Over 200 tutoring hours

Ellen R.

Boulder, CO


Chemistry and Biology Tutor - CU Grad Applying to Medical School

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 2/18/13
5.0 average from 82 ratings
— Kathryn, Denver, CO on 10/14/13

Message Ellen

Send Ellen a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Ellen or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 day
Replies in 1 day

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Colorado, Boulder


University of Colorado, Boulder (Psychology)

About Ellen

Hi, my name is Ellen and I am a highly experienced Organic Chemistry, General Chemistry, and Biology tutor. I additionally tutor other subjects such as Psychology, and general Study Skills, but all of my subjects and descriptions are listed on my Subjects tab. I work with students of all ages- high school, community college, undergraduate, and adults returning to school. I am a seasoned standardized test-taker and study enthusiast who would love to help others succeed, whether that be subject material, test preparation and test taking strategies, or general study skills. I look forward to sharing my passion for learning and helping you reach your academic goals!

I graduated from CU - Boulder a semester early, in December 2012. At CU, I majored in Psychology and additionally took Pre-med courses, which included Biology, General Chemistry, Physics, Organic Chemistry, and Biochemistry. In my time at University of Colorado I participated on the Women's Division 1 volleyball team, and after injury moved to a student assistant role. Through my volleyball career, I have gained the opportunity to work with kids of all ages.

I am currently in the process of getting a second Bachelor's Degree in Biology, from University of Colorado - Denver, to strengthen my science knowledge for medical school applications. I also work full-time at a hospital, and will apply to medical school in 2016.
Hi, my name is Ellen and I am a highly experienced Organic Chemistry, General Chemistry, and Biology tutor. I additionally tutor other subjects such as Read more

8 hours notice required

Group Rate: $60 for 2 students ($30 each).

Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Boulder, CO 80302
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons


- Kathryn, Denver, CO on 10/14/13

"Excellent tutor and extremely caring."

- Caitlin, Littleton, CO on 1/15/15

"Dedicated Tutor"

- Elizabeth, Greeley, CO on 8/27/13

"Very thorough and patient"

- Diana, Lafayette, CO on 7/24/13

"Great tutor!"

- Kendall, Arvada, CO on 6/14/13


- Becky, Arvada, CO on 3/5/13

"Good chemistry"

- John, Louisville, CO on 2/28/13
Anatomy, Biology,
Organic Chemistry,
Physiology, Psychology
Elementary Education:
Study Skills

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


As an applicant to medical school I have vast experience with all fields of biology at many levels. In high school I took AP Biology and received a 5 on the exam. In college I have taken Molecular/Cellular Biology and Lab, Genetics and Genetics Lab, and Biochemistry. I also have studied for and taken the MCAT which includes a comprehensive Biological Sciences section.

I am currently getting a second Bachelor's degree in Biology at CU-Denver, and have taken classes such as Anatomy and Physiology, Immunology, and Cell Biology.


As an applicant to medical school I am very experienced with many areas of Chemistry. I have taken General Chemistry 1 and 2 with lab, Biochemistry, and Organic Chemistry 1 and 2 with lab. I also have taken and done well on the MCAT which includes a Chemistry and Organic Chemistry portion on the test.

Organic Chemistry

As a medical school applicant I have a significant background in Chemistry. Specifically in Organic Chemistry I have taken Organic Chemistry 1 and 2 with lab, plus an additional Organic Chemistry course to ensure mastery of the subject for the MCAT, in which I received a top score for the Organic Chemistry portion.


As a Psychology major in college, I have extensive knowledge of most fields of Psychology- Introductory, Statistics, Biological/Neuroscience, Psychopathology, Social, Cognitive, Personality, and History of Psychology.


My background is in Psychological Statistics. In particular, the University of Colorado offers a Psychological Statistics class which I took and excelled in, as well as I gained further experience working in a Psychological Research Lab. I have significant experience successfully tutoring many students for this class, regardless of the professor.

Study Skills

I have constantly balanced being an excellent student with being an athlete. In my senior year of high school I took 6 AP classes while playing varsity volleyball and playing for a volleyball club requiring 20 hrs/week.

In college I was a psychology major, taking pre-med courses, and playing/working for the women's D1 volleyball team 30 hrs/week.

I also successfully spent the last summer studying for and taking the MCAT.

These experiences have necessitated that I develop excellent study skills in order to accomplish all of my academic goals.


I played Division 1 volleyball for the University of Colorado Boulder for my freshman year, until injury shifted me to a student assistant role; I stayed with the team, attending all practices and matches (home and away) through my college career.

In the summers throughout college I coached at the University of Colorado Women's volleyball camp, coaching ages 10-18.

In high school I played for my school's varsity team as well as playing for the Sports Performance Volleyball Club in Aurora, IL.


I have experience in most forms of writing, with most of my experience in persuasive, informational (expository), and scientific writing/research papers. I received an A in every english and writing class I took in college. In high school I took the Language and Composition AP exam and received a 5. On the ACT I received a 12/12 for the essay section, and received a score of R on a scale of J-T on the MCAT writing section.

University of Colorado, Boulder


University of Colorado, Boulder (Psychology)

Amazing!!!! — Ellen was absolutely the most patient and wonderful person I know. She literally taught me Organic Chemistry I and II in eight weeks and I was able to pass my class (which I never would have been able to do if it weren't for her). She is extremely knowledgeable and took the time to figure out how I learned and tutored based on that. You can't go wrong with her. She was AMAZING!!! ...

— Kathryn, Denver, CO on 10/14/13

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Group Rate: $60 for 2 students ($30 each).

Travel policy

Ellen will travel within 40 miles of Boulder, CO 80302.