NEW FEATURES MORE

Over 5 tutoring hours

Elizabeth D.

Atlanta, GA

$35/hour

Helping Kids Have Fun and Learn

In-person lessons

Message Elizabeth

Send Elizabeth a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Elizabeth or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 2 hours
Replies in 2 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

About Elizabeth

About Me:
I have a Master's in Geoscience and a graduate certificate in Geographic Information Systems (GIS) from Georgia State University (GSU). At GSU, I taught a physical science lab for college students and was voted Teacher's Assistant of the year (2015). I have also had classes in elementary education and one and a half years of successful practice teaching in grades K-2. I have also been a nanny, daycare associate teacher, and Sunday school teacher. Overall, I have 25 years of experience with children and young adults ages 6 weeks to 22 years.

Teaching Philosophy:
Teaching students in small groups or individually is one of my favorite ways to educate. In this way, I can cater activities and lessons to the student's need and learning style. Teaching requires effort to connect with the student, but discovering the way a person learns is half of the success of teaching. My favorite part is seeing the "light's go on" in a student. Whether I am helping with homework or teaching a particular skill, I will try my best to connect with the student and make learning joyful. I also believe the most helpful thing in learning is to practice and I may give a "homework" assignment to help the student excel.

Policies:
I can tutor in person.
My base tutoring rate is $35 and hour.
I offer a free first visit consultation.
I prefer to be notified of cancellations within an hour of our scheduled time.

I specialize in teaching map skills, physical geography concepts, and introductory GIS. In addition, I also enjoy teaching any elementary subjects (especially reading, social studies, and math) for K-3rd graders.

I look forward to helping you learn.
About Me:
I have a Master's in Geoscience and a graduate certificate in Geographic Information Systems (GIS) from Georgia State University (GSU). At GSU, I taught a physical science lab for college students and was voted Teacher's
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Atlanta, GA 30345
In-person lessons
Math:
Elementary Math,
Prealgebra
Music:
Music Theory, Piano
English:
Reading
Computer:
GIS,
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
History:
Geography, Social Studies
Special Needs:
Phonics
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Handwriting,
Phonics,
Reading,
Study Skills
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary Math

I have a Master's degree from GSU and have also had education classes and practical experience in teaching math.

GIS

I graduated a year ago with a graduate certificate in GIS from Georgia State University. I also got a 7 month contract job using GIS as a permitting assistant. I could send work samples if you like.

Handwriting

When I had education classes, I learned how to write and teach the Zaner Bloser and D'Nealian method of handwriting. I also practice taught grades K-2.

Phonics

I have always been good at spelling and hearing the sounds of letters. I have had education classes in college on teaching Reading and English to elementary children. There are two styles of teaching reading (whole language and phonics based) and I believe that the best way is a combination of both. Phonics, however, is the best way to learn to spell words, Minus the many exceptions in the English language:). For these you must know the rules or just memorize the spelling of the word.

Piano

I took piano lessons for 10 years and performed in a recital every year. I also took a high school music Theory class.

Reading

I have a Master's degree from Georgia State University. Also, I have had some classes in education and some classroom teaching experience.

Social Studies

I have a Bachelor's in Geography and a Master's in Geoscience (concentration in geography classes). Geography and map skills are a major part of social studies. As part of my graduate work, I wrote lessons for teaching map skills to young children

Study Skills

I believe that the best study skill is figuring out the best way you learn. Some learn by reading and others by writing, doing, or speaking. Most learn by a combination of at least two of these. Studying is also helped by a particular way of organization that helps you learn. Another key to good study is time and repetition.

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Elizabeth will travel within 10 miles of Atlanta, GA 30345.