Over 10 tutoring hours

Eric S.

Atlanta, GA


Patient experienced tutor for Spanish, English, Computer help

In-person lessons
Replies in 12 hours
4.8 Avg. Rating
4 Ratings
12hrs Response Time

Message Eric

Send Eric a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Eric or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Bachelor of Science degree completed


Bachelor of Science degree completed

About Eric

I am a patient tutor who loves to help others learn. I strive to adjust my teaching methods to the learning style of each student.

I look forward to helping you with any level of Spanish or English/ESL - reading, writing, listening comprehension and/or speaking/pronunciation. I am also available to assist you in improving your computer proficiency (Windows or Mac).

I've taught English as a Second Language to primarily Spanish and Portuguese speakers, and am fluent in Spanish as a result of both study and living/working in Latin America.

My primary field of study was Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and my profession is computer software development. My job also involves providing computer software training in Spanish and English. I would be glad to assist you with a variety of computer-related skills or in performing specific tasks you wish to accomplish with your computer.
I am a patient tutor who loves to help others learn. I strive to adjust my teaching methods to the learning style of each student.

I look forward to helping you with any level of Spanish or English/ Read more

2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Atlanta, GA 30309
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
General Computer,
HTML, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Spanish, TOEFL
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
English, ESL/ESOL,
Reading, Spanish, Writing
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
General Computer,
Grammar, HTML, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have taught ESL as a volunteer to primarily Spanish and Portuguese-speaking adults during at various times during the last 15 years, in both the US and Mexico.

I am a very detail-oriented person with strong English skills, and as such I can assist serious/advanced students wishing to perfect their written and/or spoken English.

At the same time I am also very patient, flexible and compassionate toward my students, and always seek to prioritize their needs and focus first on the areas that will provide them with maximum benefit in their daily lives.

For beginning-level students of English I normally start by helping them master the use of a few critical verbs - to be, to have, to go, etc. in the different tenses, which gives them a great foundation on which to build, and a model on which to base the learning of additional verbs. I also try to teach them vocabulary specific to their needs, helping them practice by plugging these words into real-life sentences using the basic verbs they have learned with different subjects and tenses. My style of teaching for beginners is similar to that of the Michel Thomas language courses, which I have used myself to study several languages (French, German).

For beginners, I can help by translating sentences from Spanish or Portuguese to English to aid in learning, but I always make spoken English the focus of the lesson in order to maximize the student's exposure to the language being learned and make the experience appropriately challenging.

Thanks for your consideration.

General Computer

I love helping people overcome their fears and roadblocks to take advantage of technology. I often help my parents' friends (senior citizens) with their Windows and Mac systems, and am very patient with those I am helping. As a software developer for over 20 years, I have a depth of knowledge about operating systems, software and networking that I can apply as needed by those I am assisting, but I am also able and willing to tutor in the use of Microsoft Office, general Internet topics, etc. as needed by my students.

Bachelor of Science degree completed


Bachelor of Science degree completed

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Eric will travel within 20 miles of Atlanta, GA 30309.

Background Check Status for Eric S.

Eric S. passed a background check on 5/2/11. The check was ordered by Eric through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Eric, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.