NEW FEATURES MORE

Rachel G.

Casselberry, FL

$45/hour

Spanish and English Tutor

In-person lessons

Message Rachel

Send Rachel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Rachel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Ohio University
English and Spanish

Education

Ohio University (English and Spanish)

About Rachel

Bienvenidos!

I am about to graduate from Ohio University with a degree in Spanish and Creative Writing and would love to help you improve your language skills this summer. I was a member of the East Knox Teacher Academy in high school and also tutored elementary students in music. Through the Teacher Academy, I taught a freshman civics class and a second grade science class. I have extensive knowledge of Mexican culture and Spanish Literature as well as Spanish grammar and phonetics. I have lived abroad in order to study Spanish and am certified as fluent by the OPI (Oral Proficiency Interview). I also have a college level understanding of classic English Literature, as well as a current view into Young Adult Literature. Through my Creative Writing coursework, I am also thoroughly versed in editing essays and other written works.

I am most comfortable offering my services as a Spanish or English tutor, but I am qualified in other areas. If you need help prepping for the ACT or SAT, I can help with essay writing, grammar, and vocabulary. I have tutored students before in various subjects including Spanish and music. I have worked with all age ranges of children as a tutor and as a babysitter. I have open and very flexible hours and have reliable transportation. I hope to get to meet you soon!
Bienvenidos!

I am about to graduate from Ohio University with a degree in Spanish and Creative Writing and would love to help you improve your language skills
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Casselberry, FL 32707
In-person lessons
Math:
Algebra 1, Elementary Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Outlook,
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows,
Microsoft Word
Language:
Spanish
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Sports/Recreation:
Chess

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Chess

I have played chess since I was six years old after being taught by my grandfather. I was in the chess club in elementary school and still enjoy playing it on occasion. I could easily teach someone the rules and basic tactics for winning.

Clarinet

I played clarinet for three years and am still proficient. In high school I tutored elementary students on how to play clarinet. I also have extensive experience with reading music.

Elementary (K-6th)

I worked extensively with a 2nd grade class for 9 weeks while in high school. I helped students one on one and taught lessons to the class as a whole. I have also helped grade elementary papers and helped tutor 2nd graders outside of class.

General Music

I have played an instrument for 12 years and have most recently played music at a college level. I am familiar with reading music and general music history. I am comfortable with tutoring music through a high school level and have had experience in the Ohio University Marching 110.

Microsoft Outlook

I have used this program for the past four years while in college. We used this extensively to communicate with professors and other students. I am versed in its applications and uses.

Microsoft Windows

I have used Windows for the past 15 years and am confidant in my computational skills. I have taken classes throughout high school and college in order to better my experience. I also taught seniors how to use basic computer skills at the public library.

Public Speaking

I debated in speech and debate in high school and had extensive practice in public speaking through my experiences in FCCLA. I have spoken at meetings and in countless classes. Through these experiences, I have gained a great amount of practice.

Saxophone

I have played the saxophone for 9 years. I was taught both marching and concert music in high school and have proficient knowledge of both. I played saxophone in the Ohio University Marching 110.

Ohio University
English and Spanish

Education

Ohio University (English and Spanish)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Rachel will travel within 20 miles of Casselberry, FL 32707.