NEW FEATURES MORE

Kirby N.

Carrollton, GA

$40/hour

"You have to be odd to be number one."-Dr. Seuss

In-person lessons

Message Kirby

Send Kirby a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Kirby or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

About Kirby

Growing up, being a teacher was the only thing I wanted to do. I am from Carrollton, attended and graduated from Carrollton City Schools, Go Trojans! After high school, I began college at the University of West Georgia and started working at East Carrollton Recreation. The first two years at UWG I was a Secondary Education Mathematics Major, and I still love math, but changed majors after gaining experience at the recreation department. I taught preschool gymnastic classes, gymnastic camp, supervised birthdays, and helping with gymnastics meets. I worked with children from one years old to five year olds. Parents accompanied the children during classes until the age of three. Each day, I would plan lessons for the three morning classes and three classes in the evening. At the time, I did not realize how much planning gymnastics classes by ability would prepare for planning academic lessons. Working with these children, I learned that great classroom management is crucial, keeping the children busy or moving minimized disruptions, learning how to be flexible was the most beneficial and important experience. Having to accommodate each child and adjust activities to their abilities last minute, I learned very quickly that working with kids, its better to always be prepared, but flexible! I learned a great deal while working here and loved it so much, I switched to an Early Childhood Major and graduated in April of 2015.

While in college I student taught at three Carroll County Schools. One semester, I was at Roopville Elementary and worked with a second grade class and kindergarten. The next semester, I student taught with fourth grade at Sharp Creek Elementary School. Student teaching at these two schools was only two days a week and only last a couple of months, but I did write and teach lessons in each grade. My internship was awesome, and I worked under a great, enthusiatic, caring second grade teacher at Glanton Elementary School. I was with this second grade class all year and I was able to become more acquainted with Common Core. Writing lessons, teaching lessons, attending meetings, classroom management, and taking on the responsibilities I would have after graduating. I loved the students and the staff was great, so after graduating college, I began tutoring at Glanton Hindsman Elementary. I tutored students in kindergarten through fifth in mathematics and reading/ELA aligned with Common Core. Working closely with teachers in each grade was how I planned lessons, determined whether I could provide push in services and assist with a full class, but still focus on a group of students or if I would pull a group of students. Pulling out students during their exploratory classes was not their favorite thing to do, especially if it was their day for P.E., so I tried to make each lesson engaging, whether it was Kahoot on the computers or having them write the problems on the board, with only forty-five minutes for each grade level everyday, I got to know all the children. Also working the after school program everyday, mainly with grades third, fourth, and fifth, I was familiar with most of the students in the school and it became easier to plan lessons, know what activities would work best with each group, and students behaviors. Managing different activities tailored to each child was always important, but while tutoring for the F.I.T, Families in Transition, students, because the tutoring groups were based on these students, some who were advanced, some who struggled, and children who were not F.I.T and needed a little help. Mathematics and ELA/Reading were the focus of each grade. Being a little bias, I loved tutoring math and found it was easy to create lessons that were hands on. ELA/Reading, just as much or even more crucial for standardized test, wasn't always the most eventful, but having the reading material related to something the students enjoyed, whether it was cars or animals, they were practicing their reading. For a couple of months, I tutored at Sharp Creek Elementary School, which was also with F.I.T students. Coming from the school I interned at the year before, tutored or was in the school every day, to a new school with new students it was a different, but beneficial learning experience. I worked with ELA/Reading with second grade students and math with third, forth, and fifth grade. Focusing on what they were learning in class and practice for the Milestones, I gained even more experience with Georgia Standards and finding/creating lessons for various groups and learning levels. There were days when I had to proctor state test, help with a different class, pull new students for testing, and working with the after school program, I had learning experiences that would become beneficial when I have my own classroom. Over the year, writing lessons, tutoring for math and ELA/Reading for each grade level, and watching more teachers from each grade was great experience, and just made it a little more difficult to choose a "favorite" or preferred grade. love working with children of all ages and getting to know each wonderful personality!

I have tutored mathematics in grades K-5 and familiar with Georgia Math Standards. Through out student teaching, college classes, and experience working as a math tutored I have planned, taught, tutored lessons with counting, place value, addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, decimals, fractions, money, and geometry with various grades. Working with a group of students or classroom full of students, differentiated math lessons and activities.

I have tutored students in K-5 in Reading and ELA. Working with students on sentence structure and types, punctuation, grammar, writing paragraphs and various other ELA units for each grade. Also, spending a great deal of time focusing on reading fluency, comprehension, finding supporting details, using context clues, and working with guided reading groups from each grade. All of the lessons or tutoring sessions aligned with Georgia Common Core Standards.

During my time as a tutor, I was able to work with kindergarten and other early elementary students on handwriting, letters, numbers, and where to write on the paper. I would write something and students could trace or copy the letters the see, practice writing the alphabet and numbers independently.

I would a chance to tutor with your child! Striving to always keep them engaged, looking forward to learning, and proud when that lightbulb goes off and the topic just clicks! I am free Monday through Friday, also willing to work weekends. My hours are very flexible and would love to schedule a session!
Growing up, being a teacher was the only thing I wanted to do. I am from Carrollton, attended and graduated from Carrollton City Schools, Go Trojans! After high school, I began college at the University of West Georgia and started working at East Carrollton Recreation. The first two years at UWG I was a Secondary Education Read more

Policies
Cancellation
1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Carrollton, GA 30117
In-person lessons
English:
Grammar, Reading
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar, Handwriting, Reading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I graduated from the University of West Georgia in April of 2015 with a Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood, meeting the GACE requirements and becoming Certified to teach elementary school in Georgia. While in school, I gained experience through tutoring children college, student teaching, and college courses. After graduating, I began tutoring at an elementary school with a focus on mathematics and reading for every grade level.

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Kirby will travel within 40 miles of Carrollton, GA 30117.