Search

Aaron L.

Fort Myers, FL

$38/hour

Math, English, Chess and Drumming Instructor ($32/hr Online Sessions)

800+ Hours
Background check passed as of 9/29/16
4.9 average from 264 ratings
Aaron L. A superb tutor.
— Chris, Fort Myers, FL on 5/1/16

$38/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Aaron will reply soon.

Response time: 5 hours

Contact Aaron

Florida Gulf Coast University
Mathematics

Education

Florida Gulf Coast University (Mathematics)

About Aaron

Hello, and thank you for your interest in my tutoring services.

My name is Aaron, and I would be happy to assist you or your loved one with any educational needs that you may have. I have a bachelor's degree in math from Florida Gulf Coast University and approximately six years of teaching experience. This experience includes having taught math as a tutor and middle school teacher, while I have also taught chess and drumming on numerous occasions as well.

I began tutoring math because I excelled in the subject and needed a job. However, I have since found it to be very fulfilling, especially the challenge of explaining topics in an individualized way that extends to true understanding and beyond temporary memorization. Teaching children is also a fulfilling challenge, as their passion for learning is always present though their attention may sometimes not be, and I enjoy simplifying the subject to their level while keeping things relevant and interesting.

I can teach and have taught a wide range of subjects. With math, this includes all levels of algebra, geometry, trigonometry and precalculus, probability and statistics, finite math, logic, calculus 1 & 2 and business calculus. I also have over a decade of experience playing and teaching both chess and drums. I tutor all aspects and levels of English based on my personal and professional experience with creative, technical and academic writing and editing, and this includes proofreading. Finally, I have prepared individuals for various sections of many different standardized tests, including the SAT, ACT, GRE, ASVAB, GED, Advanced Placement and FSA (Florida Standards Assessments) exams. If you believe that a class that you are taking or subject that you are learning falls within this list but is not mentioned, it is very possible that I could be of assistance with it too.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions that you may have. I will be very happy to answer them in a timely manner.

Thank you again for your interest and time, and I look forward to the possibility of working with you or your loved one in the future.
Hello, and thank you for your interest in my tutoring services.

My name is Aaron, and I would be happy to assist you or your loved one with any educational needs that you may have. I have a bachelor's degree in math from Florida Gulf Coast University and approximately six years of teaching experience. This experience includes having
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
12 hours notice required

$38 per hour for in-person sessions, and $32 per hour for online sessions.

Travel Radius
Travels within 12 miles of Fort Myers, FL 33913
Background Check: Passed

"Aaron L. A superb tutor."

- Chris, Fort Myers, FL on 5/1/16

"Great teacher! Very patient and a wonderful person."

- Sairis, Fort Myers, FL on 4/3/17

"Very informative"

- Marilyn, Brooklyn, NY on 3/30/17

"Knowledgeable and patient"

- Adriana, Homestead, FL on 3/29/17

"Great Chess Coach!"

- Carol, Diamond Bar, CA on 3/27/17

"Extremely helpful and responsive!"

- Cheryl, Wayne, PA on 2/20/17

"Real good"

- Mit, Lehigh Acres, FL on 2/6/17

"Aaaron is awesome!"

- Sheila, Saint Simons Island, GA on 12/6/16

"The best tutor I've had in my 17 years of life."

- Shri, Cypress, CA on 10/28/16

"Knowledgeable on different subjects"

- Dana, Fort Myers, FL on 10/19/16

"Very effective!"

- Elpida, Fort Myers, FL on 9/8/16

"Knowledgeable And Patient Tutor"

- Deborah, Lehigh Acres, FL on 9/6/16

"Great with a middle school Algebra student!"

- Victoria, Fort Myers, FL on 8/25/16

"AMAZING MATH TUTOR !!!!"

- Tony, Naples, FL on 8/1/16

"Knowledgeable and Patient"

- Eddie, Fort Lauderdale, FL on 6/10/16

"Amazing tutor!"

- Jenn, Cape Coral, FL on 6/3/16

"Patient and knowledgeable tutor"

- Angela, Albion, IN on 5/28/16

"Knowledgable and patient tutor"

- Jennifer, Naples, FL on 5/18/16

"Excellent Tutor for Elementary Calculus"

- Theresa, Estero, FL on 4/28/16
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Discrete Math,
Finite Math,
Geometry, Logic,
Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math,
Statistics, Trigonometry
Science:
ACT Science
Music:
Drums
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, ASVAB, CBEST, CLAST,
College Counseling,
GED, GRE, ISEE,
PSAT, SAT Math,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT
History:
American History, European History, Government & Politics, World History
Special Needs:
ADHD, Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Homeschool,
Reading, Study Skills
Business:
GRE
Sports/Recreation:
Chess

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Chess

Though I learned the rules of chess at a young age, I really only began to study the game in college about 10 years ago. For the past three years, I have been a member of the United States Chess Federation and currently have a tournament rating of 2000+. I am happy to teach anything from the absolute fundamentals (like the rules, piece movements, opening principles, etc.) to more advanced topics (like opening theory, developing a personal opening repertoire, visualization and blindfold chess, thorough game analysis, complex middlegame/endgame studies, etc.).

