Over 100 tutoring hours

Lauren B.

Torrington, CT


Spanish, reading or math help for you!

In-person lessons
Replies in 5 hours
Background check passed as of 6/26/11
4.9 Avg. Rating
35 Ratings
5hrs Response Time
Excellent tutor
— Lauren, New Hartford, CT on 3/7/14

Message Lauren

Send Lauren a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Lauren or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Connecticut, Storrs


University of Connecticut, Storrs (English)

About Lauren

I enjoy helping people by simplifying information and do not give up until my students understand! Sometimes they simply need a few encouraging words and some practice with their math, Spanish or writing skills. I graduated in 1987 from the University of Connecticut with a B.A. in English literature and a minor in Spanish. While in college, I tutored at the student writing center. I have been homeschooling for 12 years, and have over 1100 hours of online tutoring experience. I would be privileged to help you or your child with any subject for grades K-8, as well as Spanish and algebra I. I am available during the day to homebound students as well as home schooled students I enjoy helping people by simplifying information and do not give up until my students understand! Sometimes they simply need a few encouraging words and some practice with their math, Spanish or Read more

24 hours notice required

Hi! My rate is $45 Multiple (2 hours or more) sessions are booked at the rate of $40 per hour.

Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Torrington, CT 06790
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Excellent tutor"

- Lauren, New Hartford, CT on 3/7/14

"Very patient"

- Daisy, Torrington, CT on 4/2/12
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra,
SAT Math, Trigonometry
ACT English,
ACT Reading,
Bible Studies,
Literature, Proofreading,
SAT Reading,
SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
ACT Science, Physical Science
American History, European History, Government & Politics, Religion, Social Studies,
World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar,
Spelling, Study Skills,
Special Needs:
Test Preparation:
ACT English,
ACT Reading,
ACT Science, ASVAB, GED, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading,
SAT Writing
Corporate Training:

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT English

I was an English major, and have always scored very high on English tests. My SAT score was 650 (verbal), and GRE score was 700 verbal. I can help you with strategies for all tests of verbal ability, including the ACT.

ACT Reading

As an English major in college, I learned the importance of proper grammar, which is invaluable in communication. I can teach this important skill and help you with your reading comprehension. You will learn to examine contextual hints and time-saving strategies. I look forward to working with you!

Algebra 1

I have taught algebra I to two of my children and am currently teaching a third. I have access to several different texts with which I can supplement the texts you are using. We will find the right approach for you.

Bible Studies

Hi! I have read my Bible through, cover to cover, 11 times. At a Bible college, I have taken Bible classes in the books of Matthew, Acts, Genesis, Galatians/Ephesians/Colossians, Revelation, and Romans.

I have known the Lord for 24 years and believe we must obey the Bible, so I prefer to teach girls only. I Timothy 2:12 says, "But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence." (the apostle Paul speaking) I can also help students with the use of a Bible atlas and concordance.


Learn old-fashioned, tasty cooking, not cooking from a box! I can help you learn to prepare nutritious and delicious meals. I specialize in Italian cooking, which I learned from my grandma.

Elementary (K-6th)

Hi! I have had 14 years of experience teaching home schoolers from kindergarten through grade 12. Subjects taught include reading, phonics, language, spelling, science, history, math and social studies. I am patient and love to see others excel, especially in reading. With a good phonics foundation, anyone can read well. I have a bachelor's degree in English literature, with a minor in Spanish, from the University of Connecticut. I would be happy to help you with any elementary-level course, including Spanish.

Elementary Math


I love math and encouraging students to apply it to everyday life. From learning to count through elementary algebra, I am able to make concepts clear. I have 700 hours of online tutoring experience, about half of which I have spent teaching math. I enjoy tutoring "hard" topics such as place value, factoring, adding, subtracting, multiplying fractions, and beginning geometry. The job is not done, however, until my students know "I can do it!"


Having earned an English degree from the University of Connecticut, I am able to help others with organization, style and grammar challenges. During college, I tutored at the writing center. Now, I have about 800 hours of experience tutoring English, math and Spanish (both online and "in person"). I am available most afternoons, and am eager to see your skills improve!


I am very patient and interested in improving your vocabulary, reading, writing and conversational skills. I can assist you with pronunciation and help you to prioritize what skills you will need for "real life." Let's get started!


I have one year of experience teaching grammar. Our class learned sentence diagramming, parts of speech, writing a research paper, and sentence structure.


Hi! I am experienced in teaching phonics, through grade two. I have taught children to read using phonics flash cards and workbooks. I have a degree in English literature. I can teach phonics either as a preliminary to reading, or to help older children who need to "brush up" on their phonics or reading skills. Studying phonics is the best way to become an excellent reader and speller!


Currently, I am teaching prealgebra in the classroom. I also taught this subject to my 3 children, as well as tutoring students online. I emphasize thinking skills and make sure students understand use of variables, exponents, factoring, and linear relationships. This lays a great foundation for algebra I. When students develop confidence through their hard work, many of them learn to love math!


I worked as a copy editor for my college newspaper. As an English tutor and English major, I have had a great deal of experience editing my own work as well as the work of others.


Hello! As I was homeschooling my children, I obtained some very good materials instructing me in the teaching of phonics and grammar. I have found that basing a child's reading foundation on phonics builds their confidence and enthusiasm, as they are able to "sound out" any word. This, in turn, builds their vocabulary as they enjoy reading more and more. I have imparted this love of reading to my own children; I hope to do the same for yours.

SAT Reading

My goal is not only to raise your score, but to stimulate a love for reading, with better comprehension. I strive to build a good vocabulary base, using Greek and Latin word roots, for my students. I taught my own children to read, and can fill in any "gaps" they may encounter in phonics, comprehension or pronunciation.

Social Studies

I have taken several college-level social studies classes including U.S. history, honors economics, anthropology, European history, political science, intro. to sociology, and Russian history. At least two of these courses required research papers. I have great interest in these topics and hope it is contagious for my students' sake.


Hi! I have a minor in Spanish from the University of Connecticut. My first job as a receptionist also allowed me hours of telephone interaction in Spanish. I continue to improve my knowledge by tutoring this fascinating language. I can work with any age, and from beginner to intermediate level.

Study Skills

I am very experienced in studying! I have a bachelor's degree in English. I also helped my home-schooled students develop their own skills. I try to incorporate either word pictures, acronyms, or sound cues to help students memorize material. Of course, drills help, too, especially in mathematics.


I am a tutor assisting students in grades kindergarten through college. During college I did very well in English, my major, as well as in journalism classes. I enjoyed working as a writing tutor during college.

University of Connecticut, Storrs


University of Connecticut, Storrs (English)

Excellent tutor — Lauren provided clear instructions and advice; her recommendations were easy to follow. Her response times were excellent, and she always followed up to confirm my understanding. ...

— Lauren, New Hartford, CT on 3/7/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Hi! My rate is $45 Multiple (2 hours or more) sessions are booked at the rate of $40 per hour.

Travel policy

Lauren will travel within 10 miles of Torrington, CT 06790.

Background Check Status for Lauren B.

Lauren B. passed a background check on 6/26/11. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Lauren, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.