboratory technicians, and continuously using Math in all my jobs. One of my minors in college was math.

How do I tutor? Before I start tutoring, I ask the parents to establish clear objectives and outcome. Based on these objectives and using the class curriculum, I individualize lesson plans. I continuously communicate the progress and/or set-backs to parents. I help the child catch-up to the class curriculum or be a step ahead of the class. I assist with homework and prepare him/her for Math Tests and Quizzes. I use Math learning tools from the web (with parents’ permission) and/or my own. Also, I ensure that the child stays confident, understands Math concepts clearly, and they have fun learning!

I am efficient, organized, and detail oriented (according to parents and previous bosses). I love math and it shows! My schedule is flexible and I can work on weekends.

ESL/ESOL

I have experience teaching English as a second language in formal and informal settings. I taught 2 ESL evening classes when I lived in Naples, Florida. I also taught several immigrants how to write and speak English outside a classroom setting.

I have developed a tools that can accelerate learning (writing, reading and speaking). They are easy, simple, and I have successfully used them. For example, for Hispanic students, I have them watch a short (10 - 15 minute) film in English with Spanish subtitles. Then, they watch it again without subtitles. The assignment is completed by presenting in English a summary of the film. I ensure that I correct their pronunciation if applicable.

Another tool I used was Hooked on Phonics to assist with pronunciation and with writing.

Organic Chemistry

I have a Master's in Chemistry. My thesis and direct studies were: using laser dies for human blood applications, quantification of polypropylene additives using pyrolysis/GC analysis, and quantification of surfactants using fluorescence. I published three papers in Analytical Letters and in the Journal of Chromatography.

There is a lot of memorization needed to learn organic chemistry. My first task as a tutor is to find out how he/she learns the quickest (visual aids, color coding, note taking, etc.) Based on these learning skills, I use visual aids, notes, illustrations, charts of organic compounds classifications, and much more. I also use real life examples from my 30 year industrial and lab experience. I help with homework and prepare her/him for exams/tests/quizzes.

I have a lot of knowledge about instrumental analysis such as GC, DMS, DSC, LGC, IR, and NIR (If you need help with these instruments, you probably know what these abbreviations mean).

Spanish

I was born in Argentina where Spanish is the main language. I earned a scholarship in high school to attend a USA college so I moved here.

I have experience as an interpreter, translator, and as a tutor. I scored 100% all Spanish tests in College, including advanced exams. I scored AH (advanced high) in the Spanish OPI and WPT tests (Georgia).

I am currently a teacher at a High School where I teach basic, intermediate, and advanced Spanish.

Swimming

I am an avid triathlete (swim, bike, and run) with over 20 years of experience.

My qualifications include: administering swimming lessons independently and for Cobb County Stingrays (4 - 12 years old children), adult private lessons, and coaching. I have access to 3 pools including my neighborhood pool which is a Junior Olympic size (25 yards). However, I am willing to go to other pools if requested. I can teach how to swim (free style - breast stroke - back stroke - butterfly), how to improve swimming technique, how to improve lap time, and how to prepare for competition. I always concentrate on stroke technique as it is the critical component of swimming. I plan, write, and use written swimming lessons based on the student needs. Before I start with swimming lessons, I make sure that the objectives and outcome are clearly defined by parents and student. I report progress and if requested, I give written workouts/practice to perform between lessons once the student has good stroke technique.

Georgia State University
chemistry
Georgia State University
Master's

Education

Georgia State University (chemistry)

Georgia State University (Master's)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Alexandra will travel within 25 miles of Powder Springs, GA 30127.