CLAST

Regarding the CLAST test, I have previously tutored all of the relevant math material, including algebra, geometry and probability. I have also familiarized myself with the specifics of this test regarding its reading, English and essay portions. Finally, I have taught students in preparation for this exact test as well as other tests with very similar content.

College Counseling

In my several years of tutoring experience, I have had the opportunity to give guidance to students who are preparing for college. I have gained this expertise by advising students on how to organize their courses and extracurricular activities in their last years of high school (especially dual enrollment students), helping them to edit and complete school applications and related essays, preparing them for entrance exams and college interviews, creating online athlete-recruitment profiles, helping them apply for scholarships, and discussing the best college options for each student's individual circumstances. Because of this experience, I have an insight into how to depict a student's strengths and help them realize and build new strengths as they go through the application process.

Discrete Math

I received a 'B' in discrete mathematics from Florida Atlantic University. Since the time that I took this course, I have taken similar courses, many with overlapping content. This content includes logic, set theory, combinatorics, probability, algebra and geometry. Therefore, I believe that my long history with this class and its content makes me qualified to tutor it.

Drums

I have been playing drums for 15 years. In that time, I have been a member of a number of bands and currently play in weekly jam sessions. I can read and write drumming sheet music, and I have also composed several pieces of original music. I can play a number of musical styles, including rock, pop, blues, Latin and jazz. Finally, I have taught drumming before on several occasions. If you live in my area, I'd be happy to aid you with your playing the drumset, whether you're a beginner or intermediate player.

Finite Math

I tutored this class at the college level for three semesters. Though I did not take this specific class in my own education, finite math is an amalgam of many classes and their topics, all of which I have studied. This has allowed me to tutor the class while never having taken it specifically. Though this class can vary greatly from one college to the next, in most situations I should have no problem in assisting you with your class.

Homeschool

As a tutor for five years, I have worked with students who are homeschooled on numerous occasions. Though I primarily tutor math, I also have assisted both traditional and homeschooled students with English, reading and elementary science. This includes assisting others with standardized test preparation and study skills. Therefore, I would be happy to help you or your loved one meet their academic goals, as I have found that years of material can be covered in a fraction of the time with individualized lessons outside of the classroom.

ISEE

As a math instructor with five years of teaching experience, I am very familiar with the math content that is found on the ISEE, including algebra, geometry, measurement and probability. I also have ample experience with preparing individuals for all sections of various standardized tests, including the SAT, ACT, GRE and PERT. This, with my academic, professional and personal experience with English and writing, along with my research into the ISEE's content, makes me sure that I can help you or your loved one prepare for this exam.

Logic

I have a Bachelor of Science Degree in mathematics, and for that, I took six courses of varying depth on the subject of logic. This also includes elementary computer logic. I have also tutored elementary logic at FGCU.

SAT Math

Though my degree and tutoring expertise is in math, I have experience tutoring all sections of the SAT. From this experience, I am aware of the types of questions that are asked in all sections of this exam, and I have created my own strategies to approaching them. I provide thorough lessons and materials, including mock exams that allow the student to feel comfortable entering the exam come test day. We can cover years' worth of material in a few weeks of sessions, so do not hesitate to contact me regardless of you or your loved one's current comprehension of any of the SAT's sections.

Study Skills

Throughout my six years of experience as a tutor and teacher, I have assisted students with their study skills and test taking strategies. This includes a wide range of subjects, including standardized test preparation. Whether it's making definition sheets to study important terms, picking out archetypal questions from the book to prepare for an exam, or learning how to organize, prioritize and effectively use study time, I believe that I can help you or your loved one with study skills.

Florida Gulf Coast University
Mathematics

Education

Florida Gulf Coast University (Mathematics)

Aaron L. A superb tutor.

Aaron was outstanding during the entire semester. I cannot say enough about him. I highly recommend him without reservation. One of the best.

— Chris, Fort Myers, FL on 5/1/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $38.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

$38 per hour for in-person sessions, and $32 per hour for online sessions.

Travel policy

Aaron will travel within 12 miles of Fort Myers, FL 33913.