Over 20 tutoring hours

Luca L.

Fort Collins, CO


Experienced and Effective Humanities and Technology Educator

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 2/17/14
4.3 average from 15 ratings
Great Tutor
— Jonathon, Windsor, CO on 4/28/14

Message Luca

Send Luca a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Luca or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 day
Replies in 1 day

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

George Washington University


George Washington University (InternationalAffairs)

About Luca

I have been a camp counselor, K-10 and college tutor, volunteer teaching assistant, outdoor recreation trainer and guide, Lego Robotics coach, soccer coach, as well as a professional adult technical (IT) and soft skills trainer over the course of 25 years. As a parent to several school age children in PSD schools, I am also familiar with the curriculum of several different schools in the district from K-10 through High School. My goals are to understand your student's learning style and current challenges; build from there to help your student achieve their academic goals; make the tutoring process as enjoyable as possible while building knowledge and confidence; lastly, to help expand your student's desire to learn and encourage them to use education to achieve their life goals. I have been a camp counselor, K-10 and college tutor, volunteer teaching assistant, outdoor recreation trainer and guide, Lego Robotics coach, soccer coach, as well as a professional adult technical (IT) and soft skills trainer over the course of 25 years. As a parent to several school age Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Fort Collins, CO 80525
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Great Tutor"

- Jonathon, Windsor, CO on 4/28/14
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer Science,
General Computer, HTML, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows,
Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer), Web Design
ESL/ESOL, Italian,
American History, Classics, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Political Science, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Marketing, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I am happy to provide tutoring in business and related topics such as business presentations, speaking to business audiences, business email and etiquette, managing meetings, project management, managing teams and team building.

My experience is based on more than 15 years of various roles in business including training, web and software development, project and program management, business development, technical marketing, entrepreneurship and startups.

In addition, I have hands-on experience with bookkeeping, payroll, taxes, C-Corp setup and maintenance, DBAs, NDAs, Non-Compete agreements, contracts, proposals and outsourcing.

You can benefit from the full spectrum of my professional experience: both from what I can impart as far as doing things right, as well as my share of learning opportunities that have come up along the way. We can work together to identify your needs and subjects of interest from both a 'big picture' strategic perspective, and/or from a more hands-on, tactical perspective such as writing reports, developing a project plan or managing your daily team meetings.

Please feel to contact me with any questions that you might have - I look forward to assisting you develop your business skills!

Best regards,


Computer Science

My background in Computer Science stems from ongoing self-directed learning, several years of education and training from FRCC, major IT vendors such as Microsoft and Cisco, and over 15 years of hands on work experience. In addition I have formal training in HTML and XML, as well as Basic and Visual Basic.

My professional experience has been effectively bifurcated between IT and software development, with emphasis on web and web application development. This path has lead to an appreciation and study of the growing DevOps movement in the tech industry, where traditional IT and development teams strive to work together more cohesively and efficiently.

Regarding academic tutoring in CS, I focus on the equivalent of a high school AP or first year college introduction to Computer Science.

Regarding tutoring in topics more closely tied to hands on skills and development, I am available for: introduction to PC architecture, build, upgrade and repair; introduction to networking, build, upgrade, troubleshoot; introduction-to-expert use of MS operating systems and office applications; introduction to web development; introduction to web server management and security; introduction to content management systems; introduction to XML.

In addition, I am open to inquiries that might combine any of the above into a custom made lesson plan to cover the topics that you are most interested in.


Hi there,

I grew up in various parts of Italy speaking both English and Italian at home with my bi-national parents. While still in grade school, we moved to the US and the emphasis switched to English for academic reasons.

After studying classical Greek, Latin and French through high school I returned to Italian at the university level for 7 out of 8 semesters - just 1 semester short of a minor. With a BA in International Relations every bit of language study was well worth it, and Italian was easily one of my favorite classes - in good part because my professor was absolutely fantastic.

Less formal experience includes some written translations; contributing to a Mac program for teaching introductory Italian to grade school students; teaching basic, conversational Italian to grade school children; participating in online English-Italian forums.

I have been to Italy roughly 15 times since moving to the US - with most of those trips being upwards of two weeks long. Travel to Italy is a particular passion of mine and I am excited every time that I hear of someone planning a trip!

I have informally guided several friends and family members, traveling mostly in Northern Italy: Genoa, Cinque Terre, Pisa, Livorno, Milano, Verona, Venice, Parma, Firenze and Siena. Of course Rome has also been a priority, and I have been south to Assisi, Taranto, Calabria, Perugia and Siracusa in Sicily.

The relevance of travel in Italy to tutoring is immersion, experience and familiarity with regional differences, features, sights and exposure to dialects.

Perhaps you have visited or will be visiting some of these same areas? If so, please get in touch, and let me know if I can be of any assistance!

Distinti Saluti,


Microsoft Windows

I have been using Microsoft Windows full time for business and personal use since 1995. I have formal Microsoft training on Windows NT Workstation, Windows NT Server, Microsoft's implementation of TCP/IP, Windows 8, Visual Studio, Windows Azure as well as PC Architecture and Upgrade. I have trained adult students on versions of Windows from Windows NT up to the current Windows 8.1 release, as well as various business applications on Windows.

Also, I have spent a number of years in IT as a computer technologist working mainly in environments where Windows was the predominant desktop operating system in use.

Web Design

Hi there,

I have more than 15 years of web development experience working with both small companies and large ones such as HP where I was the webmaster/web manager for one of the computing products divisions several years.

I also have formal training in web development and related technologies such as Windows Server, Apache, Cisco internetworking, HTML, XHTML, XML, .NET and various content management systems.

In 2004 I co-founded a web development and web marketing agency called Kombine and worked hands on developing websites for a variety of clients since that time.

I keep current on web technologies such as mobile development, responsive design, and the Internet of Things as well as mentoring participants in AT&T sponsored Hackathons.

Please see my LinkedIn, Twitter, and/or Quora profiles for more information.

Thank you for your consideration!



I am an experienced copy writer, ghost writer and editor whose work has appeared in several major technology vendor websites and their training materials, as well as in a variety of other smaller online publications.

I hold a bachelor's degree in International Relations from George Washington University, and have worked professionally in adult training and education for more than 15 years.

I enjoy teaching all forms of writing, and am especially passionate about essays in their various forms - personal, professional and editorial. I am a detail-oriented, creative and patient tutor - while at the same time holding students to high standards.

I hope to have the opportunity to assist you with your writing in the near future!

George Washington University


George Washington University (InternationalAffairs)

Great Tutor — I would recommend him to anyone needing help. He takes the extra time to go over everything with you. You will be pleased. ...

— Jonathon, Windsor, CO on 4/28/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Luca will travel within 40 miles of Fort Collins, CO 80525.