Over 50 tutoring hours

Daniel M.

Denver, CO


Daniel - Chinese Master Better than Most Native Speakers

Replies in 5 hours
5.0 Avg. Rating
40 Ratings
5hrs Response Time
Patient and focused.
— Lesesne, Denver, CO on 3/4/15

Message Daniel

Send Daniel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Daniel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Graduate Coursework


SFSU (Chinese)

SFSU (Graduate Coursework)

About Daniel

I have worked nine years as a teacher and business consultant in China. My depth of grammar and situational use of Chinese language terminology is excellent. I received the Best Teacher Award twice in five years. I am also a published author. I am also a researcher and technical writer with a decade of experience. I have often traveled for public speaking engagements, particularly regarding language acquisition and development of languages. I am active in language preservation organizations. My teaching methods include use of PowerPoint, overhead projections, oral blogs in class, absolute immersion including physical response.

Besides Chinese language, customs, culture and cuisine, I tutor creative writing and public speaking. My teaching method is absolute immersion with physical response. I emphasize using the language naturally more than memorizing grammar rules. We do play games and sing songs. We have a myriad of children's stories. For intermediate students we have play money and pretend to go shopping, traveling, touring factories, developing business, etc. For advanced students I employ existing literature. Finally, I am patient and encouraging instead of being a martinet disciplinarian.

My major of studies focuses on language acquisition skills. I have been a writer of curriculum development for Mid-continent Regional Laboratory as well as for the campus entities for which I worked. Currently I am developing two levels of English-language textbooks, the beginners' level titled "East Dragon, West Dragon" and the advanced learners' level titled "Geared for Success". The later one emphasizes technical terminology while revealing the history of various inventions and discoveries.

I have aided in the adoption of over a dozen children from southern China. My current tutoring age range is from 2 to 71. By the way the two-year-old is a fantastic student, learning English. We use ZomeTool to construct domes, garages, factories, etc. We use the target language throughout the exercise.
I have worked nine years as a teacher and business consultant in China. My depth of grammar and situational use of Chinese Read more

12 hours notice required

Small group rates as low as $8

Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Denver, CO 80205
Background Check: Passed

"Patient and focused."

- Lesesne, Denver, CO on 3/4/15
Bible Studies,
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, IELTS,
Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
ESL/ESOL, Hebrew,
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading,
Public Speaking
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading,
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Hebrew,
Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Bible Studies

I received ordination about twenty-five years ago after live-in study in Berkeley for just over one and a half years. I have taught Bible classes in various religious institutions. Now I participate in the Bible study at my living complex. Twice I also won Bible Jeopardy in Denver.


I have reached the fifth round of online chess tournaments. My winning percentage is approximately 70. I learned from George Koltanowski while I attended SFSU in California. I have also received a draw from Ed Nolte and have defeated numerous club team players. My teaching method includes the most useful strategies and how to look for the best move in any situation.


I have worked in China for nine years. First, I studied Chinese both at DLI and at SFSU. The work in China honed my proficiency to a master level, including knowledge of fine nuances of situational language usage. I am considered "nearly native". Moreover, I have taught Chinese students for over 30 years. I have also done numerous translations for several engineering companies.


I have used Hebrew since childhood every Sabbath and most days in between. I am also proficient in Hebrew dances and songs. I have a deep knowledge of Hebrew literature and lore. Currently, I attend a weekly Hebrew speakers' meetup. I have also used Hebrew in teaching Sunday school classes.


I taught IELTS format ESL at Central South University of Forestry and Technology in Changsha, Hunan, PRC. One hundred percent of my students went on to be part of an undefeated debate club. My tutoring methods of language arts is lots of oral drill in the target language plus physical response. The deductive reasoning due to this method is deep. I am quite familiar with the IELTS requirements, both for writing and for speaking. I administered the tests to 80 students.

Public Speaking

I have taught Public Speaking for over five years at three universities. I am a well-traveled public speaker, especially on topics of language acquisition, of language preservation and of comparative literature. I also taught Debate class; our team won its only two formal debates against outside schools.


I commonly read at children's gatherings.


I am ordained and have taught privately various Sunday Schools, Barei/Banot Mitzvah, wedding preparations and open-faith sessions. I have also written extensively about religion history and alternative ideas regarding modern religious practices. I myself am a God-fearing Humanist who serves by helping society.

Graduate Coursework


SFSU (Chinese)

SFSU (Graduate Coursework)

Patient and focused. — Daniel M. is an intelligent, patient, courteous tutor who is flexible with the student and yet focused to keep the lessons on track. ...

— Lesesne, Denver, CO on 3/4/15

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Small group rates as low as $8

Travel policy

Daniel will travel within 40 miles of Denver, CO 80205.

Background Check Status for Daniel M.

Daniel M. passed a background check on 2/8/15. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Daniel, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.