NEW FEATURES MORE

Alexis A.

Whittier, CA

$60/hour

Livelong Instructor and Motivator

In-person lessons

Message Alexis

Send Alexis a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Alexis or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

About Alexis

My academic credentials include: A.A. Degree in Anthropology; B.A. Degree in Archaeology (with a History minor); Master's Degree in Public Administration. I have a Lifetime Instructor's Credential from the Los Angeles Community College District. My teaching experience includes instructing students ranging from elementary through college.

I am have a bilingual ability in Spanish, along with some limited ability in French, German, Italian, Arabic and Hebrew. I have traveled to Mexico, Italy, Egypt, and Israel. My world view has been shaped by my education, travel experience and interactions with persons of diverse backgrounds. I love teaching, inspiring and learning from my students.

My education and travel experience have provided me with a unique and depth of background most specifically in Anthropology and Archaeology. My special area of focus is Mesoamerican History and Archaeology.

I grew up speaking both English and Spanish. I took course work in Spanish from junior high, high school, college, and at the university level. I am able to converse and translate easily in both languages.

As a college and university graduate, I have had to master the grammatical and syntactical structures of English. Additionally, I have excelled in producing a variety of written products. I am also an avid reader.

As previously noted, my education and travel experience have provided me with a special expertise that has further been enhanced by my travel experience. My linguistic acuity further provides a unique perspective and foundation in the noted subject matters.

I have an eclectic and inclusive approach to tutoring. My style is designed toward the specific needs of the student. I also incorporate the material to be learned within the best approach and learning style of the student.

I am flexible in my approach to tutoring. I adapt the curriculum to facilitate a successful learning experience for the student. I am very patient, and encourage questions and discussion on the part of the student.

It is very important for me to have an accurate and complete assessment of the student to be tutored. In this way, I can identify the specific goals to be met, and what past and potential challenges must be mastered. Of utmost importance is the creation of a supportive rapport with the student such that it inspires trust and confidence.
My academic credentials include: A.A. Degree in Anthropology; B.A. Degree in Archaeology (with a History minor); Master's Degree in Public Administration. I Read more

Policies
Cancellation
4 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Whittier, CA 90608
In-person lessons
English:
English
Language:
Spanish
History:
Anthropology,
Archaeology,
World History

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Anthropology

I have an A.A. Degree in Anthropology. Over the years I have taken classes in Anthropology via UCLA Extension. While pursuing my B.A. Degree in Archaeology, I also took classes in Anthropology.

Archaeology

I have a B,A, Degree in Archaeology. I have also taken courses in Archaeology via UCLA Extension. I have taken archaeological trips to Egypt, Israel, Italy and Mexico.

Spanish

I have taken Spanish language courses from junior high up through upper division Spanish language courses on a university level. I use Spanish and English interchangeably on a daily basis. I have a B.A. Degree as well as a Master's Degree.

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $60.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Alexis will travel within 15 miles of Whittier, CA 90608.