Search

Anna E.

Atlanta, GA

$44/hour

Passionate about sharing knowledge and experience.

In-person lessons

$44/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Anna will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Anna

KSU/GSU
Psychology

Education

KSU/GSU (Psychology)

About Anna

Hi! My name is Anna E. I'm a psychology student at the University of Kennessaw, with plans to transfer to Georgia State University and the more specific major of cognitive neuroscience. I am passionate about my work and my degree, and intend to pursue a Ph.D in the long run. Studying, gathering and sharing information with people of all ages, mindsets and interests has always brought me joy, and even when I have finished school in totality, I intend to pursue research to continue learning.

In my teaching history, I taught fitness and martial arts for three years at a school called Black Knight Martial Arts in Symrna, and trained students on the side in fitness for their tests. Recently, I worked with a child who had cerebral palsy in fitness, coordination, and confidence. I have tutored English, vocabulary, reading, writing, and reading comprehension to children, and have helped my peers write their papers and organize their projects. I'm a competent artist, capable of teaching basic perception and interpretation to anyone who wants to learn. I currently tutor piano and martial arts in midtown, with a piano in my own home. In addition, I have three specialization areas of history; the French Revolution, Henry VIII, and Elizabeth I. Projects and papers concerning these topics I would be happy to help with. Any and all of these subjects are at the core of my passions, and I look forward to sharing them with as many people as possible.

I have studied English extensively in college, and have a history of AP classes and peer tutoring in high school with papers, reading, comprehension, writing, and vocabulary. I earned a black belt at my martial arts school and taught students and black belt candidates for three years without hiatus. Many of those classes were with children, both one-on-one and in large groups. I took piano for a decade and continued to learn it after age 18 on my own, focusing on perfecting pieces to performance level. I continue to pursue history and other miscellaneous learning in my off time, to garner more information presented in many different ways, so as to pass it on to those who want to learn!

With young children I have focused on not only teaching them the basic mechanics using tools and sources suited to them individually (ie, books THEY like, stories they are excited about) but teaching them confidence and giving them encouragement and feedback week to week based on the experiences they've had since their last class.

This attitude applies to all of my subjects and students. Whether they are four years old or my age, I encourage competence and confidence using the things they like and the environments available to them. If I am training someone physically, I will work with their level, environment, and work with where they are to get where they want to be. If I am working with them musically, we will tune our practices and projects towards their preferences and what they like to hear and play. If I am giving artistic instruction, they pick the reference pictures and focal areas. My experience is broad and deep enough to be able to shift focus in these areas, while still being true to fact in history and English mechanics.

If you think I can help you or your child further your/their education and passions, contact me! I'm available online for $35 an hour, $44 in person. My schedule is flexible; Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday. The other days I am in school or working on research.

I look forward to working with you! Thanks!
Hi! My name is Anna E. I'm a psychology student at the University of Kennessaw, with plans to transfer to Georgia State University and the more specific major of cognitive neuroscience. I am passionate about my work and my degree, and intend to pursue a Ph.D in the long run. Studying, gathering and sharing information with people of all ages, Read more

Policies
Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Atlanta, GA 30318
In-person lessons
Art:
Drawing
English:
Grammar, Literature, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
History:
European History
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Sports/Recreation:
Martial Arts

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Drawing

Art has always been a passion of mine, and I have been fortunate to have professional instruction in Architecture under Charles Heydt of Pak Heydt & Associates. I have also had a year of instruction in sculpture and classical drawing. Since then I have continued to pursue and practice two and three dimensional art, take commissions, and contribute to art festivals such as Alchemy. My basic tutoring method includes explaining how to break an image down into its components and assemble them on the paper like a puzzle. When striving for a more accurate drawing, I use a grid system of drawing a grid on the reference picture and breaking the new image down into tiny, traceable squares. More playful activities include emotion drawings - having students draw how they feel given a stimulus or memory - and sound drawings - taking a song or piece of music that the student likes and transferring the thoughts and feelings produced onto paper.

Martial Arts

I studied the Korean martial art of Hapkido for 10 years, starting when I was seven and going through 1st dan at age 17. During that time, I instructed youth and adult students, had my own class in the upper ranks, and became a fitness instructor for lower ranking students. I developed nutrition, exercise, and personal training knowledge helping students reach their full potential. Currently, I have a recognized rank as 1st dan and teach graduate students at Georgia Tech in Piedmont Park.

KSU/GSU
Psychology

Education

KSU/GSU (Psychology)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $44.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Anna will travel within 15 miles of Atlanta, GA 30318.