NEW FEATURES MORE

Search

Kris H.

Longmont, CO

$40/hour

Literary Specialist and Confidence Builder

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 10/22/12

$40/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Kris will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Kris

Ohio University

Education

Ohio University

About Kris

I have experience teaching in straight grades, multiage (k-2) and preschool classrooms. I have seen students grow and become lifelong learners who have the confidence in themselves to keep looking for answers and learning from their mistakes. My experience as a parent of a child with learning difficulties and my background in education have shown me that every student learns in a different manner, and as a proficient teacher I know that teaching needs to be forever flexible. I am always ready to change direction or explain something in an alternative manner to adapt to different learning styles while at the same time keeping the child on track for what they need to learn. If a child does not understand something it is my job as the teacher to change my approach. I will find a way for them to be successful and walk away feeling confident in their abilities to learn. It doesn't have to be boring or tedious. There are so many ways to help guide a child to help them realize they can learn and are capable of learning more. Additionally, I have continued my education throughout the time I have not been in the classroom. I have taken the necessary classes to add Early Childhood Education to my Colorado certification, trained with Dr. Barbara Wise to become proficient in her program, 'Linguistic Remedies for the Remedial Readers' and most recently I returned to school to pursue my Masters in Education with my focus being 'Literacy and Language Instruction' at Michigan State University online program. I’m excited to say I will be finished with the program in the spring of 2017. I am passionate about making sure a child not only know how to solve the problem when working with math, but I also want to make sure they understand the 'how' and why different approaches are used in different situations. I have been tutoring children in Literacy skills for over 15 years. I continue to expand my knowledge of how to teach reading, writing and comprehension. My son had learning difficulties as well as ADHD while in school. I worked with him and went for more training to help keep him feeling successful as a learner. I use an assortment of approaches to help a child feel, "I can do this!" which sometimes is half the battle. I continue to have this attitude with every child I work with. I became an elementary teacher to make a difference in children's lives. I no longer work in the classroom, but I am continuing to educate myself as I am currently pursuing my MA in Literacy. I have patience when I work with a child to discover their strengths and weaknesses when learning. Without know what works, it can be challenging to attempt to build a foundation on their knowledge. My goal is to make sure your child discovers what works best for him and how to apply it in a school setting. Not all children are the same, nor is the way they learn. There are many different ways to teach phonics and I thought I knew them all. But through my Linguistic Remedies training I learned of new ways to help a child remember and apply recognition of the letter, the sound that is associated with it and how to combine them all to make words. Sometimes the only way to teach a child phonics is by combining everything one knows. I have been teaching or tutoring for over 15 years. I supported my son through his learning difficulties and ADHD and his challenges from elementary through high school. I believe I help him believe he could be successful and try his best. He has since graduated from high school as well as college. I believe the parents or caregivers are the first teachers in a child's life and can continue to be in that role as the child grows. I provide ideas and activities for you to do at home with your child to support and extend upon what they are learning at school as well as their time with me. I look forward to talking to you and seeing how I can help your child discover that they have abilities that can help them succeed in the classroom. I have experience teaching in straight grades, multiage (k-2) and preschool classrooms. I have seen students grow and become lifelong learners who have the confidence in themselves to keep looking for answers and learning from their mistakes. My experience as a parent of a child with Read more

Policies
Cancellation
6 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Longmont, CO 80501
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
Math:
Elementary Math
English:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Dyslexia
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Dyslexia

My own son was diagnosed with dyslexia 10 years ago. As a former teacher, I worked to expand what I knew about dyslexia so I could offer my son the support he needed. When working with a child with dyslexia; one needs to be willing to try various different avenues to explain the same thing.

Elementary (K-6th)

I graduated in 1990 from Ohio University in Elementary Ed. I did some graduate work from 1991-1993 at the University of Delaware, Emergent reading and elementary reading skills.

I taught in a classroom with k-2 graders for 4 years. I tutored own son with reading and writing difficulties. I have been tutoring privately for 10+ years.

Ohio University

Education

Ohio University

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Kris will travel within 20 miles of Longmont, CO 80501.